We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fosse Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$227
$220
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
$157
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Slaughters Manor House(Lower Slaughter)
$638
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Stocks Inn(Stow-on-the-Wold)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa(Stow-on-the-Wold)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Stag Lodge(Stow-on-the-Wold)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Lords of the Manor Hotel(Upper Slaughter)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
129
83
53
18
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
83
53
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshyde barnfamily weddingminute drivelarge roomshort breakfood was lovelyduckfossecotswoldsstowcountryside
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 289 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Firstly, it's worth noting that as a wedding venue, this was great and everything went smoothly. This review is regarding the room we had for the stay.

Room 37 has been mentioned on another post, which I wish I'd read before booking. The room is supposed to be attached to the next room, via a door they close when the bookings are separate. This might as well be made of tissue paper as it didn't block any noise, despite them rolling a towel under the door and putting a 'do not disturb' sign on it - clearly they know it's an issue.

When the neighbouring room returned later in the evening, just them talking at a standard volume felt like they were talking right in our ears. In no way were they shouting, and we could hear every word.

In the morning I raised this with reception who did little more than shrug and say 'we can't help that' (despite clearly knowing it was an issue). They offered a £10 discount which was a tiny fraction of the room amount, which I turned down on principle.

Let the lesson be; 'Go to a wedding here, but stay somewhere else.'

Room Tip: Avoid Room 37 like the plague.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cotswoldfoodblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I must say that some people really want something for nothing these days (previous comments). This hotel is great and the people are all fantastic, right from the moment we entered up to the exit out the door. The staff could not have been more accomodating,from letting my husband virtually choose his own room to ensuring our breakfast was exactly what we wanted. I can't praise this place enough. A place is only as good as it's staff and these exceeded over and over again. I was so amazed at their energy and fortiture dispite the hot weather that I emailed Classic hotels to tell them what a wonderful job these people were doing. Makes a change from brick bats that are usually slung about. When you have a good price deal and get somewhere like this be grateful as there are many, many places out there that are very bad indeed and should expect critisism but certainly not this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a great view, and I don't care what others say the traffic is very light and even with the windows wide open it didn't stop us from sleeping very well, despite the heat.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

As this was a last minute deal I am sure we got stuck in a below average room. Very, very small & could have been much cleaner. That said, all the staff were nice, ate there in the evening and it was good food. We only stayed one night and the weather was so nice - good job because it would have been very claustrophobic hemmed up in that small room too long!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaCoutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Fosse Manor Hotel for 1 night on Thurdays, we received a pleasant and professional welcome, we were taken to our room which was large with sofas and plenty of storage, when we asked for a fan it arrived within 5 minutes, the bathroom was large with a big roll top bath and a seperate shower and plenty of hot water.
The only drawback was when entering the annex to our room the carpet is very stained and the decore could do with some attention.
The breakfast was delicious there was a good selection on the buffett and the full english was filling and had locally sourced produce and the waitress was more than accomodating, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetcheeks_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, using the Fosse Manor as a base for exploring the Cotswolds, for which it was ideally suited. Our room (in the Coach House annexe) was first class, with a large, comfortable bed, flat-screen TV, and a well-equipped bathroom (with plenty of piping hot water) - the private patio looking over pleasant countryside was an added bonus and just put the icing on the cake! Only three potential criticisms - (1) the shower had a tendency to drip, even when turned 'off', (2) the unusually hot weather meant that we suffered from a lack of air conditioning, and (3) the walk across to the main hotel for breakfast would have been more of a challenge if our stay hadn't coincided with that spell of good weather.

Breakfasts consisted of a good selection of cereals, fruit juices, yoghurts, croissants, pain au chocolat and fresh fruit with a range of cooked options available to order from the kitchen. The dining room was bright and never over-crowded, and the serving staff were friendly and efficient. We didn't take dinner in the hotel, so can't comment in that area.

Value for money was excellent as we had booked a discount deal through the Classic British Hotels website, giving us B&B for under £50 per night - a real bargain for such a comfortable hotel. We'd have no hesitation in recommending the Fosse Manor to anyone looking for a base in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back face away from the main road (the Fosse Way) and will be quieter. The Coach House annexe will be less enjoyable on wet mornings!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews