We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Value for money luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fosse Manor Hotel
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value for money luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked this hotel for two couples, for a one-night break in the Cotswolds. The rooms we were allocated were fantastic - beautifully decorated, clean, and very comfortable. Ours had a wonderful patio overlooking open fields, our friends' had a private garden. All this, and breakfast, for under £100! Breakfast was great, too, as was the service - friendly and unobtrusive. The only downsides to our stay were an early-closing hotel bar (but this may be due to the season and easily solved by a mini-bar in rooms), and a limited taxi service to and from Stow-on-the-Wold itself, a problem if you'd like to sample the cuisine at local inns. We got a lift back from the incredibly kind chef at The King's Arms, who also cooked us a wonderful dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the garden rooms in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtemisiaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    80
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
172
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

On arrival, the building looks really nice, and generally it is. We took a standard double in the MID section of the complex, (Not the main house). The room was clean, but very cold. Lots of cobwebs high up, and the TV didn't work properly as the batteries in the remote had gone flat, as is the case in lots of hotels that don't carry out regular checks to things like this, small point, but rather annoying. Bed was very comfortable, and apart from late night revellers coming back to there rooms, it was quite peaceful. I should add, that the revellers were part of our own party, so we take responsibility for this point :-) Our friends stayed in the main house, and passed a comment that their room wasn't really up to the price we paid. We stay as friends all over the country, so feel qualified to make a comment about comparative value versus other hotels. Breakfast was very well prepared, tasty using quality ingredients, very nice indeed and just what you need to set you up for the day, although one of the staff was a little cold in her serving technique. I asked for an OPEN pot of honey to be replaced, as the hygiene seal had been broken, the replacement was plonked on the plate with a little sigh, and no other comment such as 'Here you go, sorry about that.., she simply walked off... (not very friendly really). The same thing happened with the second rack of toast we asked for. Any request to deviate from the norm was met with disdain. Overall I would say this is a nice hotel. It's clean and well presented, if a little expensive for it's rating. I guess that's the Cotswolds for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed two nights on a deal, a nice hotel if a bit old fashioned. The room was fine although quite small the bathroom was huge ! Plenty of hot water and a large bath and shower. Beautiful views of the surrounding countryside from the bedroom window. The staff were friendly and the service good, the meals were excellent and the chef was very obliging , I asked for new potatoes instead of chips with the fish and although not on the menu he provided them and they were superb as was the dessert. The hotel is on the main road and there is only a narrow verge outside so it is difficult to walk into Stow, but we heard no noise from the road in the hotel. The garden is very small but attractive should be lovely to sit in during the summer. We had afternoon tea scones, jam and cream plus tea, very nice but not really my idea of afternoon tea no cake or sandwiches nevertheless very enjoyable. It was a pleasant stay in a comfortable small hotel in a beautiful area of England, well worth a visit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ena193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were all fantastic and very friendly. The hotel itself was clean and the rooms were of a good standard. The breakfast and the standard of the food served in the restaurant were fabulous! It is a great location to tour around the Cotswolds and I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anybody looking for somewhere to stay in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Col2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked an all enclusive stay as it sounded and was excellent value. We had actually called in for a bar snack some months previously and thought we'd like to stay sometime. When we arrived we found out that we had been upgraded which was a bonus ( I must admit I find their room grading a little confusing especially when booking on line) The room was delightful, spacious comfortable and well appointed as was the large bathroom. There was also a small enclosed sitting out area which on a summers evening would have been lovely. We enjoyed our cream tea, lovely scones. the dinner menu was interesting and the food delicious. The restaurant deserves its rosettes. The staff were all friendly and attentive. The breakfast the next morning was equally as delicious and so it continued. The location is excellent and even though it's on a main road it 's not really obvious. It didn't bother us, but our room was in an annex which meant going outside. Typically the nights we stayed were freezing cold, pouring with rain and very windy!! We will definately return especially if we can book another all enclusive offer!!

Room Tip: Would imagine all the rooms are good but we had a feeling that the standard rooms could be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumbsbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights earlier this month. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable, with the downstairs areas benefitting I would say from a recent upgrade. Look and feel of bedrooms is clean and pleasant, but no Mr & Mrs Smith. However, rooms were comfortable, with a kingsize bed, and plenty of space.
What I'm giving the glowing review for is the staff! Everyone at this hotel seems to go out of their way to make guests as happy and comfortable as possible, but particular mention should go to the staff on the restaurant, and the chef. As I'm dairy intolerant, it's not always easy to be accommodated by restaurants, and when they do, the meal is usually quite bland. At the Fosse Manor I had two of the best meals I have had in a long time, and hugely appreciate the efforts the chef went to for me, going 'off-menu' to source and cook a completely individual meal for me, which was just as tasty as everything else on the menu. Well done Fosse Manor!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeZane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. We stayed in the main part of the hotel and the room was warm and comfortable - not the biggest we have ever stayed in but everything you need was there. Bathroom was well equipped with both bath and separate shower. The menu we found to be fine as we were only there for 2 nights and there were several choices - could have been a problem if you stayed longer as it does not appear to change - the food itself was absolutely lovely - extremely well cooked and presented - they obviously have a very talented chef! Drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel and the staff in both the restaurant and bar and indeed on reception were friendly and obliging. Would certainly recommend this hotel for a break away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HitchinMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Property: Fosse Manor Hotel
Address: Fosse Manor Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing