We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Touring Hotel”
Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fosse Manor Hotel
Reviewed November 11, 2007

We booked a 2 night break at the Fosse Hotel. It is very nice from the outside and is nicely decorated inside. We booked a standard room which had lovely views, was nicely decorated but a bit small ( and overpriced).
We ate in the restaurant on the first night. There wasn't a huge selection on the menu so opted for steak and chips. The chips were awful and there were no vegetables.
We decided to go into Stow the second night and cancelled our hotel dinner booking. We couldn't get in anywhere. BE WARNED - sort out all your dinner arrangements on arrival as it is impossible to get anything to eat around here! We ended up back at the hotel where I ordered fish and the dreaded chips again.
There is no real lounge area so its hard to find somewhere quiet to sit and relax with a newspaper. You are either sitting in reception or in the middle of the bar.
The staff were all really helpful and lovely but I do feel that this hotel is ok if you are coming to sightsee and not spending too much time here but too small and lacking in facilities for a relaxing break

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geo30199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 287 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2007

Having seen the reviews on Trip Advisor I thought the Fosse Manor would be a great place to take mum to celebrate her birthday..... and we weren't dissappointed.

We didn't necessarily want to stay in the most luxurious hotel or the most expensive but we did want the best service; not simpering but warm and friendly, which is exactly what we received.

A lovely country hotel, spacious room and lovely bathroon (we did book the superior) and fantastic views. We ate both nights in the restaurant and the food was excellent - the option of a few fresh crispy vegetables would have been good to go with the gourmet dishes.

Altogether a wonderful weekend and the hotel was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fix32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

We decided to spend an evening with close friends in the Cotswolds and chose the Fosse Manor, having driven past this imposing Manor house just prior to entering the picturesque village of Stow on the Wold, on many ocassions.

We booked in to stay last weekend, to enjoy a relaxing evening, without anyone having to do the driving home after the meal.

Our experience from start to finish was exceptional, with a room looking out onto the cotswold hills , well furnished and creating a relaxing atmosphere.

The evening meal was perfect across all three courses, with locally sourced produce, and the recently refurbished restaurant created a very relaxing environment , without unnecessary formality

We will certainly be going back again for some more of this , as it is the perfect antidote to the stressful life we lead during the working week.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiltshirePartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

we arrived at fosse manor and thought that we would be staying in the hotel itself but to our disapointment we were led next door into the old converted coach house our faces dropped as we were led to this other building as from the outside it looked terrible we were then taken to the room and it was nice but very dark and for a superior room i did not expect 2 single beds to be pushed together we arrived at 3.15pm the heating was not on and this day it was very windy and cold there was a draught in patio doors and curtains were blowing about our plans were to bath and get changed and go out for a meal we phoned reception at 4.pm and asked for heating to be turned on in room at 4.30 we had a phoione call back and was asked are you warmer we said no as no heating had come on the reception came over and gave us a small heater to place in our room. we then waited until 6pm for heating to come on the radiator in our room was hot at top but cold all at bottom hardly any heat at all. also all through the night we had a banging sound from extractor fan in bathroom the room was large a superior room but not worth the money as cold, not cleaned well either the bathroom floor was dirty. . if you book fosse manor ask if you will be staying in the main hotel as if you expect this you may not get it and from where we were no views at all the only view we saw was at breakfast which was lovely and the diding area had nice views

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank stormath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

We booked a two night stay at Fosse Manor to celebrate our 24th wedding Anniversary. We were specifically looking for a privately run hotel(which are few & far between these days). The Fosse Manor was absolutely fantastic, the food was lovely and to be served by friendly courteous staff was a pleasure. The breakfast is cooked to order which is so rare these days. We booked a double room in the courtyard which has its own patio area (very handy if you are a smoker) The room could be furnished a little more luxurious but we had no complaints. We had a lovely free standing bath and nice fluffy bathrobes to relax in.The Hotel is quiet & peaceful with lovely views of the countryside, it is also centrally located to Burton-on-the-water(about 4 miles) Slaughters and Stow with its wonderful little shops.I would recommend this Hotel to anyone and I am a bit fussy to say the least!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AineSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

Stayed here for 1 night in the coach house not in the main manor. The room was disappointing. I expected it to be more luxurious but instead it was furnished a bit like an upmarket IKEA bedroom. The breakfast was a full english breakfast and the staff were friendly

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dlobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

The room was excellent, spacious, clean and very good value for money. The food however was a little disappointing. There is no table d'hote menu and the a la carte menu is brief to say the least. Some main courses include vegetables but some don't with an apparently random distribution to this. We'd booked B&B only through a website but we'd originally planned to eat in the hotel for all three nights of our stay. After a disappointing dinner on the first night we chose to eat elsewhere on the other nights. Breakfast is fine, plentiful and cooked to order, not a buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
994 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,518 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,116 reviews
1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#6 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Address: Fosse Manor Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $107 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosse Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing