We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & fabulous location”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2011

I booked the Unicorn Hotel at the last minute and was very pleased to get such a great rate. I arrived about 4ish in the afternoon and met an unmanned reception where I waited !!! till I noticed a sign saying call '0' on the telephone? Within a minute of the call and very friendly guy booked me in, advised me where best to park and told me about the evening meal, which sounded very good. After finding the room up some ancient stairs I was stunned to see that I had a 4 Poster bed ...Wow!!! I hade never slept in a 4 poster and despite being a tad hard was a great nights sleep. Bath & shower were excellent with great pressure and lashings of hot water. The meal was a 1st class gastro affair around a blazing lof fire and the service was quick and very efficient and all washed down by a very quaffable pint of local real ale.
Continental brekfast was in a very modern and very clean restaurant room and local really delicious fresh ham and cheese along with warmed croissants and a choice of 3 juices greet you along with fresh fruit salad and freshly made toast & Tea.
All in all a great Hotel and well worth a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemkeepur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 327 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2011

Looking at the unicorn on the web, you would be fooled into thinking that you are going to stay in a quaint old listed building with beautiful rooms. The truth is that at best the rooms are shabby and worn and at worst they are dirty and uncomfortable. We were shown into one room with no shower, a bed that almost folded in the middle and battered cheap repro furniture. Requesting a move, the second option was not much better but at least we had a shower. Breakfast the following morning was made up of hard pastries, fun size cereal packets and concentrated orange juice. Having paid well over the odds for these rooms, I wish we had saved our money and booked into a premier inn!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Booked last minute. Rooms are a bit tired in comparison to the bar & dining room. None the less, the place is cosy & warm. I believe dogs are welcome which is great for a country venue.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckyjones73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Stayed for one night en route to visit friends, room was great and the bed soooo comfortable , staff were very friendly and informative....would definatley book again

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angell1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

hotel was dilapidated and run down, but worse, was extremely cold. No chef we assume as all on menu was various casseroles warmed up. Little other choices. Water dripping from ceiling onto curtains in one room. Radiators only just warm resulting in terrible nights sleep as we were all frozen. Discovered breakfast was "continental" which we were not advised about beforehand. Had to leave as could not contemplate sleeping in such cold rooms. Ceilings coming loose in places and freezing cold corridors did not help matters. Black mould at base of shower and we were supposed to be in superior rooms. Told manager about water dripping in room 3 - he remarked it was condensation, so so much for customer satisfaction. Restuarant closed and had to eat in cold bar.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericwatson2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The location and village are quite lovely, and the hotel has loads of charm, however it does need some TLC. The rooms were clean. The service was polite but not very welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dixychyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

This is a delightful hotel so full of character, yes it does have uneven floors & quirky rooms but if you chose to stay in a hotel that is hundreds of years old surely thats the sort of charm you would expect to find. Our room was fresh & very clean. The staff go above & beyond the call of duty, there was a problem with the hot water the 1st night we stayed but the receptionist did everything she could to get the problem resolved as quickly as possible & kept us fully informed. Dont be put off by oher negitive reviews. We will most certainly return here & would recommend it to friends!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,330 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $111 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing