We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value. Very cosy.”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Booked last minute. Rooms are a bit tired in comparison to the bar & dining room. None the less, the place is cosy & warm. I believe dogs are welcome which is great for a country venue.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckyjones73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 315 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2011

Stayed for one night en route to visit friends, room was great and the bed soooo comfortable , staff were very friendly and informative....would definatley book again

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angell1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

hotel was dilapidated and run down, but worse, was extremely cold. No chef we assume as all on menu was various casseroles warmed up. Little other choices. Water dripping from ceiling onto curtains in one room. Radiators only just warm resulting in terrible nights sleep as we were all frozen. Discovered breakfast was "continental" which we were not advised about beforehand. Had to leave as could not contemplate sleeping in such cold rooms. Ceilings coming loose in places and freezing cold corridors did not help matters. Black mould at base of shower and we were supposed to be in superior rooms. Told manager about water dripping in room 3 - he remarked it was condensation, so so much for customer satisfaction. Restuarant closed and had to eat in cold bar.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericwatson2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The location and village are quite lovely, and the hotel has loads of charm, however it does need some TLC. The rooms were clean. The service was polite but not very welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dixychyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

This is a delightful hotel so full of character, yes it does have uneven floors & quirky rooms but if you chose to stay in a hotel that is hundreds of years old surely thats the sort of charm you would expect to find. Our room was fresh & very clean. The staff go above & beyond the call of duty, there was a problem with the hot water the 1st night we stayed but the receptionist did everything she could to get the problem resolved as quickly as possible & kept us fully informed. Dont be put off by oher negitive reviews. We will most certainly return here & would recommend it to friends!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed 2 nights as a mini break on the way to visit relatives. Having looked already at 2 other inn/hotels in the village - one vastly overpriced and the other only had a dark and gloomy room - we found the Unicorn. The manager was immediately welcoming and offered a good last minute rate - also gave us keys to several rooms to select the most comfortable bed as I have a back problem. We had drinks outside in the attractive garden and a superb meal served by courteous and friendly staff. Breakfast was also very good - buffet continental rather than cooked but that suited us well. For variety we ate in another hotel the second night - and wished we had gone back to the Unicorn which had been far superior the previous evening. The hotel is not a 'uniform corporate trendy' affair - but has charm and comfort in abundance.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stay here to go to Cheltenham races every year and the hotel is nice and in a lovely village. The hotel rooms are clean but a little dated and pricey, however i have no complaints about the room. The breakfast is lovely (all be it a little small) however there are cerals and pastries if you want them on top. The evening meals were for me not up to the standard i would expect from a hotel like this or the price but many of the people we went with were happy with their food. The bar is relaxed and a lovely place to spend the evening after a day at the races.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheekie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,264 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $161 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing