We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for two nights and had a wonderful time. The hotel is full of character, cool bits of furniture and was super comfortable. The staff were really helpful, friendly and made us feel welcome.

The breakfast included was great. We're both lactose intolerant and I don't eat meat. The kitchen had some soya milk for us and accommodated all our food requests!

The tea and coffee facilities were generous and the bathroom was nice.

We were worried about the noise from the road but by the time we went sleep we couldn't hear the traffic when the window was closed.

We've stayed in more expensive hotels in cities that have not been as lovely as this one. Great value for money and a nice, relaxing, comfortable stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

I am glad that we exceeded your expectations here and I will pass on your comments to the staff.

Yours sincerely

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 320 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We did not stay in this hotel while we were in Stow but we did book with some friends to have an evening meal.

We all had something different from the menu and all thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The staff were efficient friendly and professional and the food was delicious.

We would certainly book to have another meal there if we go back to Stow and may even book to stay over at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

I do remember your group as you were staying in another Hotel in Stow and had dinner here on the Friday night.

I must say that it was a pleasure serving such a lovely group of people and I did pass your comments about the quality of the food and service to the kitchen and the staff who served you.

Looking forward to your return to hopefully stay here next time !

All the best

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Unicorn is a well managed, conveniently located inn. The staff was helpful in rearranging our 3-night stay on short notice. The room furnishings were a bit shabby, but the price was right and the excellent breakfast made up for any other short-comings. It is a short stroll from the center of town, and located at a somewhat busy intersection. We had no complaints, however, about traffic noise (nor the church bells on which others have commented.) Stow is a great base for exploring this area of the Cotswolds. An unexpected highlight was attending an early Sunday service at the nearby church; almost every one of the locals greeted us personally and made us feel more than welcome. (If you are arriving by rail at Moreton, don't count on finding taxis waiting for you unless arrangements are made in advance. The regional bus, however, happened to arrive in time to eliminate any inconvenience.)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandR818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Yes the decor is a little old fashioned and we will be refurbishing soon but that will tend to put the prices up.

As you said, it might be a good idea to get a taxi number before you arrive at the local train station to avoid any delay.

I am glad that you had a pleasant stay here.

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very convenient location in Stow on the Wold if you are driving through the Cotswolds. The staff (especially janna and another woman (Rachel, I think!) was incredibly kind and helpful! Breakfast is included and was great (full English with fruit/cereal options). Accommodations were comfortable and clean. The bells were consistent and strong but didn't bother us (We live near train tracks!).

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kates821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Yes Jana is Assistant Manager and Rachel is a waitress here.

I am sure that they will appreciate your commendations and I am pleased that we exceeded your expectations.

Yours faithfully

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Smashing place, reasonable breakfast, brilliant evening meal.
We went in July (late reviewing), it was very hot, in the evening we had to have the window open,
the church nearby had the bell striking @ quarter past the hour(short), half past(longer), & quarter to (even longer), had a job to sleep. Now the church is in the centre of Stow so all the hotels/pubs would hear this, shame really. But don't let this detract from the Unicorn, when we shut the window (we cooked) but you could hardly hear the chimes, so it would be OK on cooler nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and I am glad that your enjoyed your stay here.

The bells do chime through the night which does affect some rooms and some guests rather like the sound of the church bells but if you are adverse to them just shut the window and on warmer nights simply switch on the 16 inch pedestal fan which we put in the wardrobe of each room for the summer months.

Kind regards

Chris martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Four of us were undertaking a two day cycle tour of the Cotswolds. We needed a hotel where we could store our bikes securely overnight.

We found the hotel very easily, it is conveniently located for the centre of Stow.

We were expected and directed to a room where we could store our bikes and that would be locked until we left the next day. The receptionist was very friendly. I was in a twin room with one of my colleagues and the room was nice and the en-suite shower/bath room was OK. The room overlooked the side of the hotel and we weren't troubled by noise.

There was a good bar menu and we decided to eat in the hotel. All four of us enjoyed the food and it wasn't expensive.

The breakfast was very good and included the option of a fruit salad.

We would stay and eat here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

It was good of you to take the trouble to comment on your stay and I do appreciate everything you mentioned about The Unicorn.

Hope to see you again on your next 2 wheel adventure

Best wishes

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Warm (very warm!),very friendly and helpful (thanks Wendy) and the food was excellent. Nice 4-poster which was unexpected.
Only downside was that due to temperature (yes I know, October in the UK!!) had to have window open and it sits on a very busy road/junction so the noise was tedious all night. Shape of hotel follows the road so don't know if "inside" rooms available.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donkeede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Regarding the room, do simply leave the window open during the day and close it at night with the fan on which is provided for you so it will be cool in the room just like you would at home.

Kind regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,483 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,299 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $110 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing