We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money.”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just spent three very happy nights here. The hotel is very comfortable and full of character and charm. The staff are extremely hard-working, cheerful and friendly. The food is really good as is the attentive service. We feel well-rested and refreshed after our short break and will be recommending it to all our friends.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel which rooms are available and try to secure one away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

I do appreciate your comments about the staff, food and the general ambiance of the Hotel.

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 322 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

recently stayed here for only one night good friday lovely room really clean. open fire in bar really warm and welcoming. great food crab linguine mmm. very warm welcome. did not take our dog but is a dog friendly hotel which was lovely. breakfast was very good lots of choice. lovely character old inn in a lovely location .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy2too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

I do appreciate your lovely review - The crab linguine is one of my favorite dishes which is why I put it on the menu - glad you enjoyed it

Best wishes

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Unicorn and would thoroughly recommend it. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food quality was very good, there was a log fire in the bar, the room was clean and well maintained with a comfy bed. This is an ideal base to explore the Cotswolds. The only minus point was that the hotel is situated at a busy main road traffic light junction, not their fault, but in our room due to the volume of traffic noise we could not have the window open at night.
We would certainly stay at the Unicorn again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to review The Unicorn and I am really pleased that the room, food and the staff were of a high standard.

The Hotel was a Coaching Inn dating back to 1642 so it was deliberately built on the Roman road named The Fosse Way to attract business from passing coaches. The bedrooms have secondary glazing but if you do feel the need to open a window then just ask for a room away from the Fosse Way when you hopefully return in the future.

Best wishes

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great location and very relaxed atmosphere. We and the dog were made to feel very welcome by the cheerful, friendly and hard working staff. The only suggestion would be for something other than the daily mail to be available in the lounge. Please note this is an original Inn with original features.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank annettet615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your review - We do try to make everyone welcome and at home including four legged freinds.
Normally there are other publications available apart from the newspaper such as the Country life magazine and The Stow Times but they do sometimes go astray so I will do my best to keep a better stock in future.
The Inn is very traditional and dates back to 1642 although it is classed as a small Hotel as it has 20 bedrooms with a restaurant, lounge and bar

I do hope that I can welcome you back soon

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed at hotel between 22nd and 24th February 2013 in Room 21 on the top floor.

Hotel areas and room were cold, except for the top floor corridor.

Room had frayed carpet and was coming away from the edges of the room, this was supported by a nice stained chair!

Mentioned concerns whilst there to members of staff. Following our stay the manager has advised that this was to the waiting staff, and we should not have spoken of issues to them.

Had various email correspondence with the manager following our stay. He is obviously used to dealing with complaints by his attitude - I am sure his response will confirm this.

The general response seemed to be summarised by what do you expect for £85 per night B&B?
The price of the room is not an issue, but do feel a general acceptable level of standards should be maintained regardless of the cost, and you should not feel cold inside the hotel.

If your expectations are not that high, this hotel is for you.

The positives of our stay are that the staff are friendly and the food good.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

I am also rather disapointed as you did not mention any problem with your room during your stay until you checked out and at that point were very aggressive towards my female Assistant manager which was completely uncalled for.

If you were unhappy with the room or any part of your stay then we would have gladly put it right for you or moved you to another room and there was a superior room available.
Your friend in the next room did mention that she was a little cold so I immediately took an electric heater up to her room. I asked her later if everything was ok for her and ahe was very happy.
You simply did not give us the opportunity to resolve the issue as you did not communicate any other issues to us.
I feel that it is important to respond to all reviews in the hope that it will give readers more balanced and informed information on The Hotel.

Yours faithfully

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very friendly staff and a hotel with a very pleasant and relaxed atmosphere. We booked on the morning of our stay so got a cheap deal which was good. A very large bed which was slightly on the hard side but comfortable. The room was adequate with the only serious criticism being the shower which oscillated between being extremely hot and extremely cold - why can hotels provide a half decent shower in 2013!!!

The evening meal which we ate in the bar was delicious and the breakfast was equally so. All in all a good stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Wanderlust092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

I do apprciate your coments regarding your enjoyable stay here. The showers are very powerful, all have mixer taps which should work very efficiently but I was not made aware that the temperature oscillated from hot to cold so I will check the running temperature of each shower to eliminate the problem.

Thank you again for your review

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a charming hotel, with authentic features everywhere in the building. The furnishings may be 'lived in' to some extent, but they are of excellent original quality.... and 'lived in' works in a building that dates from 16th century!
It's even greater asset is its staff, warm, professional, welcoming without being officious.
The food is to be recommended, an enticing menu of quality, deliciously hone cooked food.
Don't miss this chance to enjoy a genuine Cotswold experience. We will definitely return.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Citygirl0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

I am pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that you anjoyed the ambience and food here at The Unicorn. I will also pass on your kind words about the staff to them.

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
986 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,313 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $110 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing