We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money in the Cotswolds”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed just the one night at this characterful old coaching inn, and enjoyed our stay very much. Being a Sunday night in December, it was very quiet with not many fellow guests. We stayed in a superior room (room 11) which was large and very comfortable. Yes, its a bit faded round the edges but if you want a boutique hotel, you pay boutique hotel prices - particularly in this part of the world. It was exactly what we expected from an old inn and was quite charming. The secondary double glazing works very well at keeping the traffic noise at bay - we slept like babies until our alarm went off at 8.30!
We stayed on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package and the 3 course dinner was very good indeed for £15 per head - good choices and very tasty. My husband paid a small supplement for the steak and said it was excellent. The breakfast was also very good and the staff were friendly and helpful.
My only very small criticism was that it would have been nice if the bedroom had net curtains at the window. Obviously not a problem at night, but in the morning they would have afforded a little privacy.
Thank you for a very pleasant stay in a lovely part of the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JwPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments about the Hotel and the staff. I will look at getting some net curtains for room 11.

Hope to see you again

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    98
    29
    15
    14
See reviews for
48
167
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here to celebrate our silver wedding as we honeymooned here 25 years ago. Right from the friendliness when booking and checking in (there was a congratulations card from the hotel in our room), nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless and both the evening meal and breakfast were excellent. The staff were friendly, welcoming and very attentive - we could not ask for anything more. Many thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
It was a real pleasure hosting your 25th wedding anniversary and I do appreciate your review.

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We decided to stay an extra night.
We liked the hotel, the room was well sized, warm and very clean.
Service was friendly. The restaurant is OK for a meal, we went both nights, and excellent for a drink; they serve a nice bitter from the Hook Norton brewery.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photo131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, the ambiance of the Hotel and the friendly staff. We offer 2 real ales from Hook Norton - Hooky at 3.5 % which is most populer but I personally prefer the Cotswold Lion which is slightly stronger at 4.0% but has a greater depth of flavour, with a sweetness so it is not too hoppy.

I hope that you stay here again so you can try the LIon !

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel was warm and welcoming. Met by Chris the hotel manager who was made us feel very welcome. Furnishing are a bit old but the hotel was spotlessly clean and bed linen crispy cotten. The food was absolutely georgous and the bar/restaurant staff were very attentive. Many thanks to Victor for looking after us and making our anniversary weekend really lovely. Other guests were very friendly and made for a very relaxing, enjoyable time. Stow on the Wold beautiful with lovely shops. Bourton on the Water lovely too. Highly recommend. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your anniversary weekend and that we exceeded your expectations.

We do try to offer a friendly and cosy atmosphere for a Cotswold break.

I do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel itself was great and just what you’d expect from an old coaching inn. It retains a lot of the original features and charm which for me included the sloping ceilings and floors! Beds were very comfortable so made for a good nights sleep. I think the management could do with losing the additional chairs and occasional table as the room felt over cramped and made making your way around the bed and accessing the wardrobe a little awkward. Perhaps they should lose the chairs and consider adding a seat/pad and making more of a feature of the window seat?

I regularly stay in hotels 4 nights a week for business but was staying here for pleasure and found the breakfast at the Unicorn excellent and a much more personal experience than the busy over produced buffet style I usually endure on a weekly basis! There is the usual buffet style cereals and juices available, but you are served your breakfast (cooked to order) by a delightful team of staff for whom nothing is too much trouble.

Room itself was clean and well serviced by attentive staff, but the bathroom was a little on the tired side and could do with updating

Unfortunately I can’t comment on the evening meals as did not dine there. This decision was not based on lack of menu options, ambience etc but was entirely as a result of the Hotel’s General Managers attitude as upon arrival he refused to allow us to partake of the £15 A La Carte Option that is published on the hotel website as we had not “pre-booked it”. Despite explaining that whilst shown on the website, the booking options did not allow for us to include the Dinner option, he refused to budge. The only way I could possibly respond to his attitude was to vote with my feet and as a result I had great pleasure in spending approx £170 across the other establishments to cover our evening meal requirements for the 3 nights of our stay. His loss – not ours.

Negatives – The Hotel General Manager attitude! The Hotel car park also needs some major attention – there are lots of large pot holes that fill with water and will no doubt be difficlut to navigate around in gloomy winter months. These are all trip hazards and need filling before someone either breaks their ankle – or drowns!!

The hotel itself is OK but if revisiting Stow on the Wold, I probably stay somewhere else purely down to the General Manager’s attitude upon arrival.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NDDIR00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your rather long review and I will start by responding to your most agrieved point which you mentioned 3 times "attitude of the Genral Manager". Your review sounded like an argument ensued over the dinner bed and breakfast rate (DBB) but that was not the case at all.

I will explain our policy: We offer a bed and breakfast rate or a dinner bed and breakfast rate and the DBB rate is just £15 more per person for a 3 course dinner from the A la Carte menu.
The purpose of this is to that it guarentees the Hotel food and beverage income in advance of your arrival so it is available on booking only. It means that the we can forecast for the purchase of food and revenue. The normal price of 3 courses is approximately £23 but main courses are from £11.00 so it is reasonably priced.

I will not authorise a discount when you check in just beacuse you decide that you like the menu.This Hotel is a value for money historic property so you already have an inexpensive bed and breakfast rate. If the option was not available on the booking agent's site then why not call us and we would have been more than happy to book you on a DBB package.

Regarding your comments about moving easy chairs out of room 4. This is another thing that you don't grasp which is that to be a 3 star hotel all the rooms need to have separate easy chairs. Room 4 is a smaller room and no one has mentioned this as a problem in the past. Each room is different and if you were unhappy with the room, I would have been more than happy to move you.One thing you have not mentioned is that room has a wonderful brass bed which is one of the most comfortable beds in the Hotel.

It may be more preferable to be better informed before writing any more reviews.

Chris Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just got back from 2 nights away with our cocker spaniel and we can honestly say it is one of the loveliest places we have stayed. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating, our room was cosy and really comfortable and the hotel had a really relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely recommend and we look forward to staying there again in the future. Mr and Mrs Day

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you Mr and Mrs Day for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the old world charm of The Unicorn with it's log fire and friendly staff and I do hope that your cocker Spaniel enjoyed their stay as well.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Unicorn last weekend. The hotel is situated in the centre of Stow on the corner of two main roads so expect some traffic noise over night. There is car parking outside the hotel but it is usually full and the main car park is on the opposite side of the road to the hotel.

When we checked in we were with another couple and had booked two superior rooms. Our room (10) had maintenance problems and no bath and when we saw our friends room (8) we asked for a move. We were given a new room (3) which had a four poster bed. The room was OK although the bed was small.

The staff were friendly and efficient and we felt at home in the hotel. The bar was a typical small pub with lots of regulars who all seemed friendly.

The food both dinner and breakfast was of a good standard (We were on a half board basis).

No real complaints after the initial room switch and I would recommend it for a weekend break. The cost of £300 for a half board weekend break was reasonable

Room Tip: Room 8 very good Aviod room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fgwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for your comments about your stay and I do hope that you both enjoyed your birthdays here. Some of the rooms have walk in showers rather than baths with showers above them as some people prefer a shower cubicle. some hotels only have showers in the rooms as that is most peoples preference. I don't Know what the maintenance issues were in the room.

The bed in room 3 (The 4 poster) is 5 foot wide by 6 foot 3 long which is 3 inches shorter than a normal kingt size bed so it is a bespoke size as it is a very old style of 4 poster and in those days most beds were 4ft 6 double size.

I hope that this explains things

Regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Unicorn Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing