We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

A very nice hotel with pleasant staff,
the room was nice but the floors were a bit squeaky but that's what you get with a very old hotel.
But very nice overall top marks AAA+

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeny1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments and I am so glad that you enjoyed you stay

I do hope that we might see you again

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    98
    28
    15
    14
See reviews for
42
163
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the Unicorn Hotel for four days just for a short break. The Hotel was beautiful in the public areas and the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, in fact they could not do enough for us, the receptionist was delightful. We found the food outstanding and the service extremely quick and the staff very pleasant. However, we did find the rooms needed refurbishment and in my opinion were not cleaned to a high enough standard for such a lovely hotel. We booked a superior room (Room 8) and my immediate thought on entering it was that the net curtains looked like they could do with a good wash! We went to use the bathroom and somebody had used the toilet and it had not been cleaned, which rather put us off a bit. I can perhaps understand how the curtains get so dirty because room 8 is the room in the bay window which faces the main road and with all the traffic it is only to be expected, but really and truly they should have been white not grey! On the last night of our stay we had problems with the toilet which kept flushing itself (ghosts maybe!!!!). We called the Manager who was absolutely fabulous and immediately changed us to a premium room and insisted he give us a discount, which we did not ask for. Unfortunately this room was very claustrophobic, a bit like a cell with its high window and sloping floor!!! but as they were quite full I presume this room is not used very often, and also this was in the old part of the hotel and as we are familiar with old properties, we know that sloping floors are part of the charm!

To sum up, this is a wonderful hotel, with wonderful people, it just needs a little more attention to detail in the cleaning department and the bathrooms could do with being refurbished which, we understand is in the process of being done. Also a full box of tissues instead of being given four tissues a day in the tissue box would be good!!!! All in all though very good and providing we could be assured of a decent room would definitely return.

Room Tip: Dong choose rooms 8 its quite noisy being right by the traffic lights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your review and your comments about the Hotel and the staff.

The toilet has been fixed and I gave you a discount because I was moving you to a standard room which was next door to your original superior room 8 so it would be easy for you to move luggage from one room to the next.
If you were not happy with that room, I would have been more than happy to move you to another room if you had just asked and I would have helped you move your luggage.

Regarding the tissues, they should have been replenished by housekeeping, but again just dial 0 for reception and we will get you any of the in room items that you may need. The net curtains are being replaced but on checking the function of your toilet I did not notice a housekeeping issue and again, if you thought that there was a housekeeping issue then why not mention it to me while you were here and I could have rectified it for you.

Regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was booked for an anniversay weekend. The hotel has lots of charcter being very old and the room was very spacious and clean. Service at reception, bar and restaurant was very good with staff very friendly and helpful.
Had one meal in the hotel which was very good and the breakfasts were excellent - loved those sausages.
Due to age of hotel there was a bit of noise when people walked down corridor (squeeky floorboards) and a bit of noise from air con unit at back of hotel but this is just being picky as I slept like a log.
The location of the hotel is excellent being a minute walk from the centre of Stow which has good restaurants and pubs.
For the price paid this hotel is very reasonable and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your very accurate review and I do appreciate your comments.

I also appreciate that you mentioned you were "picky "regarding the extractor fan and the sqeaky floor boards as some reviewers might well make a meal of those two points.

I do hope that I can welcome you back to the Unicrn Hotel soon.

Best wishes

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIchfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

On our first time visit to the Cotswolds we decided to stay at the Unicorn Hotel,at Stow on the wold,which is excellantly suituated inthe heart of the Cotswolds.We found the staff to be exceptionatly friendly and curtiouos,and the hotel welcoming and cosy.We had booked a superior room which was spacious,light,and newly decorated. The one drawback with the room was that it was on the front of the hotel facing the busy A429 road and could be somewhat noisy at nightime with the traffic moving off from the traffic lights.The breakfasts were excellent with a good selection and good portions.There was also a cosy bar which offered a good selection of drinks and friendly barstaff. we would definately stop there again but would probably opt for a room at the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you are a heavy sleeper a rear facing room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kostos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your lovely ccomments regarding your stay here recently.
The rooms do have double glazing which should eliviate most of the road noise but we are an old coaching inn so by all means requesat a room at the rear facing the garden.

Hope to see you again here in the near future

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We went there as a minibreak over the Jubilee weekend. We got a "deal" through trivago - £170 for 2 nights. Apparently this is the going rate for a B and B in the Cotswolds. Bit overpriced for what we got to be fair.

The room was small - not an issue if only staying for a short while but the lack of space could make you feel claustrophobic after a couple of days. The bed was fine. The cleanliness of the room was good and the room was cleaned well and the bed made each day.

The TV doesnt work properly. Not a massive issue admittedly but is a little irritating.

The bathroom was very dated and a bit cramped. The shower was spot on and worked well. No complaints.

The hotel is in a great location. It has free parking over the road in their car park. We walked around each evening to the pubs and restaurants and did not have to walk far at all. This is Stow so there isnt much to worry about in terms of a good nights sleep. We slept well both nights.

We didnt have lunch or dinner in the hotel so cannot comment.

The breakfast was very good. Full English both days with tea and toast which could be refilled on request. Ample supply of fruit juices and cereals as well as a choice of a variety of speciality teas. Left each moring very satisfied with the food.

The service over breakfast could be improved. The young ginger waiter appeared not to care at all as though he had a hangover both days. Addressing guests as "mate" is inappropriate. Doing his job seemed like a real chore to him. Perhaps the management could have a word that good service = happy guests = better tripadvisor reviews = more business = more £$ = more pay for him and possibly even a tip!!

Overall a better than average hotel. Would I stay there again? - Yes but not at the prices they are charging.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vopinionated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your review.
£85 a night including breakfast at the weekend for a Hotel ( not a B&B as a Hotel has services such as a bar, lounge, restaurant and more staff) in the Cotswolds is seen as good value for money as a more luxurious hotel with brand new bathrooms and larger rooms would be £150 to £200 per night. We do have superior rooms which are from £110 at the weekend.
Stay with us midweek and we can offer rates from £60 in the Winter months.


If the TV did not work properly then why did you not dial 0 for reception and we could have sorted it out for you.

We normally have great feedback regarding the waiter you mentioned and I have spoken to him about his lack of cutomer service.

Thank you for your overall comments on the Hotel.

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just returned from a meal at the Unicorn. Ordered the beef stroganoff on the recommendation of guests who had had it the previous night. Dish had three thin strips of beef in it. When I reported this to the waiter, he immediately apologised and returned it to the chef. The reply came that this was the way it came. I was offered a replacement dish instead of more meat being added. Not wanting to make a fuss I made do. Minutes later another couple complained about their beef stroganoff which was beef in gravy. Paid for my meal but was the wrist meal I had had in a week and the most expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northeastvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
We do gain a vast number of compliments about the quality of our food.
You did complain when you were here and my Duty Manager offered you another dish which you did not accept and you "did not want to make a fuss", so it is very difficult to compensate when that is the case although you are making a fuss now.

You also mentioned that it was "the most expensive meal in Stow." Our main courses are £7.95 at lunchtime and £11.95 in the evening.

Yours

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Decided to go to this lovely hotel purely on its location & although we have stayed in various other parts of the Cotswolds, have never really stayed in Stow!
The welcome was pleasant & friendly, I assumed the Gentleman was the Manager/owner, who informed us of Breakfast times & where the restaurant was & that a fire was going!
Our room (21) was located on the top floor and overlooked the courtyard, we were very surprised at the size, it was big with a very nice sized bathroom and very clean.The room has everything you need and the bed was fab! The TV didn't work but we weren't there to watch it anyway but thought we might get a radio channel as that was the only slight negative being no radio alarm clock.

The hotel is very warm & cosy with good lounges for reading and a very comfy bar area with sofa's in front of the log fire. Reasonable bar prices and the food menu was good but could do with a few more choices on it especially the Deserts maybe a fruit salad as lighter option!
The breakfast was very good in fact I struggled to finish mine on the first morning! Choose a lighter option the next day! The staff are great, professional & efficient without intruding on your privacy. Special mention to the tall blonde guy who seemed to be in the bar & restaurant the whole weekend, he is an asset to the hotel. service was quick and always with a smile!
The location is close to the shops & restaurants although we ate at the hotel both nights. Restaurant: Very good service and the food was piping hot which I am really fussy about!
Our room was made up each day with Tea/coffee etc replenished daily. There was a bit of late night noise where we could hear music being played but not enough to completely stop us from sleeping or complaining about it. this hotel is 17th century though so to be expected!

This hotel has a charm all of its own and we would definitely stay here again. We celebrated our Tenth Wedding Anniversary in a really lovely old-worlde hotel and just wanted a little bolt holt where we could relax & do nothing, and that's exactly what we got with a few extras thrown in!

Room Tip: Room noise is less the higher the floor, but unfortunately sound insulation in a 17th century buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flogoSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your very in depth and informative review. I do hope that you enjoyed your tenth anniversary here.

I do hpe that you might return here in the near future

Best wished from

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Unicorn Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing