We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much, much better than we'd expected.”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Previous reviews ranged from very positive to seriously destructive. We were worried by the negative ones and prepared for a disappointment but it wasn't like that. We found the staff completely charming, warm, friendly and very helpful especially, I have to say, the Eastern Europeans whose English was excellent and who were very complimentary about my rudimentary Czech! We had a superior double (four-poster bed, the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in) which was spotlessly clean and had all we needed. Some critics had described the decor as tired, I could see what they meant but I felt the room had character, rather more than some of the more modern hotels we've stayed in recently. The public areas (bar, lounge, restaurant) were perfectly comfortable and, with a greater number of guests or customers, would have exhibited a very pleasant atmosphere. It wasn't particularly cheap but, then, nowhere in the Cotswolds is cheap nowadays. I felt it was pretty good value for money.
My only serious criticism concerns the food. Continental breakfast, though well-presented, well-served and as much as you wanted, was rather limited in variety given the cost of the B&B. The evening meals menu was quite basic, acceptable but in no way exciting. My wife and I do not appreciate large portions so it suited us but I could imagine bigger eaters would not have seen it as value for money. But there are plenty of other places to eat in Stow.
All in all, we really enjoyed our short stay. We didn't find it at all deserving of the really negative reviews and, if more interesting/exciting food could be provided, I'd be happy to change my rating to excellent. With a little more investment and imagination, it could well achieve 4* status.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmcaleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff and your stay here. I do try to vary the menu and the portion sizes are normally substantial as there are main course dishes such as Beef Bouguignon with mash and green beans, Beer battered fish and hand cut chips, Catalan chicken with chorizo and vegetables in a sherry jus and warm chocolate fondant.

I do hope that I can welcome you back to the Unicorn.

Best regards
Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 322 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

Stayed here overnight recently, the hotel is an old coaching inn but it was clean and tidy and the staff that we met were very helpful and efficient. Our room was at the back of the hotel which meant one going up one flight of stairs and along a few passages until we reached it. It was clean and tidy and we had a good nights sleep. There was the distant sound of the church clock striking and also the occasional vehicles on the main road but nothing to disturb. The bathroom was also clean and tidy.

The evening meal was fine and although we had a slight mix up with the order, this was rectified without problems. Breakfast was plain and simple with plenty of cereals, croissants, pastries and toast, as well as cheeses and ham, so that we didn't feel hungry. In fact it was a pleasant change not to be overindulged with the normal Full English. The hotel does advertise 'Continental' style breakfast so why complain about it?

The car park is just across the road and there is plenty of space however it is gravel so might get a bit puddley when wet. There is a pedestrian gateway from it by the traffic lights so it is no distance to walk,

All in all it is more than adequate for a couple of nights visiting the beautiful Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1C49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

Thank you for your kind review and that you had an enjoyable stay. The church bells do add character to the town but can be heard from some of the rooms however we do have secondary glazing in most of the rooms. The entrance to the car park has now been re surfaced so it is much smoother. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Unicorn.
Best regards
Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed here on a Saturday night to attend a friends wedding and my parents were also staying at the hotel to baby sit our son. Both rooms were a decent size and very clean but everything in them was completely out of date and worn out. The bathroom looked like it had last been updated in the 1970's. The spare bed in my parents room had springs poking out of the mattress it was so old.
My parents ate in the restaurant and said the food was very good but the evening was somewhat spoiled by rain water pouring down one of the interior walls.
And breakfast was dismal, just some cereals and toast with no cooked breakfast available.
Overall I thought it was far too expensive but I couldn't fault the helpfulness and general friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and regarding the refurbishment of the rooms, it is planned for the future but we do reduce prices to reflect that but I cannot comment on yoour individual reservation cost as your review is anominous. The building dates back to 1642 so we do have leaks and maintenance issues which are rectified as soon as is possible but I do hope that it did not detract from you evening too much. The continental breakfast is a buffet so guests can eat as much or as little as they choose and consists of fresh fruit salad, homebaked danish pastries and croissants, fresh finger rolls, quality gammon ham, cheeses, quality toast, cereals, fruit juices, normal and herbal teas and coffee. Our rates do vary depending on the time of year, mid week or weekend and we do set out to be value for money.
Best regards
Chris martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We did not stay at this hotel but since we were passing through we decided to stop for a lunch time meal. I have two issues with this hotel and the first one was the food. We ordered from a very expensive menu for a lunch meal and when it arrived to be honest it was disgusting, not home cooked or even nicely presented and it was not even cooked properly but before I had a chance to complain I now I come to the second issue. Before we even had a chance to really eat this meal my father was taken ill suddenly and an ambulance had to be called, as you can imagine there was chaos to say the least so the last thing on our minds was this dreadful food. We were told that we had to pay full price for the food (can you inagine this) before we left until I complained while my father was being treated by a paramedic and we were discounted one meal. The manager seemed a decent person but I have to say in view of what was going on absolutley no compassion. Just another money grabbing hotel and we will never go there ever again and I will certainly not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jojo0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

I was somewhat shocked when I read this review as I had been as helpful and understanding as possible redarding your fathers illness.
We offer a 2 course lunch for £12.50 from our normal menu so that it is in fact good value for money. I understand from the waitress that you had asked her if we can do childrens portions for you although you are adults but we can offer sandwickes or starters.
On realising that your father was taken ill, I was very concerned as I have seen this condition before so I called a paramedic and waited outside for them to arrive so that I could direct them to your father, I then made myself available for you and the paramedics. The bill was presented to you automatically but due to your predicament, I discounted one of the meals as a gesture of good will. The meal was not touched by yourselves therefore It cannot be described as "disgusting" and everyone who ate that day was very happy.
I certainly was compassionate and very concerned for your father's welfare and was appalled at your comments particuarly as you had said how helpful I was when you were here.

Chris martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Didnt stay here but ate here twice during our stay in the Cotswolds. Food is consistently good and the main courses especially are very good value for money, Had also eaten here last year and the food was also good at that time. The European waitress was extremely competent and helpful. Only complaint is that the Manager was not helpful, did not explain himself well when we arrived and was rather abrupt - had we not eaten here earlier in our stay the "welcome" we gave would have been enough to turn us away.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank theresa48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Thank you for your constructive words about your experience at The Unicorn. I am sorry that I did not come across as welcoming, I can assure you that it was a rare occurance and will endeavour to get it right next time.

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night and found the Unicorn a lovely surprise, the rooms were very comfortable and clean and the staff were exceptionaly friendly and met every request with a smile and a quick response.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussietrippers00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This hotel claims to be a gem and its not, i stayed here a few years ago and can see that nothing has changed by the recent updates, management and service was dreadful despite a supposed superior room, crisps out of date, could not get mini bar restocked because manager had taken keys home by mistake. Offered any table in restaurant only to be moved half way through meal because someone else came in and had reserved table we were given by manager. Complained but manager was just rude. Wouldnt stay here again if you paid me its that bad!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank premiershopfitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
986 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,313 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $110 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing