We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good country house hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good country house hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel was located just outside Stowe on the Wold and surrounded by cute little Cotswold towns. The staff were on the whole great, we asked to change rooms and they obliged including moving our bags over while we were out. Our first room was on the top floor and didnt have walking room around the bed for tall people which was not pleasant. The room we moved to however was lovely.
Dinners were served on time and in general the food was good with the odd issue like fish being over cooked or meat not quite being to some people's taste but we were a large party. I think that pre ordering our meals went a long way to making everything work well as we were about 30 people.
Breakfast was good and had a small but very good continental buffet as well as a cooked option.
It was a good hotel for a weekend away as a group and some lovely walks and pubs nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the rafters in you are over 5ft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    456
    225
    101
    59
See reviews for
178
845
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a Saturday night after having two great treatments. The bedroom was very comfortable and clean. The restaurant is lovely and the dinner was fab as was the full english breakfast. I can highly recommend. A great place to meet friends and chill.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Used this place to meet for a two-night family get together and it was ideal! Very friendly professional staff, food in the restaurant was excellent and again; very professionally and courteously staffed. Breakfast spread was excellent too with more than enough to fill up for the day. All in all, extremely good and would willingly go back AND highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chilledinagay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We've visited this hotel for drinks in the past but never stayed. Last week we booked a night to try it out. The location is excellent, the building is lovely and the public areas very grand in a slightly tired old fashioned way. We loved it. The service from check in to check out was excellent although the restaurant was fully booked on the Friday evening so we had to eat out in Stow. The alternative of bar food or room service didn't appeal. The bar area is great for a drink, not so ideal for eating. Our room (5) was a little too modern in decor but it was huge and a great price on a laterooms deal. We'll certainly be going back to suck up some more of their excellent service. Thank you Wyck Hill Hotel, you made our weekend!

Room Tip: Ask for traditional rooms on the upper floor of main building or coach house. Avoid the basement roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SphereHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I booked a 2 night stay via an Amazon Deal.
The booking in procedure was excellent with no fuss.
The room was nicely laid out,2 cream leather chairs, a coffee table etc, and a lovely large comfortable bed with soft pillows...nice.
The towels were really nice and fluffy and the complimentary toiletries were of good quality.
It was only on inspection of the whole room we thought it not as good as expected if one was paying the full price.
The coffee table was very unstable (so we did not use it) and the heated towel rail did not work.
The bath plug mechanism was in pieces so the plug had to be pulled out by hand.
The walls in the room were marked and so a re paint would be much appreciated I am sure.
Even in the hallways and stairways some of the carpets were frayed and ripped and really quite tired.
At the bar, as it was quite small, and quiet, there were no staff present to serve and so had to wait for a member of staff to arrive from elsewhere in the hotel to serve us. It really seemed as if, at times the staff were stretched a little too thinly. Is the hotel run on a shoestring??
It would have been nice to see something explaining the history of the building as it was obviously a well to do establishment in its heyday.
On a plus note, the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
We each booked a Spa session and, once again, the staff were very nice and pleasant. It was a shame that the spa did not have a pool or gym though.
We booked an evening meal during our stay. There is an A La Carte menu as well as a Table D`ote menu, we were not given the option, we were just given the A La Carte menu (which was extremely good but a tad expensive) it would have been nice to have been given the choice.
All things considered, it was a nice stay but maybe we will wait some time before returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albrad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The approach to the hotel is really lovely. Set back from the road in stunning well kept grounds. There is ample parking set over the whole site so parking is available near to wherever your room is. Check in was prompt and professional although I do agree with other reviews that more information on the hotel (where dinner is served, where the bar is etc) could be offered. We stayed in the Coach House, when approaching the building (it is away from the main house) I was quite disappointed not to have been offered a room in the main house but that was put behind us when we saw the room we were given. It was huge. There was a modern 4 poster bed, 2 armchairs, coffee table, open fire place (not in use). The well equipped bathroom was more than enough. The wardrobe was a separate closet in between the bedroom and hallway. The robes and slippers were a nice touch. We were on the ground floor and it was bliss, so quiet.
We had booked afternoon tea as part of our package and decided to take it in the bar area (this was nicely decorated with leather sofas and high bar stools). The tea was presented beautifully with good quality food, consisting of sandwiches, scones with jam and cream, carrot cake, bakewell tart, brownies and fresh leaf tea. I can honestly say that it was the best afternoon tea I have ever had, they should be proud of this. After this we took a walk in the grounds (to walk it off!).
Now for the let down...
We booked a table in the restaurant for 8:30. We arrived at the restaurant at 8:25 and were seated in a side room which was very quiet, with approximately 3 other couples who were already dining. After 5-10 minutes 3 more couples were seated in the same room. The waitress then proceeded to serve the other couples individually. She took their drinks order, then brought their drinks out, then took their food order, a bread roll was then brought out to them, then the chefs complimentary potato soup sampler....this was repeated another 2 times with the 2 other couples. It was quite obvious we had been missed off her list, my husband eventually called the waitress over when a fellow diner commented on how we had been forgotten. Our order was finally taken at approximately 9:00, we ate our main dishes 9:35 onwards. This was a let down as it felt like the meal dragged on. Putting this aside the food was good and well presented.
Breakfast. This was also a let down. I ordered a full English breakfast with a poached egg. What I got was a full English breakfast with an extremely underdone poached egg that left raw egg all over my breakfast. This was sent back to the kitchen and I was asked how I would like my egg, I said so that the white is not runny please. So when my breakfast was returned to me I cut into the egg to find it exactly the same as before and I was left with raw white all over it again. When I was approached to ask if everything was ok it was embarrassingly obvious by looking at my plate that it wasn't. I gave breakfast up as a bad job from then.
On check out we did highlight the bad service in the evening restaurant and was told that the waitresses had been given a new procedure on how to serve guests, so we couldn't blame the waitress for her illogical way of serving.
I have given this hotel a 4/5 simply because it is a really beautiful hotel that needs a little tweaking. It offers great value for money and I think it would make a fantastic wedding venue. The staff are friendly and welcoming and are doing their best (apart from the egg poacher!). Yes I would return without a doubt.

Room Tip: Although not in the main house room 52 in the coach house was a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAE6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We visited for the second year running for the annual dinner of a car club, arriving about 1800.

The hotel entrance is on a fast road and is difficult to see when coming from Stow, so for safety's sake could do with better marking in some way. Then the car park, which might be OK in daylight, was a confusing layout with little or no signage and lighting which might be good for pedestrians but dazzles drivers.

Charming and helpful receptionist showed us where we'd be dining later, and offered help with luggage. She also told us that if we wished the next morning we could check out early but retain our room key until we wanted to leave, to avoid queuing, and then just leave the key at the reception desk. What a good example of rare common sense. Why can't all hotels do this (unless they need last minute details of minibar usage)? Got to our room (No. 15 - which I think was the same one we had last year) which was spacious and impressive at first sight - then the irritations started.

The TV didn't work and there were no instructions for it (it was fixed quickly once we reported it at Reception before dinner though). The heated towel rail did not work, and when we reported it to reception we were told they were awaiting parts to fix it - oddly enough we then remembered the rail didn't work last year either! The shower controls were difficult to reach as they were at the far end of the bath and the screen wouldn't open far without meeting the wash basin. The controls were unlabelled and confusing but eventually we managed to work out how to have a bath (Mrs P) and shower (me). Not a good start to an evening after a two hour drive.

The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean but a triumph of style over substance. The wash basin was a very modern style which would only contain about 2 inches of water and splashed water over you if you turned the tap on quickly. The bedroom furniture was cheap and nasty - the handle came off one bedside drawer, there were no handles on the chest of drawers and it needed two hands to open sticky drawers. It was made of cheap plastic-coated imitation woodgrain material and was rickety. Usually I take photos of rooms where we stay, as a memento, but I was by this time thoroughly disheartened and didn't bother.

Things looked up when we went downstairs. The bar was very crowded as usual but service and wine order were prompt. The set dinner was excellent in quality and just the right quantity. We had a most enjoyable evening.

Went to be and had difficulty sleeping due to bright light from the corridor showing through an excessive gap under our bedroom door. Should have got up and blocked it with cushions but didn't want to disturb Mrs P who couldn't see it from her side of the bed so was sleeping OK.

Breakfast next morning very good - excellent choice, and the sausages and bacon were of really good quality. Again the service was impeccable.

As mentioned above, checkout went easily.

All in all, the food was excellent, and all the staff friendly, courteous and very helpful. The downside of this hotel seems to be that it's been renovated on the cheap and the maintenance needs looking at. For what it cost, I expected better. We'd be happy (indeed very happy) to dine there but will not stay again if we can help it.

Room Tip: Do not accept Room 15 without checking all facilities are serviceable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pistonbroke1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Wyck Hill, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing