We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel had character and is in a very nice setting. Didn't use spa but had a look and it looked inviting! The room itself was reasonably well appointed. My friend and I had a twin room on the second floor so there wasn't much of a view. That didn't matter too much as we only stayed one night. Only down side was it took too long to be served in the bar and the restaurant was a little pricey. We went into Stow for a meal instead. Hotel breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

First trip to Cotswolds and what a great first impression. Had a king room in the Orangery with a huge slate patio to enjoy the bottle of champagne! The room was huge, well appointed with a hint of yesteryear architecure moldings and bathroom fittings. We slept with one of the transom windows open to enjoy the cool night air. Enjoyed a fabulous dinner in the conservatory and breakfast the following morning (included in room rate)...only too sad it was a one night stay. Definitely a place to return to upon our next visit to the UK.

Room Tip: Orangery - ask for the king room (#6 or #7??) that is located off the main corrider. The room is hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirtualGlobalLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed in mid-August. Despite the outside temperature being only 17 degrees the "garden" room was ridiculously hot, even with the window wide open. Looked at four other rooms with a view to changing, but all were the same stifling temperature. Requested fans, which arrived fairly promptly, but these were a bit of a pain as they were rather noisy and kept cutting out and starting up again. The combination of the temperature and the noise of the fan meant that I only managed a couple of hours sleep on the first night. The room was spacious and far better than those we looked at in the main building, which were rather dated and cramped. The food was nice on the whole and service was okay, but certainly not four star. Our request for more toast at breakfast (they brought two rounds for three people!) was ignored as was our request to have a break between the main and pudding. They gave us ten minutes and then brought the next course without checking first that we were ready for it. There were mix ups with our table at dinner and we were kept waiting in the lobby for 45 minutes without so much as the offer of a drink. The reception was desperately understaffed, particularly at the busy check out times. Loved the Cotswolds, but would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are far more spacious than those in the main building, so definitely not worth payi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley5364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day stay. Our room was on it's own in a courtyard but in the bathroom there was a filmsy door which was locked. We should have asked to be moved but just assumed that it led to a cupboard. However, the door rattled a lot and I did think at times someone was going to come through the door, not great for privacy when you are in the bathroom. We put a towel over the door handle as you could see through the keyhole. On last day we literally could hear workmen on the other side of the door talking and painting. We checked out early and when we mentioned this to the receptionist she got the duty manager who found it smirked a lot until she realised how annoyed we were. We stated that the room should not be let out like that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed recently for a wedding locally. Checking in was simple. Our room was at the back of the hotel which felt like walking from a manor house into a Travel Lodge. The room was huge, which was great but the decor was tired, craking in the wall joints and cobweb hanging from tall ceiling. There was also only one celing spot light for a big room - bit strange. Another annoyance was there not being any doors on the wardrobe, don't understand why not as it would make the room look much better. Had a lovely drink in the afternoon and the service was in general quite good. I did ask if there was a menu for room service and instead of the person offering to bring one up I was told I had to walk to the restaurant to get it myself. I wouldn't volunteer to stay again for the price. Shame because it really does have great views out the back and some good rooms downstairs to relax in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenksHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My partner and I visited this hotel in March this year and we had a wonderful stay. We wanted to get away somewhere, romantic, rural and scenic for our first romantic break and it exceeded our expectations. The hotel itself is quite historic looking (which we loved) and the grounds were great for a little stroll. The room was just lovely and spacious with large balcony doors to the back lawn which was perfect for an early morning al fresco breakfast! The staff were very accommodating and polite and the food was (breakfast) excellent! The location is ideal and just a short drive to the quaint little town. We cannot wait to visit for our first anniversary next year!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josmurf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a 2B and 2D package which included champagne and chocolates. Having read the other reviews, I contacted the hotel before we arrived to request rooms where the windows opened and for fans to be in the rooms. The hotel did arrange this and we were in the new wing in rooms 12 and 14. The windows had safety catches on so had to remove these to open to an acceptable level to let a breeze in. Fortunately it had cooled down a bit when we were there, however the rooms were very warm. This wasn't helped by the fact that the duvets on the bed were heavy winter duvets and there was no sheet so the duvet could not be removed. Also, one of our rooms was a twin and in here there was a double duvet folded in half on a single bed. The bedroom was very large and well decorated, but this was let down by the bathroom. The wooden panel at the bottom of the bath had rotted. The taps had no control to turn between shower and bath and in room 14 there was no hot water in the bath, although there was in the tap. My father was made to feel stupid by the maintenance cum bar man who came to look at it and told him the bath was on a separate water supply. The next day they did repair the fitting so that there was hot water in the bath, however the shower then did not work. The food was good, however the service in the restaurant was bad. There were a lot of staff but there didn't seem to be any system for service and it seemed that all staff were serving all tables. This meant that on a couple of occasions we did wait a long time for food as we were forgotten. Be warned if you are on an inclusive package as we found out on the second night that coffee was an additional charge. They omitted to tell us this on the first night when they offered it to us and only told us on the second night after it had been delivered. Given the many hotels in the Cotswolds we probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Select a room in the New Wing and request a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
986 reviews
2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,085 reviews
14.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
350 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Address: Burford Road | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $100 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing