We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for a long while”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best hotel for a long while”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is an amazing hotel with lovely staff.I have traveled the world and this is probably one of the best hotels I have been too. If you want something grand come here. Ignore other comments. Yes the floor boards are aged, thats because its an old house, its very rustic. Would laminate flooring be better no! Yes there are a few maintenance issues, but thats because its an old house, the rooms are huge, the food brilliant, 2 open fires.and lovely staff. Nothing is too much,trouble.
Oh yes if you would like some peanuts just ask at the bar, produced free of charge!
We came here on an amazingly cheap deal, and it really was the best £99 I have spent in a very long time. Well done and we will be back very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennswood2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    473
    238
    102
    59
See reviews for
183
870
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Charming and quaint with warmth and class , this grand old,house sits proud in beautiful,well maintained grounds . It's grandeur well preserved without spoiling any of the originality that's gives this part of England's property it's charm . the food was amazing and the staff couldn't do enough to meet your needs . just the right mix of fun and frolics for New Year's Eve whilst maintaining the class and intimacy sought by this type of venue and package . Excellent location with oodles to do and see . Will visit again soon .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked a room on a bed, breakfast and evening meal offer via Travelzoo (£99). The hotel is in a great location and was very picturesque surrounded by the snow. Check in was easy and i was given room 2 on the lower ground floor (many other rooms are in separate buildings in the grounds but due to the cold weather i was more than happy not to have to walk outside for meals etc) some of the corridors were in urgent need of a repaint and a recarpet. My room was warm, large, well equipped and clean as was the bathroom. I then went for a hot choc and brownies and sat in the library which was rather cold as the fire was not lit. The evening meal was superb, i had scallops which were the best i have EVER eaten, belly pork and a choc mouse with raspberry sorbet. i then went back to the library for a quiet drink by the lit fire. I slept well, the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty, a good choice of food and the black pudding was full of flavour and again the best i have ever tasted. The staff were all very friendly and all had a cheery smile. I will return soon : )

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakub Matej E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Beautiful grounds, great, helpful and friendly staff. Events organiser Katy was really accommodating, felt like home for my whole stay and the food was super especially the salmon fishcakes . Would be even better with a swimming pool and hot tub!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy1982_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Got this on a deal weekend, when we arrived we were blown away by the beauty.
We checked in to find that there was a wedding on and our room was next to the function, we didn't mind but they moved us to a garden room which was awesome.
The food was to die for.
I'd recommend this to everyone. Beautiful food, beautiful setting, beautiful room and the staff where excellent.
5 stars all the way

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I booked for a 2 night stay last weekend (January 2013). We were looking for a hotel in the area so used Trip Advisor for tips. Sad to say that we were disappointed from the moment we entered the main door of the hotel The main part of the building is very old, a stone entrance hall leads into a large inner hall the flooring of which is (presumably) old wooden floorboards. All well and good but they looked like they could do with a good polish. There was a fire burning in this area, just 2 or 3 logs with 2 antique sofa's in front of it. There is a stone fireplace in the entrance hall, complete with an ugly electric socket in the empty space where a welcoming fire (or just a floral display of sorts) should have been. The whole area was very unwelcoming. As mentioned before, there is no reception area as such, just a desk and 2 chairs under the stairs. Neither of the 2 other rooms, the library and the bar, had a fire alight in the time that we were there. We did sit in the library the first evening for coffee after dinner. We took one look in the bar and turned tail, it must be the most miserable bar area we have ever seen! As another guest has stated, there is nothing to entice you to sit in there for a drink, no flowers, candles, nibbles, etc.or indeed, a member of staff. Behind the bar is a vast mirror, no doubt in keeping with the age of the house but it needs replacing in our opinion. Also behind the bar, in very clear view, was a huge quantity of empty bottles of all sorts in a big plastic waste bin with no lid. Totally off putting!
I had booked a twin room but we were given room 12 (in the new part of the main building) which had zip and link beds. This was fine as we have these at home but it was not what I had asked for. The room itself was large, quite dark with a small window. The bathroom was also spacious. Our main bugbears were: the wooden side panel of the bath was completely rotten at the bottom, the button to flush the loo became stuck every time you used it and you had to release it to stop the cystern refilling constantly. On the other side of the bathroom wall the bedroom carpet was extremely uneven so it appears there could have been a severe leak at some stage which had affected the underlay. We also dislike the open plan shelving system rather than a proper wardrobe, it is more what you expect in a travel lodge not a 4 star hotel.
Unfortunately room 12 is almost directly opposite a door to some stairs and right next to a fire door. The fire door in particular needs attention as it closes loudly every time someone uses it. Not good for a peaceful night's sleep! We were woken at 12.30am on our 2nd night by a huge crash of someone dropping a large tray of room service items which had been left on the corridor further along. I jumped out of bed in fright as we had no idea what had happened and the person involved was very apologetic. But to add insult to injury, we were woken by someone hoovering outside our door just after 8am! Going back to the loaded tray, we know it was on the corridor at 10.15 the night before as we had returned to our room at that time.
We had found the feather duvet and pillows too hot the first night (like most hotel rooms, our bedroom was far too hot) so we asked at reception (aka the table under the stairs!) on our way out if they could be replaced by non feather ones. We stressed it was not due to an allergy problem. When we returned we found that the mattress topper had also been removed - in our opinion it is this that makes the beds so comfortable as we have one one our own bed. Before going out for the evening, we asked at reception if the topper could please be replaced. The reply was totally non commital. As expected, at 10.15pm when we got back to the room there was no topper. I rang reception and the same girl told me that the housekeeping room was locked and she didn't have a key. My wife made the suggestion that she tried to get one from another room (the hotel only had about 10 guests). This was duly delivered to our room, we offered to fit it ourselves as she stated that it was very heavy. The tray of dirty items on the corridor was totally ignored! Our main question is: what happens if guests arrive late and require additional/different bedding and there is no access to such items after the housekeeping staff have left? Oh, and if you request a non feather duvet for a 6 foot bed, expect a 5 foot one in a duvet cover big enough for a 6 foot bed!!!!
Now to what we consider was the best part of our stay - the food. We enjoyed breakfast on both mornings although I had to ask for mine to be replaced on the first morning as it was barely warm. A new one was bought piping hot.There is a very good choice, everything is freshly cooked to order. On the 2nd morning we both had porridge and it was excellent. Also good to have toast that is actually toasted! We had 3 course dinner the first night and it was excellent, very well cooked and presented very attractively. Our compliments were sent to the chef. The staff were friendly and very helpful. It was lovely to eat in the conseravatory for both dinner and breakfast. Only one little thing to mention, why were candles only lit on the table where 4 ladies were about to sit?
Our overall impression was that the hotel on a whole needs some more money spent on it, the corridors and some other communal areas cry out for some paint and also the carpets have joins starting to fray or joined by tape, not good. There also appear to be large areas of damp on the corridor which joins the old part of the hotel to the newer. The whole entrance area needs to be made more welcoming.
Sad to say that although we will definately return to The Cotswolds (as we have many times before), we won't be returning to Wyck Hill House.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not next to a fire door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerrardCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times over the last 17 years, each time we really enjoy the atmosphere, georgous hotel but the staff don't make it feel 'stuffy'. I would definately recommend paying more to stay in the main house bedrooms as this hotel has other small buildings with bedrooms. Look on the website and the bedroom they feature is absolutely georgous but I have to say a few 'niddles' were there when we last stayed (early Jan 2013) the Jaquzzi wasn't working and the fan in the bathroom was very noisy after it had been on a while. If your stay is for a very special reason then the suite is absolutely amazing and I mean amazing! Lovely library where you can relax and have a coffee, great bar and lovely grounds - would definately recommend and I look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: Don't forget to book a room that is actually in the main hotel building not an annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,024 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,159 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Wyck Hill | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing