We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent all round experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
190 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“An excellent all round experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We visited the hotel between Christmas and New Year. We were expecting something good as we had read reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel has been recently refurbished to what I considered to be a very high standard. The decor in the public areas is tasteful and relaxing. From the moment we walked through the door all the staff we met were welcoming and helpful. We booked a suite which, while not particularly large, was well furnished and decorated, well appointed and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very good and the service matched it. The freshly cooked breakfast the following day was also excellent.

Small criticisms might be the lack of bathrobes in the suite and the small bath towels. The wine list is restricted with only eight bottles of red available if you wish to pay less then £125 per bottle! My wife objects to restaurant staff, however good (and they were good) wearing denims and she has a point - it seemed inconsistent with the qulaity of everything else.

Overall we would thoroughly recommend this as being very easily the best hotel we have stayed at in the area (and we have been to a lot) - we will return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westyorkshireman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Number Four. We are constantly looking at ways to improve our hotel and therefore appreciate your feedback, thank you.
As always, we have passed your compliments on to all the staff.

We now look forward to welcoming you back to the Cotswolds very soon and wish you a Happy New Year.

Kind regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    135
    37
    5
    6
See reviews for
122
617
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Really super place to stay. Lovely food, great service and a complimentary upgrade to a suite. Plus, it's so close to Stow, you can walk there even in crazy snow!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islander896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
The "crazy" snow is still here but we have now managed to dig out all remaining cars!!
Thank you for coming to stay at Number Four and for taking the time to write such a positive review. This is very much appreciated by all the staff.
We are also delighted that you returned home safely.

Wishing you both a wonderful Christmas and New Year. Hope to welcome you back in 2011.

With warmest regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We ended up at Number Four after having a weekend away abroad cancelled due to the snow. We thought we would have weekend in the Cotswolds instead so looked on Tripadvisor.

On getting to the hotel we were given a very warm welcome and told that everyone else had cancelled and we were pretty much the only people staying!! We were upgraded to a small suite with a separate living room which was lovely.

The service during the stay was exemplary from the reception staff to the restaurant staff. The dinner/bed/breakfast deal is excellent value especially when you take into account the quality of the food.

The food was absolutely superb. We had dinner on Saturday night and then Sunday lunch. Saturdays dinner was excellent. The overwhelming theme of everything that comes out of the kitchen is of no expense spared with produce. These excellent local ingredients are then treated simply to get the best out of them. The Sunday lunch counts as one of the best I have ever had (apologies go to my mum!!!). The beef was beautiful. Potatoes were obviously cooked in good (or bad dependent on your point of view!) fat. Perfectly cooked sprouts with what tasted like a touch of nutmeg and chestnuts, Spiced red cabbage. Then rounded off with a rich sauce (with extra in a pan on the side!). Brilliant!!!!

All in all Number Four has it all. Lovely rooms, Great staff, great food, great value. What more could you want?

The only reason I marked sleep quality down by one was that the fridge in the room was a bit noisy and I am a fairly light sleeper.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyjhyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will return in the New Year to experience Stow without the snow!! We are also delighted that you returned home safely.

Have a fantastic Christmas and we hope to see you again soon.

With warmest regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

I visited Number Four with my best friends for a belated birthday celebration last week.

When we arrived initial impressions were that the hotel looked nice but the location wasn't wow. From the minute we walked in the door we were transported to another world.

The hotel was warm and cosy, beautifully decorated and the staff at reception greeted us with very friendly smiles.

These friendly smiles were a feature throughout our stay from the staff and the owner, nothing was too much trouble and they all took the time to chat to us which we loved. We had requested that we watch the x factor final in the bar before dinner and they went out of their way to accomodate us which we really appreciated.

We went to neighbouring stow and bourton on the water by car, both were only 5 mins away.

The food in the restaurant was amazing and good value. We all loved what we ate without exception. Breakfast was also very high quality.

All in all whilst this hotel isn't situated in what you might call an idyllic country spot in the Cotswolds, it is very close to two beautiful villages, the restaurant is amazing and the staff really make it. I wouldn't hesitate in returning or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stum11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
We are delighted that you all had a fantastic weekend....we hope you were happy with the final X Factor results!!!

Thank you for writing such a great review, it is very much appreciated and has been passed on to all the team here at Number Four.

Have a fantastic Christmas and we hope to see you all again in the New Year.

With warmest regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Make no mistake this is an excellent place to stay. Arrived and we were upgraded to a suite - bedroom, sitting room and amazing bathroom with a huge bath. The place is spotless with high quality furnishings and lighting. Great flat screen TVs x 2. The staff are friendly, efficient and actually interested in their guests without being intrusive. A really good breakfast too - you won't need to eat for a long time afterwards!!

Overall Number Four deserves its place at the top of the list for hotels in Stow and the other reviews reflect entirely what the hotel is like. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewf1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that we had the opportunity to upgrade you. Your positive feedback has been passed onto the staff and as always is very much appreciated, thank you.

We hope you will come to stay at Number Four again very soon.
Wishing you both a very happy Christmas.

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We really liked our suite - very modern & clean, but with nice touches. Also thoroughly the food, both dinner & breakfast. Even little things were dealt with e.g. we prerequested non-feather pillows & they were there. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_and_K_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Thank you for coming to stay at our hotel and for sending such a positive review to trip advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We were upgraded on arrival to a suite and that gave us a seperate sitting room with our room. This was a great asset, and much appreciated. The rooms are spotless clean and well decorated, just a tad small though (not much space to move around the bed). We were on the top floor which is in the eves and has sloping ceilings. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, service very good and food good. The breakfast is excellent -cooked to order not buffet style and I prefer this. We also had an evening meal there - my starter of mussels was small and dissapointing but the meal as a whole was very good.
We would, and probably will, stay there again - you can't say fairer than that!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IfeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
We appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review on your recent stay at Number Four. Thank you for your positive comments. We are always looking at ways to improve what we offer at our hotel so all feedback is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing