We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, Beautiful Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Beautiful Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

Me and my wife (Andrew and Elizabeth) recently stayed here for two nights on the basis of it holding the No:1 slot on tripadvisor so it had a lot to live up to as we had high expectations.

It was our first stay away from our young daughter so really were looking for a place to be pampered a fair bit and a place to relax.

From arrival onwards we were welcomed by personnel that appeared genuinely happy to be working at this hotel which was a real refreshing change from what I have come to expect from regular business stay hotels and this was felt right the way through from front of house to waiter/waitress personnel.

The room we had in the hotel was clean and I don't just mean "ok" clean but spotless and shiny. Real care and attention had been paid to ensure the room was clean and this applied on arrival as well as throughout our stay.

The restaurant is well worth a visit. The food was exceptionally high quality and presented very well indeed. The icing of the stay for me and my wife.

In all - this hotel is perfect for a luxury pampering break in Stow on the Wold - perfect size, friendliness, food and cleanliness.

We will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andystone99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review which is very much appreciated. We are delighted that your first stay away from your baby was a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we do have a lovely family room (cots and baby essentials available!) if you wanted to bring the baby next time. We can also organise a babysitter to enable you to enjoy a relaxing dinner in Cutler's restaurant!

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    133
    35
    4
    6
See reviews for
121
612
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

We went to number 4 for a romantic weekend gettaway. The hotel was just what you'd expect in this price range / region - beautifully furnished and decorated; great, and very personal service; backed up by some top quality food and drink.
One quirk of the hotel is individual duvets for the double rooms - which is either great or rubbish depending on how long you've been with your other half.
Re location, yes this is on the outskirts of the village, but if you don't have a car whilst in the Cotswolds, you're not going to get up to much.
Overall, a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyW1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
We are both really pleased that you had an enjoyable weekend whilst staying at our hotel. Your comments have been passed on to the staff which is very much appreciated. Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking at ways to improve what we offer here at the hotel and we do now stock some kingsize duvets (available on request) !

We hope you will come and visit the Cotswolds and Number Four again very soon where we will assure you of a very warm welcome.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed at this hotel with a view to exploring the Cotswolds so were really looking for a base rather than a leisure experience. We were delighted to find that we had come across a real Gem. Number Four has all of the style and contemporary elegance you would expect from a London hotel. The specification of the fit out is of the highest standard with attention to every detail. The furnishings are contemporary with touches of quirky opulence.

we stayed in a standard room which was clean, well furnished and comfortable. The food is excellent and the owners give the service a personal touch. We would certainly use this hotel again.

Jayne Moore.
Worcestershire

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write on trip advisor following your recent stay at Number Four at Stow. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments have been passed on to the staff which as always is very much appreciated.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming back soon to explore more of the Cotswolds.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

For our anniversary my partner and I spent a wonderful Friday evening at this fabulous hotel. Unfortunately due to busy schedules we could only manage the one evening, I now wish that it could have been a long weekend. We’ve stayed in quite a few hotels in the Cotswolds over the years and I can vouch that this hotel truly deserves the rave reviews it has achieved and certainly does not deserve some of the ‘nit-picking’ ones. Someone I think complained of a boringly ‘beige’ restaurant – perhaps they were colour blind and can’t see the difference between beige, taupe, mushroom, pearl, cream and black! The decor in the restaurant is wonderfully subtle, stylish and is excellent for the digestion!

The suite we had was absolutely spotless and spacious. Once again the decor was contemporary and elegantly muted, so don’t come to this hotel if you want the ‘olde worlde’ feel or ‘old english’ charm. It isn’t like that and yet it is cosy. In the evening the very welcoming lounge/bar is dotted with glowing tealights in frosted holders, and the lighting in the dining room is also very warming. It was charming and welcoming. We had a drink in the bar before & after dinner, and chatted to the extremely friendly and attentive staff. The staff were brilliant and had that fabulous balance of being attentive without being ingratiating and knew just when to retreat and leave us to it.

The meal was absolutely super – every dish was fabulous - can’t say any more than that .

I rarely sleep well in a hotel but after the owner delivered armfuls of huge synthetic pillows (the ‘default’ ones were feather) I slept very soundly.

The breakfast was probably one of the best I’ve had in a hotel in the UK, from the hugely thick sliced white and granary toast to the ice cold freshly squeezed orange juice, quite simply faultless.

Thank you Number Four, hopefully when we are a little less busy we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
We are absolutely delighted that you had such a comfortable and enjoyable stay at our hotel. It is a great incentive for our staff to receive such good feedback and very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We now look forward to welcoming you back to the Cotswolds and Number Four very soon.....perhaps for our New Year's Celebrations if schedules allow!

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Had a lovely weekend here . Very friendly staff and Great rooms
A mile out of Stow on the wold , We got a taxi to a lovely near by Pub for Dinner

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you had a great weekend. Perhaps if you visit again we can tempt you to dine at Cutler's Restaurant! Although we are always very grateful for recommendations of nearby restaurants to pass on to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cotswolds very soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

Hotel Four at Stow is a real hidden gem, I was amazed at the quality of finishing throughout. the rooms are modern yet classic, the restaurant was very stylish and the staff are all very helpful. The owners Patrisha and Caroline (sisters) were very welcoming and gave great insight into things to do locally. The restaurant was as good as you'd get in any top major city... I'd imagine people travel from miles around eat here - Top class.

I don't hesitate in recommending Hotel Four. I look forward to me next visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyBickerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2010
Delighted to hear your had an enjoyable weekend staying at Number Four. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, it is very much appreciated.

Hope to see you back in the Cotswolds very soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

We couldn't fault the hotel from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The location was just what we were looking for with Stowe just a short stroll away. The warm welcome we received from all the staff was second to none, which made the whole experience very relaxing. The hotel was minimalistic with great sculptures and art work on show and the bedroom was very tastefully designed.
We were a little shocked at the prices of the dinner menu, however, once we tucked into the delicious cuisine it was well worth it, the food was amazing with some great combinations of flavours, thoroughly recommend to all who stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louiseluptonontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable weekend and your comments have been passed on to all the team here at Number Four.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing