We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Deja Vu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We returned to Number Four last month for our second visit in 9 months and weren't disappointed.
The staff again made us very welcome and Chef Brian even took the trouble to mingle with the Guests prior to dinner and make them feel valued......well done him.
Our room was clean, tidy and comfortable, and the complimentary bottle of red wine appreciated( for those booking direct).
The quality of food there is outstanding . We thoroughly enjoyed it. Enough said !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Your compliments on Trip Advisor are very much appeciated, thank you. We were delighted to welcome you back once again to our hotel and hope that we can look forward to many more visits from you in the future. Don't forget to request your free bottle of wine again when you make your next booking!

Warmest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    133
    35
    4
    6
See reviews for
121
612
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The rooms comfortable, clean and furnished to a high standard but maybe a tad on the smaller side. The staff are very welcoming and went the extra mile to ensure our stay was great. The breakfast was truly enjoyable. I would recommend a stay at number-four and you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFCBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor. All feedback is very much appreciated and we are delighted that your stay was a memorable one.

We now hope that you will return in the future and discover more of the beautiful Cotswolds.

With Kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Jane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We returned for a birthday gathering for second year in a row and had a great time. All the staff are so attentive and willing to go that extra mile. We would definitely recommend at stay here. Thanks again to all at No.4 you really do a good job

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJaneJ_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Number Four and we are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments which have been passed onto the staff, much appreciated.

We look forward to your return visit soon.

Kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have just come back from a weekend in the Cotswolds. This was our second visit to No.4 and we all had a great time. It is set in such beautiful surroundings and is the perfect location for touring the Cotswolds. Last year we booked a large table in the restaurant to accommodate us for my parents Ruby Anniversary. This year we did the same but we also all stayed at the Hotel. This was a lovely family gathering for my Mum's 70th Birthday. The attention to detail is excellent, the food in the restaurant was excellent, the quality of the room was excellent and the team at No.4 were excellent!!! We will be returning in the near future for sure! Thanks to all at No.4!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob-M-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor, this is very much appreciated especially from the team. It was a real pleasure to welcome you all once again to our hotel and we are delighted that the weekend was a success.

We now look forward to welcoming you all again very soon...(maybe even to visit The Cotswolds during the Christmas Season and to shop at some of the wonderful local boutiques and stores in the surrounding towns and villages!)

With warm regards to all the family
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

this hotel is a must to stay at stow. the staff were great. they were first class.the bedrooms were very taste fully furnished the food in the restaurant was excellent. we spent our golden wedding weekend there as a gift from our children.the staff were aware of this and they made our stay most enjoyable if in the Cotswolds don't go anywhere else but at number four.the standard is of a top class hotel 5 star thanks to all at the hotel

Room Tip: all the rooms are as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable celebration weekend with your family. It was a pleasure to have you as guests at our hotel and we now look forward to welcoming you back soon. Your review on Trip Advisor is very much appreciated and your compliments have been passed on to all the staff, thank you.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We found Number Four to be a lovely, newer boutique hotel with comfortable beds, wonderful linens and towels, great lighting and some very nice touches (a complimentary bottle of wine waiting in the refrigerator). Our room was smallish - it was difficult to walk around one side of the bed - but clean and comfortable. The hotel is not for people with limited mobility/difficulty with stairs but otherwise wonderful. In addition, the common spaces are warm and cozy and conducive to relaxing and reading.

The problem with Number Four (and what kept it from being a 'five') was that the check-in process can best be described as unwelcoming and snooty. We were greeted with "you gave us the wrong email address and we were unable to send you a confirmation". (In reality, we attempted repeatedly to provide our email address but the lady who took our reservation (over the telephone) had a strong accent and the exchange was frustrating). Further exchange at check-in can best be described as cold and dismissive and it resulted in our restaurant booking being 2 hours later than we'd requested. The lack of welcome at arrival set a tone for some disappointment. The restaurant food was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsRandoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post you review on Trip Advisor. It is from genuine feedback that we can measure the quality of service that we offer at our hotel and we are always looking at ways to improve on this so thank you for your comments and also your compliments.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Number Four in the future when we will assure you of a warm welcome and great service.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very clean rooms although a bit smallish; we were not in one of the suites. Nicely situated for touring the entire Cotswolds area. If you like something nice, quiet and a bit formal, then this is the place for you. If you are more outgoing, happy-go-lucky and laid back, you may find it a bit stiff. Dinner was quite tasty but again very formal with only the two of us dining at the time, and it was expensive. All staff were polite and friendly but reserved as opposed to outgoing and gregarious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We trust you had a safe trip home to the USA and enjoyed the remainder of your time in the UK. Thank you for your comments following your stay, your review is much appreciated. We do hope that, should you return to The Cotswolds in the future, we can have the plesure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing