We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great service, fantastic food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just got back from a four day stay at Number Four at Stow.
We had dinner bed and breakfast every day, and we were very happy with everything at the hotel. The owner kept a careful eye on things and was very accommodating and helpful. The rooms are immaculate and the standard of cleanliness is very high. The food was amazing - properly cooked and presented food obviously prepared by a trained professional chef with careful attention to detail. We would definitely return here and it's a great base to explore the Cotswolds from.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraint05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

We are delighted that you returned home safely following your trip to The Cotswolds. Thank you for posting such a complimentary review on Trip Advisor. This is very much appreciated by all the team here at Number Four.

We now hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 968 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our mini honeymoon and we had a lovely time. The owner was extremely welcoming and was always on hand tending to our every need. The hotel is of a very high quality, the beds are gorgeous and the breakfast and dinners in Cutlers Restaurant were delicious. It is an ideal location to explore the Cotswolds although slightly outside of Stow so it was a good 20 minute walk into the town. We would highly recommend the hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moffbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Once again, Congratulations to you both! It was a pleasure to meet you and we are so pleased that you had a memorable stay in The Cotswolds for your honeymoon. Thank you for your compliments on Trip Advisor, this is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps for your anniversary. In the meantime we do wish you a fantastic "2nd" honeymoon later in the year.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a short break to Cotswold and booked this hotel on phone after calling several hotels last minute. We booked a suite. The overall experience was excellent from start to finish . I was travelling with my 8 month old baby and we had a cot with lovely toys put in the room. There was a changing mat alongwith towels, nappy sacks , cotton balls, and sensitive skin cleansing wipes. That's a lot of careful thought and attention to detail. Good breakfast! The suite is no king suite of encore, las Vegas . But it was nice, comfortable with lovely modern bathroom. It was spacious enough as well. And service certainly surpasses many fine hotels. It is an excellent base for exploring northern Cotswold . A car is required though. I can't recommend it enough. Very efficiently run with nice friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you all to our hotel and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that as your daughter gets a bit older you will return as there are so many fabulous places to visit with children, such as the Cotswold Wildlife Park, which I am sure she will enjoy.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed one night, reminding ourselves how gorgeous the Cotswolds is. Number Four is a fantastic base to explore the Area. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable, though a little small. Given the good value on offer it would be worth paying a little extra to upgrade to a larger room. The welcome, particularly from the lady owner/manageress is warm and genuine. The food - both dinner and breakfast - is quite exceptional. Fresh, high quality ingredients, expertly and imaginatively prepared. As you would expect in good quality places they accommodate food intolerances well. More impressively, they proactively suggest alternatives and area really eager to please. Very well worth a visit

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the larger rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonmogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Your compliments are very much appreciated by us all at Number Four, thank you. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and we now look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights starting on the 31st July, ate in both nights and really enjoyed the whole stay. Road noise could have been a problem for us but if you mention it at booking they will let you know if your room could be affected. I have to say that all the staff were fantastic, so friendly and professional - they maintain very high standards but you feel totally relaxed as well. All areas were spotlessly clean and well maintained. No hesitation in highly recommending number 4

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChorleyStokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your complimentary review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us and a memorable dining experience at Cutler's Restaurant.
We do hope you will visit again soon, we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was recommended by the good folks at ONE THREE NINE in Bath and had much to recommend it. Its location in the Northern Cotswolds (AONB .. area of outstanding natural beauty) is also very near Moreton on Marsh and Stow on the Water. The buildings were "gutted" three years ago after the present owners bought it which made way for a very modern and comfortable 19 room hotel and the hotel's restaurant is one you will not soon forget. Good wine list and they offer a pris fixe with 3 courses. The lamb fillet was amazing. I started with the scallop and shrimp appetizer both nights we are there. Very fine hotel staff.

Room Tip: Some rooms may need to checked for road noise if the window remains open.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwest64373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

We hope you had a safe trip back to the USA. Thank you for posting you review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. We are delighted that you had such a memorable stay and enjoyed dining in Cutler's Restaurant. We hope that when you are next visiting the UK you will return to Number Four where a warm welcome awaits you.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Decent value given how overpriced many of the other Cotswolds hotels are. Rooms are fairly small, as are the double beds. But very modern, and clean. Breakfast was very pleasant with fruit salad, cereals, and option of full english breakfast included. The hotel is out of town but not a problem if you have a car.

Doors are thin so we were disturbed by other guests in the corridor late at night on both evenings of our stay. But if you are up and about early and need a decent place to stay this is a very reasonable option. Pleasant staff though no staff to help carry bags upstairs and no lift.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likest0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, your feedback is very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you again soon when you are next visiting the Cotswolds.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
347 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
562 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,091 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $203 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing