We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our Friday night quest to find the best restaurants near our home in Upper Rissington continues apace and we think we may have found the very best, within just a few miles from our home. The very first impressions on entering Number Four at Stow are of a building that has been very tastefully planned and decorated, it absolutely oozes class. We were shown to a lovely seating area with comfy sofas to peruse the wine list and menu. After pre-dinner drinks we were shown to our table in the restaurant, we started with starters of salmon and oysters, both delicious. The main course of medallions of venison was possibly the best we have ever had, absolutely gorgeous. The staff were both friendly and attentive, possibly a tad over attentive but this would be a very, very small gripe. This is an extremely good restaurant serving wonderful food of the highest order in an absolutely spotless atmosphere, cheap it ain't, but very good it most certainly is. It is no surprise that it scores so many 'excellents' in TripAdvisor reviews, and these are very well earned. We would highly recommend you visit if in the area, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank julesontour_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Cutler's Restaurant last friday and we are so pleased to receive your positive feedback following your dining experience, thank you.

We now look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

With warmest regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 986 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Location some distance from town and a good walk up a steep hill. You need to be mobile and reasonably fit to walk there! Front of hotel very nice and bar and restaurant areas quite tastefully decorated. However the bedrooms are very small for the money and the finish to the wardrobes and doors are very poor and jar badly with the boutique image the hotel tries to purvey. Bathroom tiny and not the most inviting! It's comfortable and ok but not value for money at all. £90 a night would be more like it. Finally the hotel is situated in a fork in a very busy road so if you have a room with a view of the garden you will have quite heavy traffic noise as well even with the window shut. Or for a room with less noise there is no view!
Staff are polite and friendly.
Overall I'm afraid we were rather disappointed by the accommodation and location for £140 per night B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crozza2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor and for your compliments with regards the service and staff. We are of course disappointed that our rooms did not meet with your expectations as we have completely refurbished the hotel a few years ago to offer comfortable and modern rooms and bathrooms with airconditioning. We do also have a few suites which offer more spacious accommodation including an adjoining lounge which may suit guests wanting more space.

We do hope however, that should you be visiting the Cotswolds in the future that you may decide to visit Number Four once again perhaps to dine in Cutler's Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just spent four nights at Number Four. Great hospitality from very friendly and well trained staff. Room very quiet with no traffic noise and simply excellent food from a chef who takes time to talk with customers. If you want a touch of luxury with food to match without it being pretentious, then this is the place to have a restful break when visiting the Cotswolds. The rooms are not large but well furnished and the Super king bed was very comfortable with two single duvets as per the German style. We enjoyed the dinner on the first night and subsequently dined in on all four nights.We managed to visit Chedworth Roman Villa, Chastleton House, Newark Park and Gloucester before stopping off at Dyrham Park on the way home.

Room Tip: We had an inward looking room without a view which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleggyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

It is great to hear that you managed to visit so many of the stunning places that are situated in The Cotswolds during you stay with us here at Number Four. Your compliments following your experience at our hotel are very much appreciated, thank you.

We do hope that we can welcome you back in the future to perhaps tick a few more places of interest off the list or to simply relax and enjoy more good food!

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stopped at Number 4 for three nights while visiting the Cotswolds. The hotel is immaculate and no detail is missed, we arrived early and left our luggage while we went off exploring the area. The management and staff are very friendly and knowledgable about the area. Staff always took time to ask about your day and where you had visited. Room reasonable size with a nice comfy bed and air conditioning. The bar area as the hotel is spotless and a nice relaxing area to have a drink before and after dining.
The hotel restaurant (Cutlers) is of a very high standard, good menu choice. We ate two of the three nights we stayed and both were excellent. Brian the chef also took time to talk to the customers.
If we visit this area again we will be stopping at Number 4 At Stow. Great location, great hotel, great restaurant.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel whilst visiting The Cotswolds. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, this is very much appreciated and your compliments have been passed on to all the team.

We now look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

On arrival we got a very friendly welcome and efficient, no-fuss check in - this process can make or break a guest's impression of a hotel, and these people got it right. The public rooms and the bedroom were immaculate, the bedroom having everything that anyone would need, including a big and supremely comfortable bed.
Dinner in the restaurant really was top class; the chef clearly knows what he's doing. The modestly sized menu is well thought-out, with ample choice to suit everyone's taste. Service was perfect - it's a rarity these days to have staff who have been properly trained and, as a result, are polite, cheerful and knowledgeable about the dishes being offered. The wine list has been carefully worked out - it's not a pretentious encyclopaedia, as some high-end restaurants seem to favour - and, like the food, is not over priced.
If you're looking for 'ye Olde Worlde Cotswold charm', which often involves single glazing, old narrow beds and dodgy plumbing, then perhaps this might not fit the bill. But if you want a comfortable, clean and friendly hotel, run by very professional people, with an excellent restaurant, then there probably isn't anywhere else in the Cotswolds that can match this one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you very much for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at our hotel. We really do appreciate your feedback and this has been passed on to the team.
Hopefully you will come and visit us again if returning to The Cotswolds in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed a on a short Cotswold break to celebrate a birthday. Lovely base to explore this beautiful area from. Our room, although on the smaller side was comfortable with everything we needed. Although the hotel is near a main road we didn't find that this was a problem and weren't disturbed by traffic. The standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel is high and we particularly liked the touch of having a fridge rather than an overpriced minibar. Without exception the staff were friendly and approachable and provide a level of service which was pitched at just the right level. Breakfast was lovely. Well cooked with a good choice. I particularly liked the homemade muesli.

Stow has a good range of restaurants, but the hotel restaurant serves beautiful food cooked to a high standard and we would highly recommend eating in the hotel at least once. The mushrooms with prawns was delicious, but I became rather envious of my husbands confit of salmon. The venison and steak tasted divine and the puds didn't disappoint. The restaurant closes on Sunday evening, but Sunday lunch appeared popular with the locals and there is a range of food available in the evening if you are still hungry.

Overall a lovely location, great hotel and excellent food. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gem012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable visit to Number Four to celebrate your birthday. Your compliments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to all the staff here at Number Four, thank you.

We now hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Visited with my family for my birthday, had an excellent 3 days. Rooms very clean and to a very high standard, fully air conditioned and well equipped. We ate in the Resturant on 2 evenings, both were excellent. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great friendly hotel in the Cotswolds.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We are delighted that you had a memorable visit to Number Four to celebrate your birthday recently. It is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you all again soon.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
374 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,488 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,086 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $131 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing