We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remarkable in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Remarkable in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Location, scenery, and food are all great, but it's their outstanding service that sets them apart.
The toilet flush in our room broke down. These things happen -it's how they're handled that matters. Caroline at Number 4 was impeccable in her kindness and attention to us -and despite being fully booked, she arranged another room for us (a suite) at no additional cost.

We have good memories of a wonderful experience, thank you. We'll stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 787jorged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Number Four whilst visiting The Cotswolds. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for posting your compliments onTrip Advisor. This is always very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    132
    35
    4
    6
See reviews for
121
611
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a lovely hotel which has a warm cosy feel but stylish and modern at the same time. Service is first rate and very personable. Breakfast was fantastic. We also ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was excellent. Would definitely recommend perfect for the races.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babychickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Number Four during Cheltenham Festival. We hope you had a great week and perhaps we can look forward to welcoming you back again for the next race meeting or just to relax and enjoy the beautiful Cotswolds.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our second visit to Number Four and our expectations were high as the previous visit had been excellent. The hotel is a privately owned location about five minutes drive from Stow on the Wold. The welcome is genuinely warm and the ambience very pleasant, Last time we had a suite and this time just took a double room - have a suite for preference, I found the room just a bit on the small side. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable - nice big beds, good quality pillows and towels (an improvement compared with our last visit) and good toiletries. The public lounge area is very pleasant and comfortable and the bar and tea service prompt and efficient. It's also really nice to be addressed by your name - they make an effort at that and it's very pleasing as it makes you feel recognised and valued. Dinner in the restaurant was fine - it is as they describe it: not a fine dining experience, but good,well produced and cooked food. The wine list as I have said in my previous review is skewed to the more expensive end which if it was fine dining would be OK but I am not sure that the food at £20 for a main course merits wine at £80 or more to go with it! You can drink for less, but the choice is narrow. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked - no pig lamps! Service at dinner and breakfast was very good and the generally friendly but professional approach pervaded the whole experience. What would I like to change? Nowhere is perfect and my wife and I both agreed that a dress code in the dining room would avoid the jeans and trainers people and that there should be a 'no mobile phones' rule in the dining room, too - we saw one person texting all the time a waitress was trying to speak to her - horrible!

Overall, I recommend this place highly: good value for money and a very pleasant and positive guest experience.

Room Tip: If you can jutify the additiional price, the suites are really nice. Some fo the rooms are roadside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westyorkshireman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are both delighted you chose to stay at Number Four again and thank you for taking the time to pass on your compliments via Trip Advisor. We are always very appreciative of constructive feedback, thank you, as this enables us to continue to improve on what we offer at our hotel.

We now look forward to welcoming you hopefully for your 3rd visit very soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
149 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife arranged a surprise stay for myself and family for a small birthday celebration.
Everything about the weekend was perfect, mainly due to service provided at this hotel .

The accomodation is of a very high standard and the food choice and quality was superb. What differentiates this hotel is the exceptional level of customer service. Nothing was too much trouble , they did everything possible to make our stay an enjoyable one.

The hotel is that good it can be best summed up by one of our party who asked , ' if Alex Politzi of TV "s hotel inspector fame was to visit what improvements would she make ? " Our unanimous answer was the she would be very impressed and would be unable to recommend any improvements .

It really is that good- we will definitely be paying further visits .

Room Tip: The suites have best views over the Cotswolds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redditchtraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments following your stay at Number Four. We are very fortunate to have a great team here and your comments have been passed on to them which is very much appreciated.

We now look forward to welcoming you and the family back very soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford Upon Avon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed one night with dinner Wednesday 27th March 2013 as a birthday treat for hubbys 50th. The hotel is a really lovely boutique hotel. Modern, light, airy and beautifully decorated. Ambience very relaxing and low key (hubby loved the birthday message on the side of his desert plate in chocolate and NO singing...just right!!) Service with lots of smiles couldnt be faulted and the evening meal was very high quality and absolutely delicious. Breakfast lovely too with big selection of fruit as well as full english choices. Our room was perfect and super clean with all the extra touches that make a hotel stay worth writing a review of... loads of fluffy towels, lovely toiletries, big flat screen on wall, fridge, hairdryer, big VERY comfy bed and 2 single duvets (liked this!). Our one night stay with evening meal and breakfast cost £170 which we thought was good value for what was a real treat!

Room Tip: Our room faced the garden area and was pretty quiet. I imagine any on the road would be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewmansWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your birthday celebrations whilst staying at Number Four. Thank you for your very positive comments which we have passed on to the staff.

The weather has finally warmed up in The Cotswolds so hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed just for a night to celebrate 2 birthdays - we will return. The welcome was very warm, the rooms cosy and clean, and the food was excellent. Really good cooking - way above expectation. The hotel was buzzing and the service was faultless - we were served by an austrian lady who could not have been more attentive. A real find and well placed for exploring the cotswolds. Ample parking too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, this is very much appreciated. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay and now look forward to welcoming you all again in the near future.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had a two night stay which was most enjoyable. Food was gorgeous and the levels of customer service was faultless. The rooms though a little small were the cleanest I have ever stayed in. The whole ambiance is one of relaxation and would gladly stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your visit to The Cotswolds. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience here and much appreciate your positive feedback which has been passed onto the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing