We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very comfortable. Delicious food, excellent chef. You need to have dinner there more than once as great choice, varied menu and all very good. Wines good too. It is evident how much personal investment, care and attention to detail the owners have put into this hotel.
Only slight problem was breakfast ends at 10am which can be a bit of pressure at weekend. However, well worth getting up for!

Room Tip: Only tried one room. Ours had twin mattresses rather than double mattress which was not a problem fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. Your compliments have been passed onto the staff and very much appreciated. We are so pleased that your dining experiences were enjoyable and hope you will have the opportunity to return to The Cotswolds again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Number Four soon.

With best regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 984 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary by dining at Number Four for the first time even though we live locally. Number Four and it's staff made out evening memorable from the time we arrived until the time we left. We were greeted as if we were long lost friends annd felt very much at home. The Staff were helpful, friendly and courteous. The Menu was varied and well thought out. The food was out of this world, a gastronomic experience to be sure ! Brian, the Chef, is indeed passionate about his cusine and this refected in the presentation and preparation of our meal. We shall be returning again -- SOON !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

We are so pleased that you chose to dine at Cutler's Restaurant for your anniversary. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor, much appreciated.

We now look forward to welcoming you back very soon, perhaps to sample our Traditional Sunday Lunch...!

With best regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

From the moment we entered the hotel we were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble. we booked a suite and it was a super room, very comfy bed and huge deep relaxing bath. We also booked our evening meal in the restaurant and the food was superb.

In the morning the breakfast was also more than we could have hoped and set us up perfectly for our day.

Many thanks to all the people that made my 1st wedding anniversary perfect for my very particular wife!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevebryan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

We are delighted that you chose to stay at our hotel to celebrate your 1st Anniversary and thay you both had such an enjoyable time here in The Cotswolds. Thank you for sending in your review. This is always very much appreciated by us and our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, perhaps in the spring when the snow has gone!

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Number Four on Saturday night to celebrate my husband's birthday. We had a lovely time; the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Our room was spotless and the decor was very nice and restful. Our room (104) was on the ground floor and had a lovely view over the hills. The bathroom was small and functional but again spotlessly clean and had great towels. We could hear a little traffic noise but not enough to disturb us.

We ate dinner at their restaurant Cutlers and the food was fantastic. My husband and I are pretty hard to please with food (keen cooks and eaters) but were very impressed by the food at Cutlers. The food was beautifully cooked and presented and truly delicious. My John Dory with pan fried gnocci in an orange butter sauce was a particular highlight although all three courses were top notch, no complaints, even the bread was wonderful. One of the best meals we had had in a while. Breakfast was also delicious and cooked to order.

Number Four is a little way out of Stow and is on a busy road but is surprisingly good once you step inside and the quality of service is next to none. We hope to return and will recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - the view is great and you are a little further away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulip74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your birthday weekend at our hotel and thank you for choosing Number Four for your celebrations. Your feedback on Trip Advisor is very much appreciated.

We now look forward to welcoming you both back again soon and also your friends!

With warmest regards
Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at No.4@Stow! Our room was beautifully appointed and perfectly spotless. Our lasting impression will be the warm welcome, the professionalism of ALL the staff, and the fantastic dinner and breakfast. The dining room has a very relaxing atmosphere, with log burning stove and tranquil decor. We will most definitely be recommending this boutique hotel to our friends and family. Thank you for a memorable time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We are both very pleased to hear that your stay at Number Four was so enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your feedback with Trip Advisor, this is very much appreciated. Your compliments have been passed on to all the staff.

We look forward to welcoming back again soon.

With warmest regards
Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Drove through the snow to this enchanted place, enjoyed an excellent dinner prepared with talent out of fresh local products.
All was perfect, extremely warm welcome and friendly staff.
Clear and nice room, with a very comfortable bed. Loved the place and will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylvie Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and dining experience at our hotel during your recent visit to The Cotswolds. Thank you for your compliments on Trip Advisor.

We certainly hope we can welcome you back soon...the weather has much improved although "Stow in the Snow" is a very beautiful place to visit!

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Me & my partner have just come back from a night stay in this lovely hotel. My stay was to celebrate my birthday. The weather was awful but the welcome from this hotel made up for that....the service is very impressive. We eat in the restaurant for dinner & breakfast & both occassions the food was amazing......& the staff were so polite & attentive.......

Next time we are in Stow we will defin come back ....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iveco01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for reviewing Number Four following your stay In The snowy Cotswolds. Your compliments are much appreciated and have been passed on to the team here. We do hope you will find the opportunity to return, perhaps in the spring, to experience more of what the area has to offer.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
285 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,487 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,083 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $130 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing