We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at No.4@Stow! Our room was beautifully appointed and perfectly spotless. Our lasting impression will be the warm welcome, the professionalism of ALL the staff, and the fantastic dinner and breakfast. The dining room has a very relaxing atmosphere, with log burning stove and tranquil decor. We will most definitely be recommending this boutique hotel to our friends and family. Thank you for a memorable time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We are both very pleased to hear that your stay at Number Four was so enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your feedback with Trip Advisor, this is very much appreciated. Your compliments have been passed on to all the staff.

We look forward to welcoming back again soon.

With warmest regards
Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 989 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Drove through the snow to this enchanted place, enjoyed an excellent dinner prepared with talent out of fresh local products.
All was perfect, extremely warm welcome and friendly staff.
Clear and nice room, with a very comfortable bed. Loved the place and will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylvie Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and dining experience at our hotel during your recent visit to The Cotswolds. Thank you for your compliments on Trip Advisor.

We certainly hope we can welcome you back soon...the weather has much improved although "Stow in the Snow" is a very beautiful place to visit!

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Me & my partner have just come back from a night stay in this lovely hotel. My stay was to celebrate my birthday. The weather was awful but the welcome from this hotel made up for that....the service is very impressive. We eat in the restaurant for dinner & breakfast & both occassions the food was amazing......& the staff were so polite & attentive.......

Next time we are in Stow we will defin come back ....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iveco01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for reviewing Number Four following your stay In The snowy Cotswolds. Your compliments are much appreciated and have been passed on to the team here. We do hope you will find the opportunity to return, perhaps in the spring, to experience more of what the area has to offer.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Absolutely impressed with my recent stay. The staff are friendly and caring. Room 102 is like new. Comfy bed, clean, tidy bathroom and loads of tv channels. The restaurant for breakfast and dinner is simply sublime! Fresh ingredients, precise preparation and the chef's clear passion for quality food left me coming back for more. Unfortunately, had to leave early due to poor weather 17/18 January. However already figuring out when I am returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Number Four. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We hope you didn't suffer too much
from the snow after you left The Cotswolds and enjoyed the remainder of your trip.

We hope to welcome you back to Number Four soon...the weather has now improved!

Kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I spent several nights in the hotel in late October. The staff was courteous and responsive. They were especially helpful when it came to nearby areas of interest and directions. The room we had was very clean and the bathroom was clean and modern. We ate dinner at the inn one evening and had breakfast in the dining room on several mornings. The room we had was VERY SMALL. My husband and I were not able to move about the room at the same time. We finally gave up and took turns sitting in the one chair in the room while the other completed their tasks. The dinner was good and the wine selection was good. It was not the best meal we had while on vacation in England but it was certainly not the worse. The breakfast was a completely English affair and it was well done. The bar was small and friendly but not very well stocked. The hotel is located at the crossroad of two busy local roads. This is great for traveling about the region but a little too busy for walking into town. Our room was at the back of the hotel and we were not bothered by road noise. We were able to hear other guests in the corridor and in the adjacent rooms. These noises did not disturb our rest. We would recommend this hotel to others with the above short comings noted and would have rated the hotel a 3.5 if that rating had been available.

Room Tip: Opt for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback following your stay at our hotel. We are of course delighted that you enjoyed your time whilst visitiing The Cotswolds. As well as double rooms we do also have a limited number of suites available which have a seperate lounge and dressing area which may be more suitable for a longer stay.
We do hope to welcome you back to Number Four when you are visiting the UK again and please do contact us so we can assure you of our best attention.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went in tonight for a meal whilst staying in Bourton on the Water. Service, attentiveness of staff and quality of food, choice of wine second to none. Well impressed and we eat out a lot. Very relaxed friendly atmosphere makes you look forward to going back. Thank you all for a lovely evening

Room Tip: didn't book in but the owner was kind enough to show us a room which looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

We are very pleased you came to dine at Cutler's at Number Four during your stay in the Cotswolds. Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments, this is always very much appreciated. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back soon and maybe even to stay!

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed again at Number 4 this time for New Years Eve and once again were not disappointed
The welcome from Tricia and her team was warm, the ambience perfect and once again Brian's food was superb, to experience his canapes is not to be missed!
We will be back.....thanks again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at our hotel and spending New Year at Number Four. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the evening as much as we did and thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor.

We both look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warmest wishes

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
382 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,104 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
307 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
481 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $103 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing