We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant”
Review of The Vine Leaf - CLOSED

The Vine Leaf
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We have closed the Vine Leaf whilst we seek a bigger premises. Please like us on facebook to keep informed with what is happening
brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Slightly hidden away in Stow is The Vine Leaf... worth searching out.
Nothing too fancy but good quality home cooked food , relaxing decor and attentive friendly staff who are happy to chat about their food and life in general... Oh and amazing value with 2 courses for £12 and a complimentary bottle of water. Will return when in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    88
    16
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good find!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were in Stow as visitors to the area and were looking for somewhere to eat for lunch. There were quite a few places to choose from and we stumbled across the Vine Leaf by pure chance. It did not disappoint in any way whatsoever. The service was excellent and the food was delicious, especially the strawberry cheesecake! If we are ever in the area again we will definitely return for more of the same.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JanWKentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best to book a table”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a small restaurant with excellent food and service so if you are set on eating here, book in advance. The daily 2-3 course dinner changes daily. We had ordered the lasagna, which they were out of. The waitress suggested the spaghetti as a substitute and it was excellent so we were not disappointed. I don't think you can go wrong with your food choice here!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CAKath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We visited this place on a sunny afternoon for a glass of wine. The owner who served us was warm and friendly. It was pleasant to be able to sit out. Her pleasant manner persuaded us to take a look at the evening menu. The choice which was offered was great and much to our liking.
On return that evening we were pleasantly surprised that they were offering a two course special at a good price which my husband thoroughly enjoyed whilst I had been sold on the seafood and fish dish which was great value and delicious. A good selection of wines were offered at reasonable prices and we enjoyed a very pleasant bottle of white.
The restaurant is tucked away in a small arcade by the visitor centre but well worth checking out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a great surprise.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We didn't want to eat in our hotel so we wandered around Stow and stumbled upon The Vine Leaf. We went there with no particular expectations and ended up having a terrific dinner for two. Friendly, welcoming people and good, good food. Without question the best meal we've enjoyed in Britain in 3 weeks here. We'd highly recommend it to anybody.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vine Leaf also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Enfield, Greater London
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing