We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Felt like home, but even better!”
other travelers have booked this property
The light and spacious living room, with a Jotul log burner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The light and spacious living room, with a Jotul log burner
Comfortable seating and lovely Cotswolds character A lovely space to relax with family and friends
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The light and spacious living room, with a Jotul log burner
Comfortable seating and lovely Cotswolds character
A lovely space to relax with family and friends
The sociable dining table can seat 10 guests
Relax and unwind after a day exploring the Cotswolds!
The large, well equipped, galley style kitchen
Ideal for home cooking!
Bedroom 1, which can be made up as either two single beds or a super king size bed
A bright and stylish bedroom
With lovely views towards Stow's historic market square
On the second floor, adjoining bedroom 2, the landing has sleeping space for two guests
The view from the back window, across the garden, to the Bolt Hole
The stunning master bedroom, in the main house, with a king size bed
A well proportioned and stylish room
The family bathroom, in the main house, contains a bath with overhead shower, toilet and wash basin
The sun room, perfect for whiling away an afternoon!
A lovely spot for al fresco dining
The beautiful country garden
Looking back to the main house from the end of the garden
The path through the garden to the Bolt Hole
The Bolt Hole, above the double garage space
The living room in the Bolt Hole contains two single sofa beds
A modern, stylish room
The two single sofa beds made up as a beds
The shelves separate the living space and the bedroom
The Bolt Hole's bedroom can be set up as either two singles or a super king size bed
The well-presented Bolt Hole kitchen
The Bolt Hole's ensuite bathroom, with a bath with overhead shower, toilet and wash basin
The beautiful Steps Cottage, in Stow-on-the-Wold
View of the main house, heading from the market square
Stow-on-the-Wold is a picturesque, historic market town
Stow's lovely market square, centred around an ancient stone cross
One of Stow's many traditional pubs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
courtneyp...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt like home, but even better!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Steps Cottage was like a miniature paradise! I came from the United States to celebrate my birthday with my family in Stow, and I found Steps Cottage to be absolutely enchanting. Every last detail and creature-comfort was provided. I am a huge fan of upscale~luxury amenities, and Steps Cottage provided them all (especially the kitchen, bathrooms, and bed and bath linens). The cottage has been very thoughtfully planned and the comfort, luxury, conveniences, and design, all made for a flawless stay. The location is ideally suited for walks, access to shops, pubs, and the like, which are literally right outside your door. The quality of the cottage was exceptional and the annex was an added treat. The "sun trap" garden was a birthday gift in itself, and the cottage, while being located right in town, was amazingly quiet at night. (Waking up to the sound of church bells at night was magical!) My family and I could tell that great care and love had been put into the cottage by its thoughtful owners, and we look forward to returning again and again. In the meantime, we will recommend it highly to our friends in the UK and in the USA. Thank you, thank you!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A true home-away-from-home. Every last detail and comfort was provided.
Liked least: Nothing.............it was perfect!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9BobbyW
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything you could need taken care of”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Steps cottage is perfectly located at the top of the high street. Plus despite its central location it had a quiet enclosed garden which was a lovely sun trap. We stayed for three nights the first weekend in June 2013 and would definitely book again.

The property is filled with everything you could need for your stay and more. Our party consisted of three couples with one child and three babies and there was plenty of room for everyone with cot beds and high chairs provided which made a massive difference when packing the car! There was parking for three cars too which was also a big plus when you've got prams and kids to unload.

The cottage was pristine, well equipped and made for an extremely comfortable stay. I would happily return again.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities and the comfort
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location fantastic & I've never stayed in such a well equipped house!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Please pass on our sincere thanks to the owner; we all loved the cottage and found the location to be perfect. I've never stayed in such a well equipped house! It literally has everything :) The wine and cake was also a very sweet welcome...

The owner kindly allowed us a late check out on Monday too, which was very nice of her. Other than the leaking boiler, we really couldn't fault the cottage... I'll definitely be recommending it to friends and family! :)

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, fully equipped, homely
Liked least: Temporary problem with the boiler, landing beds a little short
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliaR838
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful cosy cottage for a relaxing country break”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time in Steps Cottage as a group of girls looking for a relaxing weekend in the countryside. The house was lovely - very homely and well equipped, with fanstastic little features like the wood burner and smart Tv, and a delicious cake on arrival. It is perfectly located near to the town centre and Tesco, whilst being easy to find with off road parking too. I also received a very comprehensive information package prior to arrival so knew exactly what to expect. The service we received when we had a technical issue with the doorknob in the living room was also prompt and helpful. I know that several friends have already booked cottages with your company after their experiences in the cottage and from our recommendations. Thank you so much for providing such a fantastic service.

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home way from home
Liked least: We would have loved an additional DVD player in the living room
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsea0
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy Christmas in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Steps cottage. It was well equipped and in a great location, just a short walk into the village and also to the large Tesco on the outskirts of town. Our stay was for Christmas week and the owner had put up a Christmas tree and other decorations to make it very festive for our stay. The welcome cake and champagne were also lovely touches. It was heated well enough that we did not need to use the wood burning heater at all and was large enough for a family of 5 ( including 3 teenagers) to watch tv and sleep comfortably. I would highly recommend Steps cottage as a great place to stay to discover Stow on the Wold and the rest of the Cotswolds, especially in winter.

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome champagne and cake and the Christmas decorations throughout the cottage.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phudgens
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wondeful place to explore the Cotswolds from”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit at the Steps Cottage. The Cottage itself was beautiful and a great base from which to explore the surrounding villages. I look forward to hopefully coming back soon.

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location right on the High Street in Stow on the Wold
Liked least: Bedrooms were a bit smaller than expected but still plenty of space
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing