We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Impressive, master bedroom in the eaves
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Impressive, master bedroom in the eaves
The Crook, Stow-on-the-Wold Modern log burner for those winter evenings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Impressive, master bedroom in the eaves
The Crook, Stow-on-the-Wold
Modern log burner for those winter evenings
The cosy living room, ideal for 6 +2 on spare chairs
Spacious kitchen
The dinner table for eight
Reverse view of the kitchen
The beautiful, private courtyard
Quality outdoor furniture for relaxing
The fire pit (not a BBQ, that is provided separately)
Magnificent, designer bedroom
Stylish finishes
Rear double bedroom, with a king size bed
The eaves bedroom and the master bedroom are adjoining
The +2 eaves room, perfect for children (the beds are 75cm wide and do not push together)
Shower and bath
Modern bathroom
Modern furniture
Well, it is located on Sheep Street!
The Crook
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is the second time of a family celebration visit. How can we find any fault? Very clean. Little extras in the cupboards. We visited as a family - 5 adults & 3 children. The property itself is brilliantly placed to walk to pubs restaurants & shops. We all had a brilliant time and found nothing whatsoever to complain about, thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic bolt hole, with loads of space for more than one family in beautiful Stow on the Wold.”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Crook doesn't look imposing from the front, and although parking can be a little difficult right outside the front door especially if you're transporting 7 tonnes of luggage required for a toddler, you quickly forgive the challenges when you walk through the front door. It's a charming front to back property that has everything you could possibly need. We were greeted with some thoughtful gifts on the table and then went exploring... I did get a little confused when I couldn't find the 3rd and 4th bedrooms, but my wife was quick to point out my blindness with the stairs in to the loft hidden behind a door on the first floor landing! Just as a watch out - I am 6'4" and we opted for the top room but it can be challenging on headroom, especially after a glass of wine or two.

We stayed over the NY period with friends from Australia and Wales, and I can't say anything more than it was worth every penny! Highly recommended as a base if you want to explore the Cotswolds, and Stow has some lovely pubs within walking distance - The Sheep and the Porch House to name but two...

You won't be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in a beautiful town”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful weekend stay at the Crook. The house was very well appointed and suited us perfectly. The living space was ideal for long meals sitting around the kitchen table and lazy afternoons by the fire. Stow on the Wold is a lovely town and we had a great day at Daylesford.

We would definitely recommend the Crook for a Cotswold getaway.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip S
Almeria, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A weekend in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed May 12, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely cottage with an country feel and modern kitchen and bathroom appliances. Two nice double bedrooms on the first floor. On the second floor there's a lovely big double bedroom but the fourth room is not really independent so only suitable for children of the couple staying in the double. A nice patio garden with table and chairs and BBQ.

We were made to feel very welcome on our arrival and settled in for a fantastic weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey s
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

It was absolutely fantastic, gorgeous cottage enjoyed by all. Great location, surrounded by lovely inns, shops and tea rooms. x

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travellin...
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute Characterful Cottage”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have returned today following a lovely four day break with two friends and our babies. The cottage itself is clean, tidy and you have everything you need (and if not you are in the middle of a beautiful market town with very friendly people). The kitchen is huge and great for 6+ people to enjoy whilst the lounge is cosy snug to relax in whilst
enjoying the log burner. The cottage is OLD and not lived in therefore you should expect to have some problems but I couldn't find any! I would say if you are looking for somewhere to sleep 8 Adults you should look at the floor plan as it is more suitable for 3 couples + 2 children as forth room is off the main room on top floor.
Great stay. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan P
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage but not so lovely customer sevice”
Reviewed November 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here as a family of seven adults for a birthday celebration. The cottage is pretty and welcoming. The kitchen is super and also the three main bedrooms. However beware of the pictures as the sitting room in particular is small for 8 adults. The small bedroom with the badly stained carpet is not suitable for adults. We had a few niggles during our stay, one of which was dealt with by housekeeping. However, other queries had previously been logged in the guest book; the cooling fridge did not work. It was no consolation to us that it would be fixed the day after we left. The 5 slate placemats were dirty so was the upstairs toilet. Housekeeping informed me that the chimney sweepers had used the toilet. Why not the
downstairs toilet? Stow is beautiful and we enjoyed our few days there.
This cottage is expensive and I should not have expected a lengthy dismissive email from housekeeping whose job it is after all to make sure it lives up to its description.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2014
Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages.

The following is written by the professional property manager, as appointed by the property owners:

"As we work so hard to ensure that every property is prepared to a high standard, it is disappointing to hear a negative comment about one of our homes. This is especially difficult when we are not made aware of some of the problems until after the guests’ departure. This party called on Friday night to report that the fridge was not working, and that there was also a problem with the wine cooler. As always, we acted swiftly and a maintenance person attended on Saturday morning, and found the fridge to be working perfectly well. The wine cooler, however, was not, and could not immediately be fixed. It was checked by a specialist engineer on the Monday morning, and has to be replaced. With a perfectly working fridge, this should not have been a problem for the guests.

When we received notification of the other issues raised, (after the guests’ departure) we investigated each point and spoke with the relevant parties. The housekeeping team had missed checking the placemats, for which they apologised. On checking the maintenance schedule, it was discovered that the chimney sweeping company had attended after the housekeeping team had prepared the house. Whilst there, the sweeps admitted using the toilets, which was clearly not acceptable. We have since instructed all maintenance contractors that none of the properties’ facilities are to be used at any time. Further, we visited the house and checked/tested all the appliances – aside from the already notified broken wine cooler, all of them worked correctly. It is fairly common for some guests to occasionally have difficulty with operating some appliances, and for that reason, we leave all instruction manuals at each home.

The carpet in the bedroom was unfortunately stained by a previous party and, as the carpet is not able to be cleaned, will be replaced.

As for the guest comment about the fourth bedroom being unsuitable for adults, she is quite correct. However, it is clearly listed on the Character Cottages website that this room ‘contains two small single beds (75cm wide). A particular feature of this room, which makes it ideal for younger children, is that the door from bedroom 3 can be safely shut but left open at the top, so that adults in bedroom 3 can keep an eye on the children in bedroom 4’.

Booking a property for eight adults, when it is clearly advertised and furnished as being only suitable for six, plus two children, must have been an oversight on the guests’ part. Therefore, this criticism of the property is entirely unjustified."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing