We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special B and B in glorious Painswick”
Review of St Michael's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St Michael's
Ranked #4 of 12 Painswick B&B and Inns
chippenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very special B and B in glorious Painswick”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Four very happy nights spent at this stylish establishment,very characterfull and breakfasts to die for.
Very charming and attentive staff,nothing was to much trouble.
Painswick is situated in the southern Cotswolds, a much under rated area.It is in my oppinion one of the most beautyful and interesting parts of the uk. The veiw from the hill fort on Painswick Beacon is just stunning.

Room Tip: The two rooms at the front of the house have wonderfull veiws of the church and its 99 yew trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
57
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Your B&B experience will be dependent upon the proprietors fanciful decision on whether they decide to operate their property as a business or as a family home on the day of your check-in. Please also note that the B&B and restaurant operate independently - I assume because the latter is operated in a professional manner, whilst the B&B service is inefficient, lacking in both customer service & responsibility towards the customer. Booked & paid for this B&B on 21/7/12 for 1 night stay on 19/8/12 & we arrived at the premises at 13.30 pm as their website stated check-in times of 13.00-15.00 or 18.00-22.00 to discover nobody at the premises & having contacted their website telephone no. was informed that they were not available & appreciate that they have 2 small children & it is sometimes chaotic, but leave a message & they will call you back or alternatively contact them on a second tel. no. provided, which we did numerous times but nobody answered. The restaurant staff next door were extremely helpful in trying to assist us in locating the B&B proprietors as they could see our predicament & understood our frustrations of being totally abandoned. Having spent nearly 2 hours waiting, trying unsuccessfully to contact the B&B owners on both tel. nos & knocking on their property doors we left a note to cancel our booking as we needed to secure alternative accommodation for the night as we had no idea when the owners would decide to return to their "business" & to call us on our mobile no. which was listed on the note to confirm cancellation - we were extremely angry that we had wasted 2 hours out of our holiday dealing with this situation. The owner (Magda) called me on the mobile no. at 18.00pm later that day & had the audacity to inform us that they had been attending a wedding & why couldn't we have either waited for their return or call back again later that evening - her attitude was that she could see no problem with us waiting 4.5 hours for their return or that we could have returned back several times hoping that they had returned. She advised us that she had left a note on the front door, however neither myself, my husband or 3 restaurant staff saw this "alleged" note supposedly telling us that they were to return at 18.00pm. I stated that they should have contacted us either by phone or email to inform us that they would not be at the property until 6pm, but she replied that the telephone number provided did not work, their internet service was not working & she had tried my mobile several times - given that I had never provided my mobile no. this was clearly a lie. She told me that they only knew about the wedding 4 days prior to our check-in - who receives a wedding invitation 4 days before the event?? - clearly another lie. It is apparent that their personal lives takes priority over any guests & several conservations made to us whilst waiting confirmed that we were not the first guests to be treated in such a thoughtless manner. This review is solely as a warning to future guests that you will always be secondary to their lives & the B&B is not 100% operated as a business.

Room Tip: Bad attitude & customer service!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I am reviewing the B&B here, NOT the restaurant, as the two are no longer under the same management. We stayed in the art deco room, which is very nice, but with a very small bathroom. The service here is fantastic - nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is really good and they utilise local produce. I was disappointed to find that the restaurant is no longer managed by them, as this is the reason we booked and I was upset that this was not clearer when we booked. (There is a note on the website, but the old menu is still on).

Room Tip: The art deco room is the only one with a noisy shredder in the bathroom (due to building restriction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieJo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We arrived on Saturday 7th July to stay for 2 nights. We hgad been contacted by the owner Magda Black ahead of our arrival time, to confirm that we were still planning to come, and what our anticipated arrival time was so that she coul be around to greet us.

This indicates the level of service you can expect. Our Roocco room was very comfortable, warm and quiet, we ate in St Michaels on Saturday evening and had a super dinner, very attentive staff and the standard of cooking superb. Our breakfast, freshly cooked on both days, ws both very tasty and very nicely presented.

We had a thoroughly good time staying at St Michaels and would not hesitate to recommend this location for both B & B and as just a restaurant. GR8!

Room Tip: I would have no hesitation in recommending any of the rooms in this B & B. Our room was very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonioCotswoldsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I have just spent two nights in the very pretty and stylish Indian room. After being greeted with a very warm welcome by Magda (the owner) we were shown to our room. With a gorgeous four poster bed with feather duvet and pillows no attention to detail was missing..There was plentyof fresh filter coffee and loose tea delicate china cups and saucers and a couple of homemade biscuits and fresh milk. With a bunch of fresh flowers by the window. The room has views of the pretty church yard with stunning yew trees..The bathroom which has a lovely bath and is spotlessly clean has a selection of individual toiletries to use. Having eaten at the local pub (nice pub grub) we settled down in our room and watched tv for the evening. Breakfast was served in the restaurant area and is of an exquisite quality. There was plenty of fresh orange juice, croissants , homemade bread, a bowl of fresh fruit salad and several different cereals on offer .Having helped ourselves to this we also had a full cooked breakfast with locally sourced sausages and bacon, sauted potatoes ,black pudding , vine tomatoes and a choice of how you liked you eggs. We were also offered the choice of kippers which the guests on the other table seemed to enjoy.The friendly waitress was attentive and offered us a selection of morning papers to read. If you are looking for a well priced b&b with friendly staff , fantastic rooms in a wonderful location and a breakfast to savour I highly recommend St Michaels. We will be back..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the art deco room. It was very small - especially the bathroom (which was also a bit smelly!) Everything was clean and we had all we needed. The fridge in the hallway came in handy for drinks as did the range of books and maps for visitors to borrow. The breakfast was ok, but unless you were up at the crack of the dawn things ran out and weren't replaced. When I asked for more orange juice I was told "sorry there's none left" as someone who doesn't drink tea or coffee I was left with water. Slightly pricy for what you get but that's the Cotswolds for you!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EB0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We passed through Painswick on our way to the Mercury hotel. Planning to have Puppy Dogs Pie in the Royal Oak Inn, but it was VERY closed. We were ALL Very hungry and saw this restaurant just round the corner, didn't realise it was also a B&B, may stay there next time.
The food was delicious and the service was excellent, the young waiter was very very attentive to the 6 noisy women that had suddenly come through the door. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

Room Tip: Didn't use the facilities so will have to go back and make a point of trying them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HermanandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painswick
0.1 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
4.7 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Court House Manor
Court House Manor
#2 of 12 in Painswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cardynham House
Cardynham House
#5 of 12 in Painswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Falcon Inn
Falcon Inn
#3 of 12 in Painswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's

Property: St Michael's
Address: Victoria Street, Painswick GL6 6QA, England (Formerly St. Michaels Restaurant and B&B)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Painswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Painswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully located family run newly refurbished restaurant with rooms in the heart of the acclaimed Cotswolds, we are close to the Regency Spa town of Cheltenham with its colonnaded high street of top name shops and famous racecourse, though still rural enough to enjoy the many walking paths and bridal ways of this lovely county. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your St Michael's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Michaels Restaurant Hotel Painswick
St. Michaels Restaurant And Bed And Breakfast
St Michael's Painswick, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing