We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Court House Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Court House Manor
Ranked #2 of 12 Painswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I arrived to be greeted by Doug who couldn't have been more welcoming he showed us to our room which was called Romeo and Juliet which was lovely after settling in we went downstairs to the Kitchen where a chilled bottle of carver was waiting for us.Doug arranged a reservation at the Falcon Inn a short walk through the church yard via the private gate the food was great .In the morning we had a good breakfast served in the chess room .Excellent stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatoo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Court House Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at Court House. What a lovely review and we hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    60
    44
    26
    16
See reviews for
20
247
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I arrived mid afternoon to Painswick the most beautiful village after entering through two large sets of gates I was welcomed to the house by Linda the glamorous owner and her dog Forte who made me feel so welcome.My room the King Charles Suite was perfect with great attention to detail after settling in I was given a glass of cava and Linda showed me around the house and explained the fantastic history including the musket hole in the front door!This is like staying in a private home and I was made to feel totally relaxed, in the evening Linda had made my reservations for dinner at the Falcon Inn a short walk through the church grounds via the private gate.In the morning breakfast fantastic with kind staff who dealt with all my needs a big thank you to Costa and Anna.I am getting married next year and have asked Linda if this would be possible and she is forwarding a quotation .Thank you so much for the lovely stay Perfect

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tudoecare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Court House Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at Court House. What a lovely review and we hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I recently enjoyed a solo overnight stay in Court House Manor and although I don't usually write reviews for this sort of thing, the absolutely fantastic stay I experienced compelled me to. I was immediately welcomed by Peter who made me feel at home straight away by giving me the 'grand tour' and recommending some local watering holes in the beautiful villages of Painswick and Sheepscombe. The house itself was simply awe-inspiring, quite literally fit for a King! The grounds and surrounding Cotswolds scenery provide the perfect backdrop for such a luxurious building. I would suggest Court House Manor for the perfect weekend break or even overnight stay like mine. Simply perfection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huw f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Court House Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at Court House. What a lovely review and we hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I travelled to Painswick alone, and was welcomed by the owners of this beautiful 16th Century Court House. From the moment I stepped inside this building I was made to feel at home by both the owners and the staff. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming, it was a pleasure tp stay here, and the rooms were immaculate and beautifully finished to a high standard. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to escape for a few days and live in luxury, whether it be for a romantic break or as an escape from reality as in my case.

The location was great, with plenty of things to go and do in the surrounding area, whether you are interested in walking, visiting historic houses or Roman or Neolithic sites of interest, and I hope anyone else staying here enjoys their stay as much as I did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Court House Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at Court House. What a lovely review and we hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights for my birthday weekend. We stayed in the Barn, which is a converted out-house to the main manor. It was beautifully decorated inside with a beautiful kitchen, lounge (with massive LCD TV) and dining area. There is a funky spiral staircase up to the bathroom (with shower) and bedroom. It was our little hideaway for the weekend. Totally private with our own parking area and wonderful garden with table and chairs. The only downer was the weather! It rained over half the time we were there but that made the accommodation even more key and it didn't let us down. I would highly recommend a stay here. We also met Peter who runs the place with his Mum and he was so helpful and accommodating, even leaving a bottle of Cava in the fridge for my birthday! Nice touch.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Court House Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at Court House. What a lovely review and we hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

One word - breathtaking! Here is a property that is a must stay for all. It took three years to restore this glorious and absolute historic Manor House - and the owners - Linda and Peter - did not miss a trick. The rooms are luxurious - with all the little touches one expects from a grand five star hotel - but it's not over the top. Peter is terrific and no request is too big. The House is surrounded by a couple of acres of beautifully manicured gardens - directly out of the pages of history. Wonderful outdoor seating & entertainment areas jotted around the gardens. And all of this sitting in the heart of Painswick - a beautiful quintessential English village. You really do have to see it all - to believe it all. Oh...... and the village pubs are fantastic as well.
AH - BBC World News

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronBBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Court House Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at Court House. What a lovely review and we hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

From start to finish this experience was second to none. Whilst it can be a little difficult to find (don't drive past it and down the hill as you'll need to reverse back up), when you do find it, it's worth it! We were greeted by Peter who was both welcoming and accommodating. First impressions... WOW! A lot of thought, time, effort and expense has gone into making this place somewhere you want to keep going back to. We didn't realise the original room we booked didn't have a bath and when we requested being upgraded if possible, it was dealt with straight away as we were fortunate there was another room available. We were provided with a bottle of sparkling wine when we got there which was a lovely touch. Although this is a shared accommodation, you never feel as though you are intruding or being intruded on. You have access to all communal areas which is great for meeting the other staying guests. Our room 'Othello' was spacious, had all the original beams and an extremely comfortable bed but the taller guests may need to be conscious of the headroom in, and leading up to the room. The décor is luxurious, especially if you like the shabby chic, or typical boutique. The building is clean throughout and the kitchen has everything you need if you want to self cater. I worried about parking expecting very tight streets and limited parking and took the smaller car but don't worry there's plenty of parking space in the courtyard. If you're looking to eat out, book in advance! Restaurants are limited and very busy and we ended up at the last of our options, feeling very hungry for most of the night.

If you're looking for a romantic or peaceful couple of nights away, I can't think of anywhere I'd rather recommend. We will be going back soon I'm sure. Please don't hesitate in booking this place, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Court House Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at Court House. What a lovely review and we hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painswick
0.1 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
11.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Inn
Falcon Inn
#3 of 12 in Painswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Court House Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court House Manor

Property: Court House Manor
Address: Hale Lane, Painswick GL6 6QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Painswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Painswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Court House Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Court House is a listed building which seeps history through its walls; each room tells a tale of its own. As you enter the front gates you're instantly taken by its grandeur; you truly will never forget your stay at Court House. You will not find a better example of British countryside. Painswick is at the top of a valley and offers stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Court House Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Court House Manor Painswick, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing