We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very atmospheric and fantastic food”
Review of Olivas

Olivas
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Painswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Dear Potential and current Customers please be advised we are closed during Xmas and will re open in January. opening day will be published Our closure is due to circumstances beyond our control. We apologise for any inconvenience caused . If you wish to contact us for any services we may be able to provide later in the Year email us from the website, our email will be monitored regularly. The Olivas Team
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“very atmospheric and fantastic food”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We bboked for an evening with firnds and it felt like we had our own private dining experience. It was very atmospheric with a beuatifully alid table and candles everywhere. The food was delicious with lots of seafood and wonderful individual tapas for a group of 11. Thank you Brian and Ximena for looking after us .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLIVAS07, Owner at Olivas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Glad you enjoyed the food and atmosphere,
Hope that you repeat the experience soon

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    30
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb catering for parties”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Olivas did the catering for our silver wedding celebrations, producing enormous and delicious paellas (chicken and chorizo, seafood and vegenetarian) all cooked in full view at the venue to the delight of our guests, accompanied by flavourful Mediterranean salads, home-baked bread rolls and a choice of sumptuous puds, for 120 people without a hitch. Feedback from guests was overwhelming - the food was simply perfect, full of flavour and beautifully cooked and presented. Extremely professional, friendly and helpful service throughout. Thoroughly recommended as caterers. We have also enjoyed one of their fantastic tapas evenings and lunch in the deli itself.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank truthtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLIVAS07, Owner at Olivas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thankyou for your review , we are pleased that it all worked out like you wanted it.
It's important to enjoy every special ocassion.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had a late night Christmas work party in Painswick and for the second year running this was our first choice of venue. The food was fantastic, fully packed with great flavours and incredibly filling. Great service and atmosphere led to another successful evening at this lovely deli. Would definitely eat there again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KWQueridoReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLIVAS07, Owner at Olivas, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thankyou
Glad you enjoyed
See you next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
205 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“I want to live here.....”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My very thoughtful partner had booked a night at Cotswold 88 for my birthday.... as we were wandering around Painswick during the day I spotted Olivas and said what a gorgeous looking place...... He chuckled to himself and carried on walking.
An hour or later we went back to Olivas where he had already made a reservation!
Perfect.
Authentic tapas, a wonderful atmosphere and great service...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DC1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLIVAS07, Owner at Olivas, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We hope your weekend was enjoyable all the way round

Thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Arriving for an early lunch we were soon served with a bottle of the excellent house Rioja. My main course of chicken, chick peas and chorizo was superb with a great grainy texture, plenty of chicken and not too much chorizo. My vegetarian colleague opted for the aubergine bake which again was well received and soon consumed. The apple pie was excellent although I did pass on the clotted cream. This is a restaurant to go back to.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CageyCanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLIVAS07, Owner at Olivas, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Great comments!!!!!!!
The Veggie patch is my favourite

Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olivas also viewed

Painswick, Cotswolds
 
Painswick, Cotswolds
 

Been to Olivas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing