We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falcon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falcon Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Painswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a late lunch here in February, and really enjoyed the experience.

The interior was refreshingly uncluttered, clean and well designed. There was plenty of room between the tables, and the log-burning stove was welcoming. We will definitely return the next time we are nearby! Our lunch was very tasty, and well presented. Thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HILARY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    92
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
67
135
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed on Saturday night and was looking for a hotel half way between Torquay and Warrington to meet up with a friend and a well over due Girlie catch up. We found the Falcon Inn. We had a great time and greeted by a friendly member of staff. The room was well decorated and immaculate. We had dinner in the evening. The atmosphere and service was friendly and the food amazing, we both had the Assiette of Desserts and part of it was the Lemon Posset. Gorgeous. Worth another visit just to have another one. After a good nights sleep breakfast was excellent and plenty to choose from. Finally finished by a stroll around the lovely village and up and down a few hills to try and walk off a few calories. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for be night between Christmas and New Year. They seemed busy and service was a little lacking - being kept waiting at Reception while a member of staff conducted a long involved conversation with another hotel about referring over bookings was unnecessary and discourteous. Our room was comfortable, spacious and good value. Breakfast was good. We stayed on for lunch - the restaurant was very busy and service was slow and a little haphazard. The main course portion of mussels was on the small side, and did not come with any accompaniment - we had to ask for bread, and a spoon to eat the sauce. The sherry trifle dessert was small and still partly frozen.

These are all little things but they add up to a slightly disappointing experience, which is a shame because The Falcon is a pleasant hotel hat deserves to succeed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jonchapman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

On a Saturday night we found ourselves having to move hotels and the Falcon was recommended. The proprieter and staff were so helpful and made us feel at home. We had a fabulous meal at very reasonable prices and a jolly good sleep. Breakfast was also excellent followed by a stroll in a charming village. A must to go back too.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sambre01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

As mentioned in previous reviews, the bedrooms are beautifully decorated but the bed has a dip situation and the pillows aren't great, we both woke with stiff necks. The staff were extremely pleasant and the bar area was comfortable, if a little bland. The breakfast was excellent and the options, extensive.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RJJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable and ours had the benefit of being at the front of the hotel overlooking the church and the churchyard with the 99 yew trees. The down side of this is that you get some traffic noise in the morning. Didn't bother us too much as we had to be up bright and early for the next stint on the Cotswold Way which passes the front door. The room had everything we needed, but could probably do with a freshen up in the not to distant future.

The staff at the hotel were really friendly and these to help. The dinner we had in the restaurant was excellent, as was the breakfast.

Can definitely recommend. It is a really nice B&B.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

For Christmas this year we were going to take out our 89 year old grandmother to the Falcon Inn.To make sure we would get a table, we booked in October and we were told that our booking had been made. So when we called them in December to ask them to send us a menu we were told that they had no record of our booking and that there was no more room.But a week before they cancelled we called them to make sure they had the right amount of seats,They told us that they still had our booking.We regularly go to this pub whenever we are in painswick, we feel really let down and we are unlikely to go to that pub again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil J, Owner at Falcon Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
I am so sorry to read how disappointed you are about not having a table at The Falcon on Christmas Day, there has obviously been a misunderstanding by both parties and it seems that you believe a booking was made and we believe an enquiry was made and that you were informed that there was a waiting list and that if there was any changes we would contact you, unfortunately all tables that were reserved in October were asked to pay deposits by 1st November, and that was the time if a table became available. All deposits were received by 1st November and therefore we were fully booked, the fact that no deposit was asked of you and none was paid by you, seems to suggest that it was an enquiry. The only error made by The Falcon was explaining the situation correctly at the first point of contact and not informing you in November that we were fully booked, for this I apologies and will ensure that we improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painswick
0.1 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
4.7 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Troy House
Troy House
#1 of 12 in Painswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Inn

Property: Falcon Inn
Address: New Street, Painswick GL6 6UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Painswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Painswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Falcon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcon Inn sits opposite a quintessential English village church with its famous 99 clipped yew trees sitting in its grounds. The Falcon was first opened as a coaching inn in the 16th century and carries out the aims of the coaching inn to this day, the transport to it is just a little bit different. Great food, service and hospitality are provided at value for money prices. Painswick is not to be missed and the Falcon is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Falcon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Painswick
Falcon Inn Painswick, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing