We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mainly an enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Falcon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Falcon Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Painswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Langford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Mainly an enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Falcon Inn for two nights in May and most of our stay was very enjoyable. Our room was on the top floor, quite small, with only a slight view of the roof tops and a tea tray, which could only be used by plugging the kettle in over the other side of the room on the floor. This apart the room was spotless with an amazing comfortable hugh bed. We dined on the Friday evening and whilst the food was very good, we did have to wait an exceptionally long time to be served, due to the amount of dinners. The staff themselves were excellent and could not have been more helpful. One major problem was that we did not have any hot water to shower on the Saturday morning, even though it was an electric shower. We were given the option of using the staff shower on a lower floor, but we felt that this was not really an option moving our things up and down the stairs. Although the management was extremely apologetic with regard to this, we really expected more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helen_dewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    93
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
69
137
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Quaint but very comfortable hotel with every staff member 10/10 for cheerfulness helpfulness and courtesy. All meals were very good except one which was poor, the manager expresses his regrets and provided a cream tea as compensation. The rooms were clean and spacious. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again should I wish to visit the area and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the church gets sun for most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

There are a number of pieces that make a puzzle complete and Painswick and the Falcon Inn are the complete picture .Firstly Painswick itself is a beautiful period village nestled in the rolling Cotswold countryside that avoids the hustle and bustle of the masses. We stayed at the Falcon Inn, another delightful piece, firstly built in the 16th century then largely rebuilt in the 18th it is beautifully period with bundles of quirky charm. There were 21 of us in all and I think we occupied all the rooms and the general opinion was that all were well decorated , very clean and comfortable and the usual mod cons .Only slight reservation was low water pressure in some rooms, this did not detract from overall great experience.
The next piece, well the staff--all were polite courteous and wth no airs and graces, we were always met with a warm welcome and as were all our needs. Nothing was too much trouble and a big thank goes to all the team from all of us for making our three day trip so enjoyable.
The last piece--the food, again could not be faulted, we enjoyed breakfast, lunch and dinners and the quality across the range was very good and also great value for money. We hope for a return trip at some stage

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank postiejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh,UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at the Falcon for 2 nights for my son's wedding at the amazing Hilles House nearby. The wedding party consisting of relatives and friends of both bride and groom took over the entire hotel, and involved the very obliging and cheerful chambermaids in much changing of beds as some guests arrived earlier than others, moved rooms when partners arrived etc etc. A ;large party of us ate there on Friday night and again at Sunday lunchtime. The staff were all very efficient, cheery, friendly and helpful, and endeared themselves to us by accepting our Scottish £20 without the usual fuss - quite the opposite in fact! Our room was on the top floor with a beautiful view of the church with the 99 yew trees in the churchyard. We stayed at a B& B earlier in the week , moving to the Falcon on the Friday. We ate there on the Wednesday and enjoyed a great evening with Morris dancers from Gloucester who finished off their performance in the bar, playing many instruments and and singing lustily - great fun.
There is a large car park which is helpful in Painswick where the streets are very narrow!
We did have a loose lock on our door, but when we reported this , it was fixed immediately.
The hotel has a very good 'feel' about it, as if the staff are happy and enjoy working there.
We would certainly go back, and would recommend it to anyone visiting this lovely area.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front look on to the lovely church . We were not bothered by noise, being on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
251 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was staying overnight while on a business trip. Lets start with the positive: Staff are very helpful and pleasant. The food for both my dinner and breakfast was excellent. The duck breast was just cooked perfectly pink as I like it.

As for the negative, my hotel room did not lock, the wifi did not work in my room in the evening but eventually worked in the morning. The view from my room was the pitched roof of the building and finally the shower (or should I say drip) stopped working half way through... It eventually restarted.

I think that it is a great restaurant but the hotel could do with a little TLC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryBMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently during our trip the Cotswolds and found the staff friendly and helpful. The room was nice, but the bathroom tiny, esp the shower! The food at the hotel was very good and not too badly priced, staff very attentive and restaurant full, and very popular, they were even turning people away, so we were glad that we booked a table for dinner. The breakfast was good too, good choice of fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cooked breakfast, tea, coffee and juices..would def stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back near the car park and was nice and quiet away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiehiltonlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights whilst visiting friends. Had,as requested, a room overlooking the church. Everything was spotlessly clean , bathroom was lovely with big, fluffy towels. Breakfast was very good, service just right. Everyone was very friendly. The large, free car park was a bonus.
Only downside was the room was quite cold, bathroom exceptionally so, but it was very cold outside. Also the television was very tiny and in spite of mentioning some lights did not work they were not fixed but it did not spoil my stay.

Room Tip: A room at the front and possibly on the first floor as it seemed much warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehotelstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painswick
0.1 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Troy House
Troy House
#1 of 12 in Painswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Inn

Property: Falcon Inn
Address: New Street, Painswick GL6 6UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Painswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Painswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Falcon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcon Inn sits opposite a quintessential English village church with its famous 99 clipped yew trees sitting in its grounds. The Falcon was first opened as a coaching inn in the 16th century and carries out the aims of the coaching inn to this day, the transport to it is just a little bit different. Great food, service and hospitality are provided at value for money prices. Painswick is not to be missed and the Falcon is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falcon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Painswick
Falcon Inn Painswick, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing