We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great food!”
Review of Falcon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falcon Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Painswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently during our trip the Cotswolds and found the staff friendly and helpful. The room was nice, but the bathroom tiny, esp the shower! The food at the hotel was very good and not too badly priced, staff very attentive and restaurant full, and very popular, they were even turning people away, so we were glad that we booked a table for dinner. The breakfast was good too, good choice of fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cooked breakfast, tea, coffee and juices..would def stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back near the car park and was nice and quiet away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiehiltonlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 319 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights whilst visiting friends. Had,as requested, a room overlooking the church. Everything was spotlessly clean , bathroom was lovely with big, fluffy towels. Breakfast was very good, service just right. Everyone was very friendly. The large, free car park was a bonus.
Only downside was the room was quite cold, bathroom exceptionally so, but it was very cold outside. Also the television was very tiny and in spite of mentioning some lights did not work they were not fixed but it did not spoil my stay.

Room Tip: A room at the front and possibly on the first floor as it seemed much warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovehotelstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I should have written this review nearly a year ago, but moving home and a new born distracted me somewhat! However this Inn is wonderful and I needed to put it in writing. Last June my soon to be husband and I stayed at Falcon Inn for 4 nights and got married whilst we were there. The staff were amazingly accommodating, friendly and really went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect - and it was. Without their help (finding different restaurants for us to eat in, letting us use the top bar as a mini reception because the weather was so bad, looking after last minute guests, arranging flowers and giving us champagne to celebrate our day) we would have been in trouble. This is a really special place, either to pop in for a Sunday lunch, a local drink after a beautiful walk or indeed a few nights of quaint surroundings - this is the place. Thank you so much for making our wedding perfect, without your wonderful Inn and staff it really could have been a disaster! Factual note - great clean rooms with lovely views, excellent food, helpful staff, great location for exploring, and a lovely home from home feel to the Inn. Five stars indeed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laur03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked a table for Sunday lunch having eaten here several times before and never being disappointed. Excellent roast beef, almost as good as mine! Delicious pudding and unobtrusive helpful service. Lots of space between the tables, always a plus, and they let us continue our game of dominoes long after we had finished eating! Backgammon and scrabble to hand too along with Sunday papers. Lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sharon8187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent Easter weekend at The Falcon in Painswick, spending our 1st wedding anniversary there. Lovely place, where there seems to have been a coaching inn since the 16th century - we had a room looking out onto the beautiful and distinctive churchyard. Good rooms, very clean, comfortable and full of character. Excellent restaurant and pub, with a good wine list and great cooking.
The service was always friendly and attentive and made us very happy to have chosen the Falcon for our stay. We intend to be back!

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a room overlooking the churchyard and the distinctive yew trees - the view is bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumann858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Four of us called into the Falcon Inn Painswick for lunch, we had not booked and they were quite busy. However with no fuss a table was found. The menu was very good with some interesting items available. The service was first class and the staff professional yet friendly. Lunch itself was very good indeed and reasonably priced. All in all the Falcon was an excellent choice and we will certainly eat there in the future,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My grand daughter sings with the 'Holst Singers'in London,and they were travelling to Stroud to sing at The Subscription Rooms 9th March.My daughter invited me to go with her to see the concert ,and stay at the Falcon Inn,all 3 of us for a treat.The people at the Falcon Inn were so friendly ,and met us at the door with much hospitality.Our 3 bed room was very ,very nice indeed.Comfortable beds,we slept like 'logs'.I certainly would go there again.

Room Tip: All I can say is the room we had was just perfect.We never looked at any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painswick
0.1 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
223 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,343 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Court House Manor
Court House Manor
#2 of 13 in Painswick
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cardynham House
Cardynham House
#7 of 13 in Painswick
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Michael's
St Michael's
#4 of 13 in Painswick
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Inn

Address: New Street, Painswick GL6 6UN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Painswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Painswick
Price Range: $91 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falcon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcon Inn sits opposite a quintessential English village church with its famous 99 clipped yew trees sitting in its grounds. The Falcon was first opened as a coaching inn in the 16th century and carries out the aims of the coaching inn to this day, the transport to it is just a little bit different. Great food, service and hospitality are provided at value for money prices. Painswick is not to be missed and the Falcon is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Falcon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Painswick
Falcon Inn Painswick, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing