We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay”
Review of Falcon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Falcon Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Painswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at the Falcon on the night of the Wednesday 14th November. We were there having attended a funeral at nearby Prinknash Abbey. In fact the family virtually took over the place. 27 of us sat down for dinner that night and the staff coped admirably.

As we were driving up from Somerset we had asked if we could arrive a little early so that we could change which was no problem to them at all. Jackie had said that if the rooms weren't ready that she would sort something out for us. In the event the rooms were ready and we were in room 3 which was very comfortable and well appointed with a lovely view over to the church.

All the staff were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. Even though there were so mnay of us for dinner everyone was served at virtually the same tine with the correct dish.

We would certainly go back there if we needed to be in that area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samet2262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 324 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently stayed for the weekend and we will be sure to return. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Dinner and breakfast lovely. Rooms are very pretty. Location Perfect, just beautiful. A must see!!!

Room Tip: be sure to book dinner as it gets busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We wanted a convenient and comfortable stop on the edge of the Cotswolds - and that is what we found. From the moment we entered the Falcon Inn we had a wonderfully warm welcome. All the staff were marvellous but the receptionist who also served us deserves special mention. Our room, newly decorated faced the front - but the village is not busy so we had a quiet and restful night.
We booked a table for dinner and had an excellent, well priced meal from the well considered menu which included specials from the board. This and drinks resulted in an enjoyable evening which didn't break the bank. The overall cost of room and food gave truly excellent value.
Having breakfasted well - again excellent, we had a stroll round the beautiful village before setting off on an enjoyable trip through the Cotswolds visiting memory lane on our way to Stratford and promising ourselves that we would return soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A very good small hotel in superb village . Rooms are and the public areas even better . The evening food was good and the breakfast excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful with a particular member of staff deserving of special mention, and that was Jackie who appeared to be receptionist , waitress & barmaid all done effortlessly and with a smile. Well done Jackie and thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiathos2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this hotel that we picked off the Internet for bring dog friendly. It was a great choice. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the rooms were spacious and large. The food was lovely although we could have done with a children's menu.
We would defiantly visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nillkenrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at the Falcon, and it was just as good as we remembered. We were in Room 3 this time which was gorgeous - very clean, cosy and well appointed. With such an old building, it's quite amusing getting out of the shower and heading downhill to the sink and toilet! The beds were very comfortable and we had a great view of the church.
We booked a table for dinner and I found it really difficult to choose what to have, there were so many choices on the menu and, what with the specials board, it was so hard to make up my mind. We enjoyed the food and I especially loved the Gloucester Gold beer (being a big fan of real ale). The breakfast was very tasty (bacon was just lovely) and we were sad to leave. Hopefully we'll be back next year - maybe with the dog this time (he was with us last year and was made most welcome).
The staff were all really friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. I had a quick walk round the village and everyone I met was friendly and chatty, particularly one elderly gentleman with his dog. I would definitely recommend the Falcon as a wonderful place to stay and can't wait to revisit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliJonesThurso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Falcon for one Saturday night stay.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was clean with very comfortable beds and pleasant decor. There was tea making facilities and White Company toiletries in the room which was very nice.

The restaurant was very busy and I would recommend reserving a table in advance. The Falcon seems to have a very good reputation in the area.
The breakfast was very tasty. There was plenty of it and the service was very good
They also welcome dogs which was a bonus for us!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucylou1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painswick
0.1 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
233 reviews
4.7 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
899 reviews
5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Court House Manor
Court House Manor
#2 of 13 in Painswick
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Troy House
Troy House
#1 of 13 in Painswick
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Inn

Address: New Street, Painswick GL6 6UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Painswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Painswick
Price Range: $104 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falcon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcon Inn sits opposite a quintessential English village church with its famous 99 clipped yew trees sitting in its grounds. The Falcon was first opened as a coaching inn in the 16th century and carries out the aims of the coaching inn to this day, the transport to it is just a little bit different. Great food, service and hospitality are provided at value for money prices. Painswick is not to be missed and the Falcon is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Falcon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Painswick
Falcon Inn Painswick, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing