We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We used the restaurant and stayed in the hotel FAB!”
Review of JK's at St. Michaels Restaurant - CLOSED

JK's at St. Michaels Restaurant
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Cotswolds UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We used the restaurant and stayed in the hotel FAB!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

From the very start of the process, booking the hotel, the restaurant, the whole experience has been one of friendliness, professionalism and ease. We were contacted twice before we finally arrived, confirming our visit and confirming our arrival time.
The restaurant proved to be really very good, the choice on the menu is good, the quality of the food is excellent, fresh and very tasty. Our stay in the hotel proved to be very comfortable, warm and quiet. We stayed in the Rococco Room and visitors need to understand that the hotel and restaurant are in a 16th Century property so there are some interesting features.

Can easily and thoroughly recommend the hotel and restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntonioCotswoldsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoud
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had Sunday lunch here. It was excellent offering a choice of traditional roasts and other choices. We've had lunch here in the week and, as on Sunday, the service was appropriately attentive.
At lunch time during the week the restaurant may appear formal, tables cloths, laid places, glasses, but if you're in Painswick don't be put off, this is an excellent, truely value for money, British resaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch superb”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Good quality food with a pleasant atmosphere and excellent service, what more can I say, will use again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GlosBumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Warm atmosphere and good service .”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We ate here at the end of a busy day for the restaurant and using a groupon voucher. The staff were really friendly and there was a real buzz about the place.Generally the food was lovely and well presented.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank pamskelding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotswold
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Traditional cooking at its best.”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We have visited this restaurant for the first time on Friday 4th May and must say that a restaurant of this quality is a very pleasant surprise.Under new management since last November it is nice to meet people that actually believe in the quality they produce and do not solely consider it as a way of making a living.
We dine out quite frequently in the Cotswolds were we have lived all of our lives and also in most of the European countries and find that sadly standards have been dropping in a lot of cases due to the recession and the need to remain solvent with fewer customers.
On entering the restaurant the ambience is just right being both cosy and welcoming as are all the staff.A small establishment of only some thirty covers it enables the staff to be very attentive and nothing appears to be too much trouble for them.
I had an excellent main course of the two in one pie and my wife had the fish pie both of which were superb quality although I will warn you the portions are more than ample but this is hardly a complaint.
On completion of our meal the restaurant owners came and sat down and entered into a lengthy conversation with us which is a nice touch and was much appreciated.
I did happen to mention that I am a great lover of short crust pastry in lieu of puff and they agreed indeed it was something they preferred themselves.Can you believe that they offered
to cook the pie with shortcrust pastry subject to prior notice for me if we return which we most certainly wil, now there is service for you.
The pie is actually correctly described with pastry all around and not a casserole plonked in a bowl with a lid that has been warmed up in a microwave just prior to serving which is a pet hate of mine.
To sum up, this restaurant is without doubt one of the best in the Cotswolds irrespective of price or reputation, with localy sourced ingedients of the highest quality all freshly prepared to order as required, none of your frozen supermarket rubbish here.
They even have a policy of only employing local people so there is no language barrier here and this also helps the community as a whole in these difficult times.
The only drawback is that they have become very busy due to their reputation becoming known so you will need to book in advance to avoid disappointment but believe me it is well worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldTrebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JK's at St. Michaels Restaurant also viewed

 
Painswick, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing