We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of JK's at St. Michaels Restaurant - CLOSED

JK's at St. Michaels Restaurant
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: European, British
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
gloucester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

I found this restaurant through the Groupon voucher scheme, what a wonderful discovery.
It is a small, intimate place in a really preety setting. The food was marvellous and pipeing hot. You can bring your own wine for a corkage fee but the wines were very resonably priced anyway. Can't wait to go back to try the Sunday lunches!!!! A++++

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamelaGl0ucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lunchtime delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Wonderful lunch time menu, ideal to stop off for a light meal while walking the Cotswold way, well worth the slight detour. Staff really friendly and excellent value . Thank you to the staff.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geocache262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a delightful meal with wine at St Michaels. The quality of the food was some of the best I've had and at a very reasonable price. Good service too.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The "awkward" squad turned up with 23 adults plus 3 toddlers to celebrate 40 years of "bliss" . Jean & her team pulled out all the stops & the food,atmosphere & willingness to please made it a smashing time. Hats off to St Michaels.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect venue for family gathering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

St Michaels Restaurant was the venue for our family re-union on Saturday evening. There were 21of us including children. Everyone agreed that it had been a perfect meal & choice of venue. Big enough to get us all round one table yet with space for small groups to break off and chat ( or in the case of children, play games quietly) the room has character and is cleanly decorated giving it a lovely, welcoming appeal.
Jean and Angie who had recently taken over the lease on the restaurant were a pleasure to deal with and helped to arrange a stress free evening. We were initially attracted by an old menu on the B&B website as we were looking for something a cut above usual party catering and the choice of menus that Jean put together for us matched our requirements very well. We pre-selected a variant of the 'Italian supper' option and this started with a well presented & very generous selection of freshly prepared antipasti including fresh figs with goat cheese, a variety of salumi, stuffed mushrooms & aubergines, various breads with dipping oils, olives etc. Sharing the large antipasti platters around created a family meal atmosphere which added to everyone's enjoyment of the evening. This was followed by individually plated & served Florentine chicken or steamed sea bass. The fish was particularly good and put to rest any concerns about the kitchen's ability to cater for so many people simultaneously. Puddings were similarly fresh and imaginative although we struggled to do them justice and service throughout was attentive without being intrusive. The bill had no last minute surprises and represented very, very good value for money. Parking initially appeared to be an issue but was fine once we worked out that if you park at the top end of the car park behind the church there is a gated cut through to Victoria Street outside. A quick peek into one of the B&B rooms confirmed that we would happily have stayed at the B&B too if it could have accommodated more of us. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JK's at St. Michaels Restaurant also viewed

 
Painswick, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing