We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special service and enthousiastic hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashton House

Ashton House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Painswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashton House
Ranked #7 of 12 Painswick B&B and Inns
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very special service and enthousiastic hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

We had a wonderful time in Ashton House. A warm welcome, nice bed, modern shower and great breakfast. The service was very special. We visited Painswick as a central point for our walks on the Cotswold Way. We received all the help and information we needed. Including many offers to give us a lift to and from starting and finishing points on the route. For everybody who wants to get away from the rush of everyday-live, we recommend Ashton House in Painswick, especially thanks to the enthousiastic hospitality of Philippa and Steve.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed for two nights at Ashton House in Painswick and found it to be a gorgeous place to stay and unwind. Phillipa made our stay most enjoyable and helped us with lots of things to do during the day and eve.

We snoozed, ate and drank. All what we wanted to do to unwind.

Will defo be back another time.

RS and FT x

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rashah100975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Ashton house. 4 of us stayed a night to attend a wedding in the area and it was the perfect place to stumble back to that night. The owner was very welcoming and cooked a great breakfast. The rooms were all clean and very comfortable. All in all, it was ideal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigshiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxxxx
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We we're put in a room that appeared to be their daughter bedroom, no lock on the door not even a locking mechanism so we had to put a bag against it from the inside. The TV didn't work, the chest of draws had their daughters clothes in so there was nowhere to put anything. The bed was nice, flimsy blinds so the minute the sun came up the room was too light to sleep. We could clearly hear the host below in the kitchen, the bathroom had no shower or bin, just a shower hose.
Breakfast was nice and the host was nice if not somewhat bossy.
I would have preferred for the host to have been honest and said they were fully booked and all they had left to put us in another room and NOT charged us the full price. I wasn’t asked once if everything was OK or if we slept well either.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxxx020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

I found myself without accommodation at short notice and simply knocked on the door of Ashton House. Philippa was very helpful and within minutes everything I had somewhere very special to stay. I don't like modern, impersonal hotels and this is exactly what Ashton House is not. Ashton House is the real thing - a true English B & B in an old, interesting, quirky, well furnished house in a quiet and beautiful historic town. There is free parking nearby. Philippa makes you feel like her private guest in her lovely home although she is running a proper B & B and she cooks a wonderful breakfast. There are limitations to the facilities because of the age and style of the property but take that as part of the charm and you won't be disappointed. I would not hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarriecoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed at Ashton House for two nights and had a thoroughly nice time. The room was delightful and the bed very comfy indeed. Although we don;t usually have breakfast we did on this occasion and Philippa cooked us two very indulgent breakfasts. We stay in a lot of B&Bs for weekend breaks and the nice thing about this place was that Philippa let us come and go as we wanted without always hanging around as you get in other places. Painswick itself is gorgeous and I can recommedn it to anyone looking for a break from the city. We'll certainly be coming back to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SW114HJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

We were very disappointed with Ashton House. When calling ahead to confirm our arrival we were told that our room had not been held even though we had booked it nearly 2 months in advance. We were acommendated for one night & we were sorry we left Chipping Campden & drove all the way to Painswick for this abysmal experience. The room was not clean, not modern, the shower did not work, the sink was in the room & the size of a small bucket. This was the worst place I have ever stayed. Philippa was not apologetic for not keeping our reservation nor did she comp us anything. We were sorely disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bssteffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painswick
0.2 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
4.5 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Troy House
Troy House
#1 of 12 in Painswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falcon Inn
Falcon Inn
#3 of 12 in Painswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton House

Property: Ashton House
Address: Ashton House Gloucester Street, Painswick GL6 6QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Painswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Painswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ashton House Painswick, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing