We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Painswick ”

St Michael’s Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Painswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
Description: Food at St Michael’s is about simplicity and enjoyment: delicious, unpretentious classic dishes made personally, on the premises, by chef and owner Matt. With over 30 years’ culinary experience, Matt’s standards are exacting. The daily menu is always seasonal so we’re big on fresh, top-quality ingredients. We buy produce from trusted local suppliers. We bake our breads daily.
Restaurant details
Description: Food at St Michael’s is about simplicity and enjoyment: delicious, unpretentious classic dishes made personally, on the premises, by chef and owner Matt. With over 30 years’ culinary experience, Matt’s standards are exacting. The daily menu is always seasonal so we’re big on fresh, top-quality ingredients. We buy produce from trusted local suppliers. We bake our breads daily.
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

We visited St. Michael’s last night which happened to be our last night in Painswick. We were warmly greeted by Magda who, along with her husband Matt, owns and runs the restaurant and hotel. Magda served us warm bread with butter and a delicious bowl of olives while recommending from her wine list. She was familiar with all of the wines and pointed us in the perfect direction. We then ordered a few small plates to share...One of them was a gnocchi with ricotta that was superb. Several in our party ordered the poached chicken served on a potato pancake. I had lamb which was served with sweet potato purée and a delicious stuffing featuring anchovies. My husband ordered the cod - it was cooked to perfection. Matt, who is the restaurant’s chef, is self taught but you would think he has been trained by the finest French chefs. Everything was delicious! We shared two desserts-the chocolate and caramel fondant and whiskey and raisin cream. While we were enjoying these Magda poured us a special Czech dessert cordial made from plums-I won’t try to spell it here but ask her about it when you visit, it is a definite treat. You simply must visit St. Michael’s when you are in the Cotswolds-you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank lauramfleming33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda B, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Dear Laura,
Thank you very much for your very kind review.
I am a wintner’s daughter and I have chosen less known wine on our list. They are great.
We are very happy you had a good time while at St. Michaels. Hope to see you soon.
With kindest regards
Magda, Matt and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 57 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

Attended for an evening, family meal out and had a lovely all round experience. The food was inventive yet unpretentious and very tasty. The atmosphere was relaxed, helped by non-intrusive, classical music and we were given service with a pleasing personal touch. Ideal for families or couples interested in a quality dining experience.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Resort761315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda B, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

We are very pleased you have enjoyed yourselves while at St. Michaels. Hope to see you soon again. With kindest regards
Magda, Matt and everybody @St. Michaels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018

It is not often that I will write a second review having previously praised this restaurant as a real gastronome's find, but my experience with my lady on Saturday night was exceptional and worthy of another accolade. Matt the owner continues to excel himself with the seasonal delights available and his meticulous inventiveness with ingredients to provide stunning, flavoursome dishes ,every one out of the ordinary. Pea and ham soup was so fresh and pea-like and makes other pretenders taste so pedestrian ;Potato parsley and parmesan gnocchi was flavoursome textured clouds the like of which I have not had since a lunch on the top floor of the Burj al Arab in Dubai years ago at 40 times the price;Lamb noisette with - get this -piquant mojo verde stuffing, celeriac puree, herb and caper sauce and buttered sprout flowers - the fattiness of the succulent lamb set off by the tartness of the sauces and the delicate celeriac puree- and the al dente sprout flowers! My lady had poached chicken supreme -tender and flavoursome potato pancake with wilted spinach, nutmeg ,white wine chive and chicken veloute. Normally I would eschew the detailed menu, but the point is the sheer detailed inventiveness and the taste delivery which is intriguing and perfectly balanced in flavour and texture. And the two courses cost us £29.50 each.
Amazing and not surprisingly booked ahead . Brilliant . Keep it up Matt. The only criticism is that as we are drinking less, so by the glass , there was only a French merlot and white available for the wide range of menu items.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ScotsRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattblackmatt, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Dear Mr Raven, thank you very much for your most professional ,honest and kindest of reviews. Customers like you make our job turn into a vacation. Your experience and appreciation makes our efforts worthwhile. You are always very welcome. We hope to look after you and your lady again soon. With kindest wishes Matt, Magda and all the staff @St. Michaels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

Amazing food. Amazing service and a lovely atmosphere. It's so worth a visit if your in the area. I will be coming back.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Kellydaiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattblackmatt, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Dear Kelly, thank you very much for your review. We are looking forward to your visit. With kindest wishes Matt, Magda and all the staff @ St. Michaels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2018 via mobile

On a chilly day we called in for lunch. The fire was roaring and we were made immediately welcome. Only wanting a light lunch we decided to have the sharing platter which comprised cold meats, three types of cheese, salad, olives and two types of bread with chutney. Delicious

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattblackmatt, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Dear Robert C, thank you very much for your review. We are really happy you found us in the cold blizzard. Please come and visit us again, maybe in the Summer this time. With kindest wishes Matt, Magda and all the staff @St. Michaels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Michael’s Restaurant also viewed

Painswick, Stroud District
 
Painswick, Stroud District
Painswick, Stroud District
 

Been to St Michael’s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing