We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“New Year break”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Painswick, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New Year break”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This going to be a hard act to follow. A family group of eight stayed over the new year. Amazing and well equipped Grand old house. Very warm and welcoming. Even though it is a grand house it is a real home from home. We spent a very relaxing few days here to celebrate the new year. The house needs some tlc but this adds to the charm as it feels like a well loved family home. I was convinced it would be a draughty old house and took lots of warm clothes, this is not the case the heating system is as good as any modern house.Gabor is a real asset to have on hand and didn't mind any requests for help. He even found us a film on you tube. Good location for walkers from a nice stroll to a long walk. Fantastic views from the cottage. The owner even left us a bottle of champagne to celebrate the new year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2018
Sue - Many thanks for your comments and so very pleased you enjoyed the New Year break! We are slowly upgrading - the boiler was new last year hence the good heating! It has always been a very happy family house for us and hope others can enjoy it in the same way. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa H
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing venue for an extended family gathering”
Reviewed December 17, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Well placed not far from M5. Close to Slimbridge wildlife and wetlands centre which we visited. A spacious and charming family home with an extensive garden for children. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2017
Theresa

Many thanks for your review - delighted your enjoyed Slimbridge which was my parents favourite and we all used to visit often. We do hope you will return and explore more of the area.

Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing house, full of character”
Reviewed November 21, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were slightly dubious about staying in a 'lived in' house like this but we had a great stay and loved the character of the house. Used to staying in modern, characterless places but this was far more fun and you very quickly overlook the quirks and creeks. Made you feel like you were in an episode of Downton Abbey. Highly recommend but go with an open mind - don't expect perfection.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2017
Many thanks for your review - yes the house is over 200 years old so there are certainly a few quirks and creeks!! My parents bought the house in 1991 and we are still exploring the cellars and attics! Horsepools is certainly anything but characterless - thanks again for staying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirstie M
1 review
“Lovely house with some issues”
Reviewed November 15, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This is a large house, even larger than appears from the pictures. Downstairs you'll find a nice sit-in kitchen with Aga and a utility room and large pantry off it. There is a very big dining room, a large sitting room, a library and an office as well as a cloakroom. Upstairs are 5 bedrooms - four are double/king size and one has twin beds. The grounds are extensive and there is more than enough room for the ten people the house sleeps. It is warm (we went in November), the caretaker lives on site and is responsive if there are any issues. It is well stocked with pretty much everything you could want.
On the downside there are only two showers in the house and both are extremely old - one has almost no water pressure at all and is above a bath. A number of the beds are quite uncomfortable, particularly the twin room. The house itself has an odd feeling - it is as if the owners left five minutes before you arrived and there are still far too many personal belongings left behind - not just nice things like books and pictures and ornaments, but half used condiments, a cupboard full of coats and so on. The library is decidedly musty and probably damp.
On balance we had a nice time here, were relatively comfortable, but would probably not return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2017
Kirstie
I am glad you had a nice time but disappointed that the house was not up to your expectations. As it is about 200 years old I.m afraid we have to put up with some features that are not up to modern standards....but is that not the charm of such houses? I think many houses rented off this type of owner direct websites will feel a little like the owners left 5 mins ago.....perhaps in our case a couple of days before you arrived! Anyhow thanks again for your stay. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie B
1 review
“Friends 50th birthday celebrations”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a fantastic time in this beautiful,spacious house. It was so warm and welcoming, as was Gabor the house keeper upon arrival. Would recommend for family and friends getogethers and look forward to coming back again soon. Great for murder mystery evenings! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2017
Jeannie - Very pleased that you and your colleagues enjoyed Horsepools House. Hope we can welcome you back!
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2017
Dina

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jill A
1 review
“Cycling friends weekend”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a lovely stay at Horsepools House. We enjoyed being in the interesting house and beautiful gardens after a day's cycling exploring the area. We cycled from Nailsworth and also Kemble station where the terrain is flatter!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Very many thanks for your comments and delighted you enjoyed your stay! As Horsepools is about the highest point in the area cycling home was always a bit if a struggle! Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing