We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tibbiwell Lodge

Tibbiwell Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tibbiwell Lodge
Ranked #8 of 12 Painswick B&B and Inns
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

A group of us stayed here for a weekend in February. The pre-visit contact with Richard was excellent. We also had a dog. The house itself is stunning, amazing views over the valley and very clean. The host was brilliant, breakfast fantastic and he even looked after our puppy so we could go to non-dog restaurants both evenings. We couldn't have asked for more...

This place is one of the best I've stayed in, and comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallaig50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed at Tibbiwell Lodge over Valentines Weekend and had a fantastic stay. The welcome was personal and warm, with nothing being too much trouble. Richard is approachable, friendly and an excellent host, who's obvious keen friendship with perfection, shines throughout the whole property.

Our room was beautiful, with attention to detail apparent. The bed was extremely comfy (and big!), with a large terrace overlooking lovely views down over the peaceful valley beyond Painswick. Everything was spotlessly clean, with a mixture of modern furniture and fittings in the room, but Richard has managed to retain the original feel of the room, with interesting curved ceilings and levels.

We were also extremely lucky to be able to take our dog with us on our trip, and he was made to feel equally as welcome as we were!

Breakfast was plentiful, with a mixture of full english, fruit, yoghurts, cereals and toast. All very tasty and well presented.

All in all, the personal service you receive, coupled with the beautifully comfortable rooms and gorgeous views, will ensure your stay at Tibbiwell is a great one.

Thanks Richard!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_Hate_M0ndays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

We had a wonderful four nights at Tibbiwell Lodge. Richard, the owner was very welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. The views from the 'Terrace' and 'Balcony' rooms were lovely and overlooked a valley. Our room (The Balcony) was very warm and cosy and had a lovely covered balcony to sit out on in warmer weather. We stayed there over the Valentines weekend and received a bottle of sparkling wine, flowers and chocolates which were a lovely touch. The breakfasts were enjoyable, relaxed and plentiful with the usual fayre of fruit, cereals and a cooked breakfast of your choice. Painswick is a beautiful village and the surrounding area has many walks to enjoy. Tibbiwell Lodge and the surrounding area are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzie_Southsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

The B+B was easy to find but lacked the polish I believe it once had.The shower leaked badly onto the floor via the shower screen irrespective of where we positioned it; and it looked like it had been like this for a while.There were grubby scirting boards and the view from the balcony room into the garden showed a gas cylinder lying down and just a lack of care.Tea making was downstairs in the breakfast room which was a bit of a bind.The breakfast was good and the bed comfortable.I think all the bad points could be put right easily.It just lacked polish

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_CarolPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

Lovely location and good breakfast but lacked facilities and service of other 4 star guest houses I have stayed in recently( no tea making facilities in room as stated which was inconvenient )

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollybubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Tibbiwell Lodge with my boyfriend - we stayed in the Terrace Room which had fantastic views. The bedroom and bathroom are spacious with a large shower and corner bath. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a TV with DVD player. The breakfast was delicious with plenty to choose from.
Overall, it was very clean and the service was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichWales0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painswick
0.1 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Troy House
Troy House
#1 of 12 in Painswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cardynham House
Cardynham House
#4 of 12 in Painswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tibbiwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tibbiwell Lodge

Property: Tibbiwell Lodge
Address: Tibbiwell Lane, Painswick GL6 6YA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Painswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Painswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tibbiwell Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Tibbiwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibbiwell Lodge Painswick, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing