We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Painswick Rococo Garden

Painswick Rococo Garden
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Painswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historically Painswick Rococo Garden is very important, as it is the sole complete survivor from the brief Rococo period (1720 – 1760). These gardens differ from the more traditional 19th and 20th century designs, as they were mini landscapes designed almost as theatrical sets for the home owner to entertain his guests with lavish garden parties. One thing they were not were great flower gardens.At Painswick, romantic follies combine with long vistas, informal plantings, and a large kitchen garden to create a relaxing environment for todays visitor to appreciate how our forefathers lived and to understand how gardens have changed over the centuries.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

A friend and I went to the gardens this morning. We were very disappointed.
In the spring I am sure that the snowdrops are fantastic but this is June. The herbaceous borders were really poor with very little in them apart from perennial geraniums. The vegetable garden is interesting and there is a maze but as we had gone for gardens it was poor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank HelenmacCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Manager at Painswick Rococo Garden, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit to the Rococo Garden due to the lack of colour in the herbaceous borders, although we do note you appeared to enjoy the rest of the grounds. If I may answer your review with two comments.

Firstly normally at this time of the year the heritage roses we have here are in full bloom, however following what has been well documented as the coldest spring for 50 years we are still some weeks behind where we would expect some flowers to be. This is obviously a shame for those visitors who are expecting to see them out as usual.

Secondly the Rococo Garden is not a traditional garden, we make a great effort to convey this message to potential visitors - in fact may I repeat part of the our description which we have written on Trip Advisor's own site, ....These gardens differ from the more traditional 19th and 20th century designs, as they were mini landscapes designed almost as theatrical sets for the home owner to entertain his guests with lavish garden parties. One thing they were not were great flower gardens......

We do understand that those seeking an experience of just viewing masses of flowers may feel the Garden does not live up to their expectations, but as we are recreating an historic garden, the authenticity of that approach does take priority.

We do hope the above does explain why maybe the garden was not to your taste and I would be quite happy to discuss this further with you if you would like to contact me by phone on 01452 813204 and we could possibly arrange a time for you to revisit when I could spend time with you explaining in more depth the work we do here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    160
    43
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic one day and very disapointing the next !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went on two consecutive days to visit the gardens and the visitor experience was worlds apart.!!!!!! We were staying in Cheltenham and visited the gardens on Sat 1st June.for the first time. The gardens are interesting , well kept and the maze fun. We lunched in the cafe which was very busy and had a wedding in full flow .Food was of excellent quality with fresh salad used from the gardens , a selection of specials on the menu and quality food,.as a party of 6 we expected a wait but the food was delivered quickly and really well presented with gorgeous cheese on toast., sandwiches (fresh bread, overflowing and large) and toasted paninis.. However when we returned on the following day just to have lunch having told friends how good it was I had a very different meal. . The food took ages to arrive and was not of the same quality. Presentation was poor and gave the impression that it was served in a hurry . With a long wait and poor service we were very disapointed. Such a pity and frustrating end to a otherwise enjoyable weekend in the cotswolds..

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank glenda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Manager at Painswick Rococo Garden, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for posting this review. We are obviously delighted that you enjoyed your first visit but very concerned about your experience on the second day. I would firstly like to thank you for specifying exactly the day in question as it enables us to address the issues you have raised.
The level of service you received on the Sunday was simply unacceptable and we will address this immediately with the team concerned.
We are very proud of the quality and service we offer and can only apologise for this hopefully isolated occurrence.
We do hope you will return to the Garden and restaurant when next in the area.
If you would like to discuss this further then please call me on 01452 813204.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“What an odd place.Quirky, bit Italian.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Been here before and didn't really get it. Now fully refurbished it is a gem. Peaceful. Just don't expect a garden. It is an outdoor room for entertaining a la Louis XIV.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank foxmeister-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“On my way home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I was driving home from a trip to Gloucester and stopped to visit the village and the rococo garden. The garden is a delight and has a tea room which offers welcome home made snacks and cakes. Well worth a visit. Well sign posted.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoyceFf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh,UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting and quirky - with lovely cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Loved the 250th birthday maze and the lovely paths through the trees .The cafe was excellent, with a Victoria sponge Mary Berry would have been proud of!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank christinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painswick Rococo Garden also viewed

Painswick, Cotswolds
 

Been to Painswick Rococo Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing