We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Very Unique House and Gardens

We had a short visit to this Indian Style house one recent afternoon. It is not that far from... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
pasowine
,
Paso Robles, California
On my wish-list for years...

This was a fabulous afternoon visit, starting with tea and cake before the house opened, an... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
SynchroSwimmer-Helga
,
Gloucs
Read all 174 reviews
  
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
92
50
19
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
50
19
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indian style brighton pavilion guided tour thursday and friday car park entrance gate persian garden water features family home extensive gardens tent room stepping stones cakes tea and cake afternoon tea in the orangery a popular wedding venue john betjeman
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a short visit to this Indian Style house one recent afternoon. It is not that far from Moreton in Marsh. It was good for getting out and walking a lot - which we enjoy. It was a decent and somewhat steep walk to and from the carpark, but that is to be expected in these English house and gardens - and what makes them special - so peaceful and sprawling. Loved the beautiful gardens and all the Mughal style statues throughout the grounds. Had a very nice tour of the house - which was quite interesting. Even stopped to have a nice cup of tea at the Orangery.

Thank pasowine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a fabulous afternoon visit, starting with tea and cake before the house opened, an informative short tour of part of the house and then time spent in the lovely gardens among water features and superb architecture. What a treat and what a gem.

Thank SynchroSwimmer-Helga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful place but very saddened to find that the gardens are not dog friendly. Can understand the house but the Cotswolds is such a dog friendly place with thousands of dog lovers - very surprised that dogs are not allowed on leashes even outdoors here a real shame.

Thank amy1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Sezincote on a glorious October afternoon. The house itself was not open but the extensive gardens were and it was only £5 per person. The house is stunning and unusual and sits beautifully in the landscape. The gardens contain an attractive formal pond and a rill which cascades down to a larger lake. There are many unusual trees and shrubs and the autumn colour was superb. So glad we sought this out.

1  Thank hampshiresparrowhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We went to Sezincote having seen some positive reviews. It really is a beautiful landscaped Estate with a lovely stone built Indian themed house with some lovely gardens. There is also a lovely Tea Room in The Orangerie. Will definitely come again. Free entry through Historic Houses Membership.

2  Thank Mickletonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Visiting this Historic Houses Association property is by guided tour only. As we have found when visiting other properties in this association the guide was welcoming, friendly and very knowledgeable, she made the house and its history come alive. Our guide was very thoughtful and took particular care of the elderly visitors, showing those with mobility problems seats they could use while she was speaking and offering to carry the folding chair to other rooms if necessary. The tour was interesting and not overly long, the house and contents easily viewed with good lighting, unlike some National Trust properties we have visited recently where the darkness of the interior has spoiled our enjoyment.

Thank NormanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Interesting history to an unusual country house. Great guided tour. Lovely gardens (but watch out for the pond where one poor visitor fell in during our visit!).

Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

With regard to some of the previous comments it’s worth pointing out that this isn’t a National Trust Property, or similar, it is a private house that the owner is, for a small fee, allowing us to visit. The Paradise Garden and Orangery are a real surprise and look stunning in afternoon sun. It is easy to understand why this is a popular wedding venue. The house tour is interesting and the remaining gardens and spring fed waterfalls are pleasant with lots of hidden surprises.

I loved the informality of Sezincote including the relaxed service of coffee and cakes in the orangery, the family dog with its head through the cat flap and the lady in the kiosk. Her customer service training might need reaffirming but I certainly didn’t find her offensive if anything she amused me.

2  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

On arrival at the entrance we had to pay at a kiosk.the woman inside was easilly the rudest person I have met for a long time (think basil fawlty) not a good start.then the lady guide who gave the house tour was struggling for something to say about the house. But the garden was nice. Won't bother again

Thank peter o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

A stately home like no other ! Outside it looks like an Indian palace, inside it is a Regency mansion. It was the inspiration of the Royal Pavilion in Brighton. The views from the grounds over the plain & distant hills are magnificent. The Humphrey Repton valley is fascinating. The grounds are most attractive & under-stated,. They were featured on Gardeners World on BBC TV & so on the day we went there, there were large crowds. The house & grounds close at the end of September & do not open again till next Spring. Bookings in advance are NOT allowed & you have to pay the entrance fee of £10.00 pp by cash. So if you want to get in, arrive by 1.30 pm. In the party that we were assigned to, there were at last 30 people & the tour of the house took only 30 minutes. You see the hall, stairs, three rooms on the first floor & one n the ground floor. The tea in the Orangery is a lovely setting & was delightful. Well worth going, but plan your strategy & timing carefully t make teh most of your visit

Thank sinclairselections
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews