We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food worth travelling for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Hart Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Food worth travelling for”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent stay and service but the food outshone everything else. The duck had amazing flavours and was perfectly cooked and my husband had the fillet which he said melted in his mouth! Well done kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proffeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    539
    123
    37
    14
See reviews for
230
1,203
50
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Couldn't fault anything!
Only stayed one night celebrating my Mother's 80th birthday, with all the family (18 in total)
We had a lovely meal together,the food was great and the staff were very attentive and even put balloons up for us and decorated the table.
We enjoyed the rest of the evening in a lovely lounge area, which we had to ourselves.
The rooms were nicely decorated and clean, the bed was so comfy I slept like a log, the blackout curtains were great!
Breakfast was lovely with lots of choices for everyone!
Check in and out was also very good, all the staff were very friendly, helpful and informative!
Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish632013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Having just returned home from spending 1 night here I feel I must tell you are how lovely this hotel really is. As soon as we walked in to the cobbl floored reception I knew there was something special about this place and it didn't disappoint. Reception staff were very friendly and we were showed to our room immediately. The hotel building is 500 yrs old and has so much character-wibbly-wobbly stairs and corridor which I really liked.
The hotel room was nice and spacious and as modern as a building of this age could be. The bathroom was basic but clean and adequate. The room itself was decorated quite modern and luxurious and my eldest was happy that they had Ethernet connection for his laptop! The usual tv iron, tea/coffee facilities, fan for warm nights. Very comfy beds!
We had dinner in the restaurant-scallops, fish and chips,apple strudel for my hubby, asparagus and poached egg, chicken with the most amazingly gorgeous bacon and mushroom roll, cheeseboard or me, homemade scotch egg, lasagne and a trio of strawberry sweets for my eldest and for my youngest (who eats hardly anything) some homemade breads with skinny chips and chocolate brownie for pudding. It was served by friendly attentive staff and we thoroughly enjoyed it all.
We went through to one of the many little snug areas for coffee to finish off our meal. A lovely evening. Reception staff eased each time they saw us if hy could get anything for us. We usually stay in much larger hotel and you don't usually get this level of attention. A wonderful stay and we will be definately returning here again but next one hopefully for longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendywomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed two nights (Fri & Sat) mid-August and we payed for B&B plus a meal in their restaurant on one night. We checked in on the Friday and after having a bit of trouble finding a parking space, settled into the room. Clean and comfortable with all the necessary bits & bobs. The parking thing took on another dimension when the we realised that the few prime private spaces at the back of the hotel were being used by the staff (we overlooked this car park and saw them grrr.) Anyway, back to the positives... The meal we had on the Saturday night was exceptional. As it was part of our "deal" we were given totally free choice off the menu. We both had starters, mains & sweets and everything was superb. The bill would have totalled nearly £80 had it not been included - excellent value. Breakfasts were again good quality and you had the option to eat alfresco if you so wished. Fruit & Yoghurt followed by a choice of English breakfast or salmon & scabled eggs or omelettes etc.
The place has some really good history too, and makes a great base for any Cotswold experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandKDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 days at this lovely hotel. There are many, many positives: the building is so charming and picturesque, there are a lot of areas (including the outdoor space) where you can unwind and relax, the food is exquisite (really recommend eating in the restaurant in the evening) and the staff are lovely and helpful. Having seen all the other inns and having had a drink in a few of them, I definitely think this hotel is the best one in Moreton-in-Marsh. The only thing that didn't wow me about the hotel was the room we were staying in: it overlooked the main road, so was quite noisy during the day (but fine at night time), the decor was very impersonal and didn't match at all the decor of the rest of the hotel. The bathroom was ok, the shower was quite old-fashioned and not particularly powerful, but decent enough. We has asked for a quiet room, but unfortunately it was booked up, so maybe the rooms at the back are quieter and have more charm and personality.
However, overall, if you're planning to visit Moreton-in-Marsh, I would definitely recommend this hotel and I am very pleased we stayed here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, it may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simabo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments, I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the Hotel. We are an Old coaching Inn and all the rooms are different sizes and shapes, we have different styles of bedrooms with standard, executive and feature rooms. The feature and executive rooms do tend to be situated towards the back of the Hotel where it will be quieter, and do have the wow factor, with air conditioning and even their own private garden or patio. The Hotel does have a refurbishment programme and all bedrooms will in time be upgraded, updated and modernised.

Kind Regards
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We did not stay in the hotel but had a dringk in the snug and a meal in the restaurant. The restaurant has a rather dated look ( even for a historic hotel) but the food was excellent... scotch egg, duck gotas cheese croquettes, lasagne. The service was good too,friendly young staff, in contrast to a rather unwelcoming manager/maitre d who came across as a bit inhospitable...unfortunate for some one working in the hospitality industry. Perhaps a ling bank holiday weekend but it would be good to smile! Anyway we would recommned it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markandade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your feedback following your recent visit with us. Your comments are most valuable to us in monitoring our standards of service and hospitality and I am grateful for your constructive comments. I have already given your great feedback to the front of house and kitchen staff your great comments and will talk to my Duty manager about the impression they gave you. Your right first and last impressions count and a welcoming smile is so important.

Kind Regards
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is perfect in many ways. Parking was ample and right outside the hotel, the staff were exceptional, from the reception staff to the wonderful staff in the restaurant at breakfast and in the bar in the evening. So professional. The decor and setting is just perfect and it's an ideal location to explore the Cotswolds. The standard of food could not be faulted - that's one good chef. It was an almost perfect stay.
Our room was a double facing the road and was very comfortable although we didn't get a wink of sleep for the entire night due to the noise from lorries and vehicles passing all night. The hotel is right by a roundabout so it was brakes on, change gear and speed off every few seconds as this is the main route through the Cotswolds. We tried closing the windows but the room was so warm and stuffy that we had to go for the noise option.
We'd stay again but either in the winter when we can close the windows or on the back of the hotel which is quieter. Otherwise, a little air con unit on the ceiling would have done the trick. If you're staying in a double room then certainly go, enjoy everything the hotel has to offer, but take ear defenders.

Room Tip: Check that your room is not at the front of the hotel before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollyanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your feedback following your recent visit with us. Your comments are most valuable to us in monitoring our standards of service and hospitality. The great thing is that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Some of our executive rooms do have air conditioning and some are towards the back or centre of the Hotel and are quieter. All rooms do have secondary glazing and we can offer fans which can help during the few weeks of the summer when we experience very warm weather. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Cotswolds and White Hart Royal.

Kind Regards
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Royal Hotel

Property: White Hart Royal Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Royal Hotel is conveniently located in the market town of Moreton-in-Marsh at the head of the beautiful Evenlode Valley in the English Cotswolds. The principal part of the hotel is early 17th century and has recently reopened following a major restoration and refurbishment program utilising the original building. Its collection of period artifacts and paintings reflects the four centuries of the hotel's evolution while guests now have use of 21st-century facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your White Hart Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Royal Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing