We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Hart Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Hart Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Chose the hotel by chance and had no regrets.
Nice rooms if nothing special but the service and warmth of welcome made the stay
memorable for all the good reasons.

Restaurant provided great food with excellent and friendly service.
Overall nice atmosphere with all requests responded to quickly and with a wish to satisfy.

Will visit again

Room Tip: Steps a little difficult for anyone with any disability. Choose one of a number of ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteroseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    525
    119
    33
    14
See reviews for
219
1,161
47
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale Pa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I took my two adult daughters on a trip to London, Paris, Bath and the Cotswolds. Our stay at the White Hart was our favorite. Although in a historic building, our rooms were updated, fresh and very clean. The staff were so helpful, kind and pleasant, loaning us maps and walking tour books and addressing all our many questions so nicely. We loved the Snug Pub and enjoyed an evening meal and included breakfasts in the dining room. There was also a delightful courtyard. We loved the free WIFI, huge soaking tub, and upscale included soaps. Parking was no problem even on market day. The location is ideal when visiting the Cotswolds. I long to return soon for another visit that will definitely be longer. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Save time in your schedule for a good soak in the huge tubs. Divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shellseeker_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lovely Hotel with very helpful staff. Booked a room on the ground floor at the front with 4 poster bed and a large bathroom. Parking can be a bit of a problem, but as we didn’t us the car all week-end was ok for us. Food was excellent and so was the ale. Would recommend this hotel to anyone in a lovely part of the world.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kendorgardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Noir Room is located on the first floor at the rear of the hotel, courtyard area, nice & quiet.
Large king size bed, sofa, as expected... But the real selling point is the massive oversize bath on a platform, plenty of hot water, biggest bath for 2... Enjoy!!.
Small courtyard, we enjoyed our excellent breakfasts and an enjoyable evening meal, dining al fresco..
Hotel is in a prime location, with friendly staff and pleasant surroundings. Excellent weekend away, with a return visit in the diary.

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard area are away from the main road, therefore quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a family weekend in the Cotswolds and we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, they had already put a cot-bed in our room for our baby. The hotel has a lot of history and is well maintained/refurbished. Fairly comfortable rooms, very clean, and free wifi included. Given that it is 400 years old, the hotel is not well-suited for baby push-chairs but we could manage without that and very much enjoyed the experience. Will go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADMNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed for a single night midweek at the White Hart Royal hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel room was excellent. We had booked the 'Hayloft' room, which was situated at the back of the site, away from any noise from the main road. The room had a lot of character (thanks to the exposed timber beams) yet was spacious enough for the two of us. The room was well equipped, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom clean and modern. The only minor issue we had was that there was no toiletries within the bathroom (aside from handwash), but this was presumably just an oversight. The restaurant was apparently recently refurbished, and was a lovely place to eat. We only had breakfast at the hotel, but there was a wide range of choice and the local food tasted excellent. The snug bar was also a great place to rest at the end of the day, with drinks available at a reasonable price. The hotel was well located, parking was relatively easy (not helped by us arriving during a busy market day) and there is a Tesco express and ASK restaurant situated very close by for those that need it.

Room Tip: The hayloft room is situated at the back of the hotel away from the main road, for those easily dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, one night in room 106 and one night in the Noir room, 106 was lovely and had a little sitting room and a very new bathroom I honestly couldn't fault it, but the Noir room was just beautiful, it's very new, spacious, really well done and the bath in the bedroom was just perfect and huge too, it was no problem switching rooms as house keeping do it for you.
The breakfast was great too, a continental with the option of ordering a cooked breakfast (no extra charge) and we had dinner on one of the nights, again the food was lovely and well priced, but there are also plenty of restaurants around we had a lovely meal at the spice rooms.
I think the hotel is very well priced and all the staff were very helpful and not just polite but nice too.

It's doubtful we'd go back to the Cotswolds soon but I'd recommend this hotel to everyone I know and they allow dogs :) it's perfect for a short break away, I'll definitely be looking up there other hotels.

Rose lovelock

Room Tip: I think you'd find any rooms lovely but if you can go with the Noir room or garden room (it look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajiv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Royal Hotel

Property: White Hart Royal Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Royal Hotel is conveniently located in the market town of Moreton-in-Marsh at the head of the beautiful Evenlode Valley in the English Cotswolds. The principal part of the hotel is early 17th century and has recently reopened following a major restoration and refurbishment program utilising the original building. Its collection of period artifacts and paintings reflects the four centuries of the hotel's evolution while guests now have use of 21st-century facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your White Hart Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Royal Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing