We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest most welcoming hotel you could hope to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Redesdale Arms, where the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. We were a group of 14 adults and 6 children, aged 5 and under. The rooms were lovely, the food was really nice meaning even our fussy children ate well. There were cosy bars with log fires where children and dogs were welcome and a separate room at the back of the hotel where we were all able to eat as a group without worrying about the children disturbing other diners as we had it to ourselves. We will definitely be returning and for a group wishing to stay in the Cotswolds I would whole heatedly recommend this hotel. The nearby wildlife park is a great day out with the kids as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed great. We had a family room that was spacious for 3 of us. My Mum had a standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for writing. I am so glad that your family had a great Easter with us and the children especially enjoyed the Easter eggs.

Robert Smith, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked Redesdale Arms Hotel at the last minute for a short easter break having never visited Moreton in Marsh before.

The hotel is fantastically situated in the heart of the village and upon arriving just after lunch we were able to secure a parking spot in the car park behind the hotel. Parking is limited but in any event you can park on the street for free.

We spent the afternoon pottering around the shops, pubs and tea houses of Moreton and Stow and it was pleasing that RA was the most vibrant and cosy place that we visited.

We checked into our room (29) which was a junior suite in the annex. Room was nice with a king sized bed and small lounge area. The bathroom whilst perfectly fine in size and decor did possess a shower that tended to spray the remainder of the bathroom leaving a soaking wet floor!

As part of our one night deal, we were booked into the restaurant for dinner in the evening. (£179 for room, dinner and breakfast).

The meal itself was excellent and included three courses together with a bottle of house wine. If we were to have one criticism the staff were slightly over eager and at one point we thought we may be in and out within 45 mins.

Breakfast was also top class comprising a full english buffet or choice from a more specialist menu.

Over all the staff were incredibly friendly and we really enjoyed our brief stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wimbledon198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. Although it has been a very cold Easter, I am glad you managed to get around the local area. I hope to see you again soon, when it finally warms up.
Frances Malins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were extended a warm welcome by Reception at this lovely hotel. (A decent sized car park can be found to the rear, by taking the back road which runs parallel with the main high street). We were also given a gorgeous room - Modern, but stylish and very large with a bed to match. It had its own small outside terrace which over looked the gardens. Sadly it was the end of February and very cold out, so it was used in the main to grab a quick breath of fresh air, due to room being very warm on occasions, and to chill down the complimentary sherry found on the hospitality tray in our Bedroom - a nice touch. We enjoyed a pleasant drink by the large open fire in the lounge bar and also a very tasty meal in the Conservatory Restaurant (the main Restaurant had a function on the evening of our stay). This did not detract from our enjoyment as the food was good and the service friendly and on the ball. We had taken the DB&B option and were pleasantly surprised at the large choice of food available to us. Everything from the A la carte Menu in fact, just a small supplement for Fillet Steak. The breakfast was buffet style and very busy, but again the staff were on hand, making sure all were seated and served in the minimum of time. I would highly recommend this hotel and Moreton itself. Everyone there was very welcoming and there are some nice shops to browse. I do believe this hotel, come the higher season, only takes a minumum 2 night weekend booking, which may preclude some people. We went out of season when the standard of accommodation offered was simply first class and extremely good value. Higher season will undoubtedly see tarifs rise according to room choice.

Room Tip: I think ours was Room no 32 - separated from the main hotel - up a small stair case and had its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clootiedumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Cotswold's and in particular the Redesdale. I hope you will be able to come back again when the weather is a bit warmer to enjoy the stunning countryside and local walks.

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just back from one night stay at this hotel - really friendly and welcoming staff team - excellent breakfast - we booked for dinner and that too was delicious - it was so cold nothing for it but to relax in front of the blazing log fires - standard room was fine - a little tired but cosy and bed was very comfortable - Manager had left a complimentary bottle of chilled sparkling wine in the room - such a nice touch - such a shame that a fair had parked up in the high street - lights music and rides - not quite in keeping with The Cotswolds! - we really enjoyed our stay and hope to return - but it'll have to be in the Autumn/Winter so we can enjoy those wonderful log fires!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for praising the hospitality you received at The Redesdale, we try very hard to make guests welcome.
Sorry about the fair, luckily it is at the other end of town and not near the hotel. I agree it doesn’t add much to the charm of an ancient market town. However it is only on two weekends a year.
Hope to see you again soon.

Robert Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent two nights at the Redesdale Arms for a nearby wedding, and it was a great place to stay. Very centrally located and much more affordable than some other hotels in the Cotswolds. We had a very pleasant room at the back, and also loved sitting in the pub area with the log fire. Really nice staff and I'd love to go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indiewendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for reviewing The Redesdale.
I am so glad you enjoyed your wedding weekend and staying with us. We have always prided ourselves on offering value for money in a professional yet relaxed atmosphere. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We chose a 2-night break at the hotel - what a good decision this turned out to be. This hotel really understands customer care - a genuine warm welcome, attentive service, first class accommodation and very good VFM food (and the roaring logs fires were superb). Well done Redesdale Arms Hotel - we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithlee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you; look forward to seeing you in the warmer weather.
Robert Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent all round. Everyone very polite, nice log fire in the bar, excellent breakfast with everything to choose from and as much as you want.Was given an upgraded room on arrival. one of the nicest places we have stayed

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip in the Cotswold's.
Robert Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,150 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,086 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: $104 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing