We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Manor House Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
$478
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$227
$220
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
$157
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charingworth Manor(Chipping Campden)
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa(Chipping Campden)
$278
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Bear(Shipston on Stour)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Royal Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noel Arms Hotel(Chipping Campden)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,248)
Filter reviews
1,248 results
Traveler rating
747
388
83
21
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
388
83
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdecanter of sherrymews roombreakfast was buffet stylewhirlpool bathlounge barmain buildingjunior suitebottled watermodern bathroomhigh streetexcellent breakfasttea and coffee making facilitieshuge bedevening mealbiscuitslog firehigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
832 - 837 of 1,248 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent all round. Everyone very polite, nice log fire in the bar, excellent breakfast with everything to choose from and as much as you want.Was given an upgraded room on arrival. one of the nicest places we have stayed

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip in the Cotswold's.
Robert Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent staff make this hotel well worth considering. When we arrived I was a little worried by the amount of signage outside offering 'meal deals' which made it look like a pub chain premises. However this was dispelled as soon as we went inside. The staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant. We stayed in Room 30 with my grandson Jack who is 2 years old. The room has an alcove with a sofa bed which meant that we could watch TV without disturbing Jack in the evening. Staff offered to cook an early tea for him if he could not wait until the restaurant opened.
We did not use the public bar which seemed busy with a lovely log fire but everything we did use was very good

Room Tip: Room 30 if travelling with a small child
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for posting a review. It is very kind to compliment all the staff so highly. They all work so hard to make guests feel at home.
Robert Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is situated in the heart of the small town in the high street. There is parking outside but this is restricted during daytime hours to two hours. There is a car park at the rear of the hotel for about 20 vehicles.
Check in was very quick and the staff were very polite and welcoming. Free WI-FI access was available and the code was given on checking in. All the communal areas were very tastefully laid out and the bar areas were lovely with a hearty real fire burning.
The nearest cashpoint was left out of the hotel front door and about 70 yards along was a tesco express. Other cashpoints were available nearby. The town itself is quite small and there were plenty of tea rooms and other small shops to visit. next door to the hotel was a lovely cheese shop selling lots of delights to get your tastebuds tingling.
I was allocated room 35 which was at the very end of the courtyard up a spiral staircase. I enetered through a small lobby area with a wardrobe and the bathroom was directly in front. The bedroom was to the right. In the lobby area was a small slot to place your key fob to allow the lights to operate. The bedside lights operate without having to use this, as does the other electrical items in the room. The bed was a large Queensize with 6 pillows across it. The bedding was quite modern as was the room decor. There was a large freeview faltscreen TV fixed to the wall above the dressing table. Tea and coffee making facilities were also in the room with free sparkling and still water. Also on the table was a half full decanter of sherry.
There was bedside lights either side of the bed and a modern radio alarm clock. Plenty of electrical sockets for charging laptops and phones.
The bathroom was a nice size with a shower cubicle. There was free gels and soap provided along with cotton buds and cotton wool balls. A box of tissues was also in the bedroom. The only downside to this shower was the lack of jet of water. There was a heated towel rail with large bath towels thereon(slightly devoid of being fluffy).
The bed was very comfortable and i had a lovely sleep.
We ate in the bar and had a very lovely meal. I chose the fillet steak option £21.95 which was cooked as i had ordered. I chose chips to go with it but they came out as french fries which was a shame because the chips that came out with the beer battred haddock were very much better. There was a good selection of beers in the bar and as im a real ale drinker i tried all 3 that were on top from the local area. They range from 3.5% to 4.6% and all were of good taste.
Breakfast was a choixce of several different cold choices along with a full english which was all help yourself. There was a menu for ordered dishes as well. Coffee and tea was served to youyr table by the waitress along with a selection of toast and croissants.
If in the area i would definitely recommend staying here and I would do so again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Courtyard
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissTonyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a very detailed review.
I am so glad you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay at The Redesdale and Moreton in Marsh itself.
Robert Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We always stay in hotels with high ratings on Tripadvisor and usually they are very accurate. However, I must say I am surprised by the number of 5 star reviews as based on my experience this is an average hotel with some good points and some not so good. First the good.....it is reasonably priced (al least by Cotswold standards), it is well located in the centre of the town, it has a large free car park and has free Wifi.
The not so good....THe bedrooms in the main building are full of character which I like but in our room the shower was practically impossible to use with a very slow flow of water and temperature control impossible. It was so bad we did not use it on our final day. I did report this to reception so hopefully this will be attended to. The standard of service varied from excellent to poor. When we arrived we were told that our room wasn't ready which is fair enough but the lady on reception simply said come back in an hour (no apology or explanation). We came back in an hour and were told it was still not ready, could we come back in 15 minutes. Bearing in mind it was pouring with rain this was a poor option. Eventually we were offered a coffee in the bar while we waited another 15 minutes to get our room key. Breakfast was satisfactory but the scrambled egg which had to be specially ordered had a strange texture as if it had been microwaved.
Overall, the hotel is what I would describe as homely and if you look past the dated decor and pine furniture it offers reasonable accommodation at a reasonable price which is why it gets a 3 star review and not 5 star. (By the way if you want a 5 star experience in Moreton stay at the Manor House Hotel just down the road but you will have to pay 5 star prices).

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TimetoTravelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

I am so pleased you decided to stay at The Redesdale during your visit to The Cotswold's. Sorry the weather was so awful that weekend.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments which we will use in a positive manner to continue to improve our service.
Robert Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at hotel for a 2 night break, when we booked in they had upgraded our room for us to a deluxe room . The room was excellent with a huge bed, room very clean and a lovely large bathroom. Staff very helpfull and friendly the bar was reasonably priced and had a very cosy log fire. The buffet breakfast was the best i have ever had at an hotel it had everything fruit, cereal, yogurts and then the cooked breakfast also they had a special menu if you prefered with porridge, smoked salmon, kippers and any preference of cooked egg. I would stay here again if i visited the cotswolds

Room Tip: Book an upgraded room these are situated in the annex at back of the hotel
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tunafish69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Your comments have been passed on to all the staff.
Many thanks
Francis Malins
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews