We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Manor House Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
$477
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$227
$220
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
$157
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charingworth Manor(Chipping Campden)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa(Chipping Campden)
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Royal Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stag Lodge(Stow-on-the-Wold)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Noel Arms Hotel(Chipping Campden)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,248)
Filter reviews
1,248 results
Traveler rating
747
388
83
21
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
388
83
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdecanter of sherrymews roombreakfast was buffet stylewhirlpool bathlounge barmain buildingjunior suitebottled watermodern bathroomhigh streetexcellent breakfasttea and coffee making facilitieshuge bedevening mealbiscuitslog firehigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
835 - 840 of 1,248 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We always stay in hotels with high ratings on Tripadvisor and usually they are very accurate. However, I must say I am surprised by the number of 5 star reviews as based on my experience this is an average hotel with some good points and some not so good. First the good.....it is reasonably priced (al least by Cotswold standards), it is well located in the centre of the town, it has a large free car park and has free Wifi.
The not so good....THe bedrooms in the main building are full of character which I like but in our room the shower was practically impossible to use with a very slow flow of water and temperature control impossible. It was so bad we did not use it on our final day. I did report this to reception so hopefully this will be attended to. The standard of service varied from excellent to poor. When we arrived we were told that our room wasn't ready which is fair enough but the lady on reception simply said come back in an hour (no apology or explanation). We came back in an hour and were told it was still not ready, could we come back in 15 minutes. Bearing in mind it was pouring with rain this was a poor option. Eventually we were offered a coffee in the bar while we waited another 15 minutes to get our room key. Breakfast was satisfactory but the scrambled egg which had to be specially ordered had a strange texture as if it had been microwaved.
Overall, the hotel is what I would describe as homely and if you look past the dated decor and pine furniture it offers reasonable accommodation at a reasonable price which is why it gets a 3 star review and not 5 star. (By the way if you want a 5 star experience in Moreton stay at the Manor House Hotel just down the road but you will have to pay 5 star prices).

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TimetoTravelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

I am so pleased you decided to stay at The Redesdale during your visit to The Cotswold's. Sorry the weather was so awful that weekend.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments which we will use in a positive manner to continue to improve our service.
Robert Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at hotel for a 2 night break, when we booked in they had upgraded our room for us to a deluxe room . The room was excellent with a huge bed, room very clean and a lovely large bathroom. Staff very helpfull and friendly the bar was reasonably priced and had a very cosy log fire. The buffet breakfast was the best i have ever had at an hotel it had everything fruit, cereal, yogurts and then the cooked breakfast also they had a special menu if you prefered with porridge, smoked salmon, kippers and any preference of cooked egg. I would stay here again if i visited the cotswolds

Room Tip: Book an upgraded room these are situated in the annex at back of the hotel
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tunafish69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Your comments have been passed on to all the staff.
Many thanks
Francis Malins
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We use this hotel reasonably frequently as is on route to where we moor our narrowboat,having trvelled up from westcountry,this is an ideal stopover.The welcoe is always very warm,the rooms
are also very welcoming,and always very clean.On arrival in your room.you are greeted with a carafe of sherry,very nice touch.The rooms at rear of hotel are in our opinion the nicest.It also has a very welcoming bar,with a real log fire in winter.
Very well situated if you want to explore the cotswolds,and a fie selection of shops nearby.
We love it there and are sure you will too.

Room Tip: Try and reserve a room at rear of hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PENANGMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

I always find it a pleasure to welcome back our regular guests. Thank you for your positive comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Francis Malins
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have just stayed here for 3 nights, and we were so impressed, we have booked to stay again next year. The staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean spacious and well appointed. The food was excellent, we really couldn't find fault with anything. We used it a a base for the festival at Cheltenham , and are looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyCPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a truly wonderful place to stay in the beautiful Cotswolds for many reasons.Firstly the atmosphere is warm and hospitable and all the staff are friendly, well presented, attentive and efficient .I slept well on a comfy bed which was not too hard but not ridiculously soft either .The whole hotel is tastefully decorated with especially the dinning room being a pleasant room to be i, and the lounge areas with roaring fires which are so welcoming .I had delicious meal of steak cooked exactly as I ordered and I also tasted the mushroom risotto, which was divine .The desserts were fabulously presented and totally yummy .Breakfast was also good because the prunes apricots and fruit was drizzled in the most sumptuous juice.All in all a brilliant place to stay -Thanks folks

Room Tip: Room seven has a lovely bathroom and bath .
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 569sezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews