We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Christmas Break 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just returned from a 3 day Christmas Break from the 24/12 - 27/12. This was our second stay at the hotel and once again we had a fantastic time. We took our 2 daughters who are 16 & 20 and stayed in the executive junior suites. Both the rooms were absolutely superb with everything you could hope for including a complimentary decanter of sherry. The food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble. The King size beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept in. Will definitely be booking again and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone with or without children. Thanks again to Robert and all the staff for a fantastic time this Christmas.

Room Tip: The new executive rooms are fantastic with 42" TV and amazingly comfortable King Size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREW L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just returned from a 3-day Christmas break with the Redesdale and it was wonderful. The staff were efficient, cheerful and couldn't do enough for you. Food was excellent from breakfast to evening meals. The atmosphere was friendly with a mix of residents and locals. Lovely old property in a brilliant location for visiting the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for your review.
I am so glad you had a memorable Christmas with us.
Happy New Year
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed for a couple of nights in October as it was convenient for the Cotswolds Falconry Centre nearby. I had one of the mews rooms, which I preferred as they are quieter than the main hotel, and getting luggage in is easy as you park right outside. I didn't get the upgrade the booking company said I might get as it was a busy weekend. Although a little disappointed with that, nevertheless it was a very nice room, nice bedding and quite spacious. There were a few little niggles - there was no light in the corner with the dressing table and mirror (it was like the Black Hole of Calcutta!), the plastic bath panel had several cracks and a hole in it, and the heated towel rail didn't work - a shame as the bathroom was otherwise very nicely done out. All quite strange cosidering those rooms were built this year! However, it didn't spoil my stay there. The staff were very pleasant and friendly, and couldn't do enough for you. The hotel itself is full of character and I loved the roaring fires. It is very convenient for the town itself with all its little shops and restaurants, including several antique shops. I did find it a bit pricey, but the same can probably be said for anywhere in the Cotswolds. The buffet breakfast (which I had to pay extra for) was superb. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you like peace and quiet, or have trouble with stairs, ask for one of the rooms in the extension...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at The Redesdale Arms Hotel on TripAdvisor.
It is through feedback from our guests that we can try and improve on the services.
Happy Christmas and I hope we will see you again soon,.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have now stayed 5 times this year while visiting family and each time it has been a new wonderful experience as the seasons change. This time we had warm logs fires to relax by, while enjoying a pint of their lovely Redesdale Arms bitter. A comfortable hotel with very good accommodation, great food and the hotel staff were very helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The Redesdale Ale, is especially brewed for us by Wickwar Brewery, which is a small independent Cotswold Brewer.
Happy Christmas
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I recently arranged for a group of us from work to have a weekend in the Cotswolds and chose the Redesdale Arms. It proved an excellent choice. Great atmosphere in the bar with roaring log fire and plenty of locals as well as residents. Solo use of conservatory for dinner. Range of bedrooms from original building to newer rooms in the courtyard. Right in the heart of Moreton in Marsh so excellent for shopping and antiques hunting.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

We are delighted that you chose to stay at The Redesdale Hotel during your trip to The Cotswold's.
Your compliments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to all the staff, thank you.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

A group of us had a meal here just before Christmas. We were looked after the whole time, the staff were all very helpful. The food could not be faulted and one person commented that it was the best pheasant casserole he had tasted.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyannWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind words.We are so glad that your family get together was so successful.
I agree the Chefs Pheasant casserole is amazing.
We are blessed to be surrounded in the Cotswold's with so many local ingredients. All year we have a steady supply of Game and locally grown produce.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

High praise for this lovely hotel. I recently stayed with 5 friends for a short break and we couldn't have been happier. We required 3 rooms, one of which had to be accessible. The hotel could not have been more helpful, we were even given a free upgrade to the executive rooms....in future I would pay the extra for one of these rooms. They are large, comfortable rooms decorated in neutral colours. There are complimentary bottles of water and even sherry if you would like it. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided and if you would prefer fresh milk instead of the UHT you have only to ask. The bathroom was quite small but fully functional...just missing an extractor fan we felt.
Breakfast was wonderful....a cold buffet, cereals, fruit, juices, pastries with a freshly cooked to order hot menu too.
Parking was available directly outside our rooms and was free.
We ate in the restaurant on both of our nights...the first because it was convenient, the second because it was so good on the first night. the staff were so friendly and helpful...true service with a smile. there was even de-icer available for our cars.
The train station is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel, we spent a day in Oxford. there was also a busy market on the Tuesday.
All in all a lovely trip, I would definitely stay here again and would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Worth paying for the executive rooms, although I do not know what the standard rooms are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilywhite107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

We are so please your group loved your stay in the The Cotswold's and that your visit was a memorable one. Your kind words are very much appreciated and have been passed on to all the staff, thank you.
Happy Christmas
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,174 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
995 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
318 reviews
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: $108 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing