We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at this lovely old hotel last weekend, after reading reviews on Trip Adivsor. The staff were very helpful, especially the restaurant waiting staff. The food in their recently refurbished restaurant was excellent (and we can be hard to please!). The cooked breakfast was the best I have had in a hotel for a very long time (and that includes top London hotels) - the sausages (from the local butcher) were gorgeous! The hot food in the buffet was regularly re-filled. The Dinner both nights was fabulous.
We had a mews room in the modern extension. We had a bit of a problem with the heated radiator/towel rail in the bathroom which didn't work at all, but the manager bought us a portable one which surficed. Also a problem with parking - the car park was full and therefore we had to park outside the front of the hotel in the street and walk all the way through the hotel and back to the furthest away room. Not a really problem though not ideal. We would have liked a room safe (I would imagine foreign visitors would expect this) but didn't matter too much as we kept stuff in the car glove box. Apart from this, it was all very comfortable. We had the DBB rate, with a much better rate for the Sunday night. We thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

823 - 829 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just returned from 2 night stay in one of the Mews rooms. Fabulous room with superb bathroom including jacuzzi bath. Tea/Coffee making facilities and a decanter of sherry if you wanted something stronger! Very friendly and welcoming staff. At check in was shown to room. Extremely nice restaurant and the staff were very kind and moved us to a more preferble table when it became free. On the down side though my steak was not cooked as I'd ordered and we did have to wait nearly half an hour for our meal to arrive - I did mention it to the waitress but no response from the chef. My partner's meal was good! Breakfast was excellent with plenty of hot and cold food to serve all tastes. Lovely log fires in the bar and whilst there was a TV screen in there the sound was down so it wasn't intrusive.

A good base for exploring the Cotswolds and all in all an excellent place to stay. Would definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: Mews rooms seem very good if they are all like ours which was called Batsford
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH6356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on a special 3 course dinner, bottle of wine, bed and breakfast, very good value excellant food!
Our Mews room was as new, comfy ex large king size bed, sofa, desk and a large modern bathroom.
Our only complaint would be was it was very hot everywhere bar, restaurant, room. Glad the log fire wasn't roaring!!
Would highly recommend, good base for sightseeing around Cotswolds

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane53England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I found the accommodation to be a little tired but quaint, clean and well appointed (free Tea and coffee, biscuits and even Sherry!!!)

The restaurant has obviously been refurbished recently to a high standard and the meals, breakfast and evening were very god, well presented and enjoyable. Breakfast is traditional British fayre, the evening menu towards "Bistro", limited but with daily specials.

All staff were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and i stayed here for two nights, mews room was lovely and clean and very quiet. The staff were a little hit and miss if i'm honest, they weren't unpleasant but then again seemed quite dissinterested... maybe we just caught them on a bad day or two. We ate on the first night. food was 'ok' the 'gravy' which was served with the sausage was very over-reduced and tasted like pure bovril so didnt eat there again, it was a shame really because the restaraunt setting is lovely. also watch your bill if its added to your room as someone had charged food and drinks to our room. no quibbles with it being removed so it was sorted.. all in all i would stay here again we both enjoyed it, the extra touches like the free sherry, coffee/tea and water all add to the experience. i think we just hit a bad couple of days there but they werent that bad that we were put off from staying again, just niggles. great base for exploring, plenty of places to eat and drink (£3.50 a pint everywhere) . lovely rooms with nice touches.

Room Tip: the mews were lovely and quiet done to a high spec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joemac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I were made to feel very welcome and staff were very attentive to our needs - my husband uses a wheelchair. The mews room, while not large, was large enough (we removed the cow hide rug). The bed was enormous and comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped for a wheelchair user. However, the water temperature was very tricky - either hot, hot or cold. I believe this was a temporary fault. Excellent tea, coffee and sherry options were provided. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant and particularly the breakfast. Staff were very helpful enen though it was a self serve arrangement. Thank you Redesdale!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizK101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My lady companion and i stayed at The Redesdale Arms in early October.The mews rooms were excellent with high standards of furnishings and cleanliness.The breakfasts and evening meals also of high quality.The staff were excellent--pleasant,friendly and tried to be as helpful as possible.We both look forward to visiting the hotel again in the future. John H./Veronica S.-----Doncaster

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,964 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,123 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
36 reviews
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,045 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: $129 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing