We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just returned from a 3 nights stay at the Redesdale Arms Hotel, Moreton-in-Marsh. We were most impressed with the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. The breakfast was buffet style with a wide variety of choice to suit everyones tastes in pleasant surroundings. We also ate dinner in the restaurant and one evening used room service from the bar menu and were quite impressed with the tray that was brought to the room. On arrival we were greeted with a clean, comfortable room with complimentary sherry, ample selection of tea, coffee and biscuits. The bath towels were lush and we were always re-supplied daily with toiletries along with fresh towels. This was a breath of fresh air compared to other higher rated hotels we have recently stayed at who short-changed us on towels, and believe me, there are plenty out there. So good on you Redesdale! This hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Cotswold towns, with the added bonus of a mainline train station a few minutes walk away which we used to spend a day in Oxford. All in all we highly recommend the Redesdale Arms Hotel and will certainly return in the future. Many thanks to you and your staff for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slateLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
There are newer reviews for Redesdale Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have just got back from the Redesdale arms hotel it was the perfect weekend break and both me and my husband cannot wait to return. The rooms were very comfortable we had breakfast and evening meal and the food was really lovely. The staff were friendly and worked very hard. Moreton in marsh is a beautiful place with lots of lovely shops I will most definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Chose this hotel thanks to Trip Advisor recommendations. This is where the staff go the extra mile which is great. Superb location for Moreton in the Marsh and the Cotswolds. Had a lovely room in the Mews Room section - large with comfortable beds and a modern bathroom. Parking right next to the room which was very useful. Did the wine and dine option which was great value. Food excellent. There were a few things that could be improved though. A smaller, paper menu with just local specialities and good snacks would be better. Also the wine selection could include more expensive, named wines, which would match the food. The fact that the hotel caters mostly for day trippers means there is no hotel lounge which is a shame. But worth the trip.

Room Tip: Choose a mews room. The others are in the main building which looks old and possibly small.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cambio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The guy who checked us in was outstanding. He left his desk to show us the best place to park, carried bags from our car and showed us into the room. All unexpected and very welcomed.

The room was quite modern and very nice. As we arrived quite late and were in need of a drink, we thought the complimentary decanter of sherry was a great touch! Bathroom was excellent. Could not fault the room really.

The breakfast service was also very good. A hot and cold buffet with great table service of toast, croissants, coffee, etc.

We paid 125 GBP for a 3 person room. This was a little more than any other poub we stayed in. But it was also the nicest, so probably represents OK value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Staff extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent, so were the evening meals. Our room was lovely - clean, fresh and spacious. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazz469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you so much for finding the time to post a review and your kind words.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Staff were friendly and helpful, but I would definitely recommend booking a table for dinner in advance if you plan on eating there. The meals were very nice - an absolutely huge serving of fish and chips, and delicious mushy peas. However the rooms weren't fantastic. Our whole room was on a lean, with everything slanting back towards the door. The bed was two single beds pushed together, and this also had a lean to it, resulting in a bit of an uncomfortable night's sleep. Pillows weren't great either. Shower was hard to control in terms of temperature, and there wasn't much pressure. Appreciated the free wifi, but it often dropped in and out. Overall, I'd definitely eat there again but would probably look for somewhere else to stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am obviously pleased you loved our food but disappointed that you did not enjoy the room.
The room you refer to is in the very oldest part of the hotel and dates back to 1654. I agree it is very uneven and completely take on board your comments; however we purposely have never changed it due to its character (not to mention the grade one listing). Apart from the seven rooms in the main building we do have twenty five that are of a modern structure, including the new Mews rooms that have been purpose built in 2012. As you enjoyed the food and service, I do hope you would come and stay again in one of those.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our daughter found the Redesdale on the Internet for us while we were inLondon. We were travelling by train and Moreton-in-Marsh was the railway station central to the Cotswalds we had a 5 day stay here and found everyone to be very pleasant and helpful. Joseph was very promp on answering emails and when we arrived found the girl at the desk(think her name was Terry) to be very efficient. Our room was lovely and very clean the housekeeping staff very friendly and advised on places to see and buses to get. Dining room and ar staff very efficient
We would thoroughly recommend The Redesdale to anyone visiting Moreton-in-Marsh

Room Tip: We only stayed in one location but I would say that all rooms would be spotless because the housekee...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

I am so glad that you enjoyed your time ion the Cotswold's. It is amazing that in only one and a half hours from Paddington , you can be in the heart of the Cotswold's.
Many thanks
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,116 reviews
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
969 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: $156 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing