We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful relaxing garden on a hot evening”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing garden on a hot evening”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stopped off here for a drink on a hot summer's evening and ended up having something to eat as well. The garden was so cool and welcoming and the staff really good. I wanted a Hugo ( basically elderflower cordial and prosecco) which they did not know but they happily made me a very represhing drink of elderflower presse and prosecco when I suggested that instead. It was about 6.30 and the menus on the tables were for snacks so we had panini and sandwiches, both excellent, and then the most amazing profiteroles which were light and crunchy! Then we noticed that the people at the next table had a menu. They told us that on Fridays the hotel serves meals from 6.30pm, earlier than usual. Something to note if we pass by again.

Judging by our experience this Friday that would be a pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janekdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words and I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our gardens and staff.

We do of course try to keep on top of all new drinks but I have to admit that the Hugo was a new one even on me. Glad to hear we got around the issue but I would urge you to try some of our cocktails next time! Cant be beaten on a glorious summers evening.

Look forward to welcoming you again in the garden for a full meal next time perhaps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    289
    85
    40
    19
See reviews for
141
644
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed overnight here and had the testing menu in the restaurant. We had a standard room which was very small, not enough room to swing a kitten, however it was tastefully decorated with quality toiletries and towels. Our room overlooked the ground floor roof and was quite near a vent which hummed all night. There is no lift and so we had to drag our small suitcases up a labyrinth of corridors and stairs. ( to be fair we were offered assistance). The tasting menu was good rather than excellent, as were the accompanying wines. The breakfast was good, but not extensive.. Service was faultless, as was the location. It was expensive though, equivalent to London prices.

Room Tip: Avoid the room which overlooks the roof (room 19 I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AltonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Manor House Hotel in Moreton in Marsh and had a lovely stay. The room was nice and clean and the service was very good. The food was of a good quality and breakfast was delicious. The location of the hotel was brilliant right in the heart of the village. Everything you could ask for except the price. This is certainly a four star hotel but with a five star price tag. I consider £175 for the night rather steep in comparison to other four star hotels.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was a nice room on the side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank owain_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and whilst it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much I was disappointed to hear that you felt it wasn't good value for money.

Personally I feel that if we have ticked all the boxes in terms of location, product and service which seemingly we have then we deserve to levy a fair price for this. With the utmost of respect, I may suggest that the price you paid is competitive with regards the Cotswold area and certainly in keeping with other Four Star properties who may well offer lesser levels of service and product.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally and perhaps we can add value further value to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My 3rd anniversary celebrations in Cotswolds last week.
Bourton-on-Water is the best best place to visit in Cotswold, correctly called the VENICE OF COSTWOLDS. Must visit places in Bourton are Birdland Park, Model Village and walk along the canal and eat scones+clotted cream+jam in the any of the many tea rooms situated by the canal.
Bourton-on-Water is a must visit place.

The Manor House Hotel situated in Moreton-in-Marsh is just 6 miles from Bourton. Situated right on the main road, with ample parking - the building is imposing and looks like an Old Victorian house from the inside. We were greeted warmly and led into our room - double room deluxe No. 25 - it was a bit of a walk along the curvy stair cases - but once we reached the room - it was well presented and maintained the essence of the hotel. Nice spacious bathroom.

The hotel boasts of a great garden in the backside.
The morning breakfast area is a a lovely place - we absolutely loved it. Breakfast had a variety of other options much more than the regular English Breakfast available.

This is an ideal place to explore Cotswolds - Places like Stow-on-Wold is only 3 miles, Bouton-on-Water is only 6 miles and Cheltenham is only 30 mins drive.

I would definitely come back to this hotel if I come to Cotswold again :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BipulShukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of not only the hotel but the wonderful Cotswold location.

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed the gardens to the rear of the hotel. They really are a haven of peace and tranquillity and I hope you got to enjoy one of our wonderful cream tea's with a glass of Pimms!

Happy Anniversary once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline,scotland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this quaint hotel.We had an upstairs room with low meams - beware if you are tall!!
Staff were very helpful and despite what I had read about noise levels (only at weekends?) it was relatively peaceful - apart from traffic noise from the busy road.Room was well appointed and bed was very comfortable.Lovely gardens to the rear.
Breakfast was ok - but service a bit inconsistent, a number of guests complained about the length of time for orders to arrive and some incorrect!
We had an issue over pancakes being served which were hard - discovered they were from the previous day! We complained to the duty manager who assured us that it wouldn't happen again - but we didn't order pancakes after that!!!!

Room Tip: Probably more quiet at the rear of the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel won the Condé Nast Johansens Award for Excellence 2013 for Most Outstanding Service and it's not difficult to see why. The reception staff were lovely and couldn't do more to help, including ensuring we were able to eat in the Beagle Brasserie well past 9pm when our dinner reservations fell through elsewhere. As it turns out, we were really pleased they had as the food was absolutely gorgeous! The hotel is immaculate and the gardens are beautiful and well-kept. We had a superior double room and it was well-appointed and comfortable (although the floorboards were a bit on the squeaky side!). There was a function on at the hotel and the music was loud but we were pre-warned and it was switched off at 12:30 but it was nothing foam earplugs couldn't deal with! Breakfast was as good as the previous evening's dinner, again with impeccable service. We stay in lots of hotels and would definitely stay again and we don't say that often. All in all, great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and appreciation of the Johansens award that was well deserved by the team.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your food and time spent in the Brasserie and also glad that we were able to help out with a last minute reservation. The Kitchen Brigade put just as much passion and soul into the food in The Brasserie as they do in the Fine Dining Restaurant and it is nice for their hard work to be recognised with such praise.

A guest saying that they will return in the future is one of the best compliments a hotel like ours can take so we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I looked into a few restaurants around Moreton-in-Marsh during the afternoon and booked the Manor House for dinner on our 2nd night because the atmosphere in the conservatory looked appealing. I believe the menu served in there is the "Beagle Bar and Brasserie" menu, rather than the "Mulberry restaurant" menu.

For the relatively high bill, the food, served by a slightly eccentric crew of eastern european waiters, was disappointing and the portions were rather small. My risotto was plain and unimaginative. Particularly poor was the ricotta cheescake, which resembled a lump of thick, tasteless cream. Overall I got the impression of a kitchen staff going through the motions rather than putting any passion into their creations.

We had a much better experience at the nearby Italian restaurant, "Ask" on the previous night, and I really wish we had just eaten in our hotel, the Redesdale Arms, rather than the Manor House on our 2nd night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mid-range-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your evening with us in The Beagle Brasserie.

It is such a shame that we were not able to discuss this with you at the time and could have perhaps done something to help enjoy your evening more. It would have also given us the opportunity to look at exactly what food wasnt to your liking. Clearly it is difficult for me to comment on the food now without having the opportunity to taste it but I would go so far as to saying that we have never had a Ricotta Cheesecake on the menu and what I believe you are referring to is a New York Style Baked Lemon Cheesecake which is described as this on the menu and made with cream cheese.

Of course I was disappointed to hear that a meal at Ask Pizza was preferred to your experiences with us here but I would suggest that they are two very different restaurants however clearly we have not lived up to our guests expectations if this has been the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing