We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Manor House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Magnificent Manor House”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Manor House at Moreton in Marsh is a really wonderful 17th century building. Centrally located with car park and within close proimity other villages including Bourton on the Water, Broadway and Bibury all worth a visit.

Less than 2 miles away is the Falconry centre and Moreton has an ASK italian restaurant and quaint shops all within walking distance of the hotel.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 5 - overlooks the high street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLSACSJRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    301
    87
    40
    19
See reviews for
151
663
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We got married here in August 2010. We had hoped the ceremony would be in the garden gazebo but unfortunately it rained all day. That was nobody's fault of course and the day was not spoiled. A great place for a fairly intimate civil ceremony, well organized with just the right balance between friendly and formal in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingridula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked a gourmet food and wine lovers package. When we arrived we were greeted by a very welcoming lady at reception. She explained about our package and told us what time dinner was booked for. She then showed us to our room. We booked a standard room it was on the second floor over looking the road at the front. The room was fresh and nicely decorated. Massive bed. The bathroom was a good size with a bath and shower over. They also supply Molten Brown toiletries. The package included a Cotswold cream tea. We took this in the bar. It was delicious.
We went down to the bar before our evening meal. We had a couple of cocktails. They were amazing. We were then shown to our table. We had booked the eight course tasting menu. The waitress explained each wine that went with each course and why it was chosen. The food was delicious. They had fifteen different cheeses and we could choose 4. She explained each one. That also came with a glass for five year old Tawny port. We had a great evening the service was superb.
We slept extremely well too.
Breakfast was served in the conservatory. This too was very nice. They had a very well laid out buffet. After Breakfast we took a wander around the grounds, the gardens are lovely.
Overall we had a fantastic stay and would definitely stay again. Do not be put off that this hotel is ranked three of three. There cannot be much between them.

Room Tip: Room 31 very nice. Massive bed and lovely bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Such a wonderful tale of your time with us here at the hotel and pleasing to hear that you enjoyed yourselves.

I wasnt surprised to hear that you slept well having enjoyed cocktails, eight course tasting menu with wine flight, port and cheese tray! I think we are all jealous!

Look forward to welcoming you home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just got back from honeymoon and wanted to review the Manor House Hotel, which was our wedding venue, as soon as possible.
The entire day, and breakfast the next morning, was perfect. The staff were all without exception helpful, friendly and welcoming, the food was excellent, the rooms were lovely, and Tom (Manor House's wedding planner) had everything expertly organised. We had exclusive use of the venue, which was well worth it - especially as we had a bit of snow and it was definitely too cold for drinks outside!
Lots of guests commented on how nice the hotel was, and they had obviously made sure that everyone felt welcomed - we don't have a single complaint or negative comment about the hotel after our 24 hours there. There were weddings the day before and after ours and the staff must have been very busy, but in spite of this they never made us feel rushed or let any signs of stress show.
We would definitely recommend the Manor House as a wedding venue to anyone considering getting married in the area. It was reasonably priced compared to most venues, but felt far more luxurious than many and was a cosy, warm escape from the snowy March weather!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABCiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Wow! The whole team were pleased to hear that we helped you have the perfect wedding!

We are so lucky to have such a beautiful venue to help us achieve this however a huge amount of credit must go to the wonderful staff we have here who work tirelessly to ensure that every wedding is as individual as you are.

We hope to see you for return Anniversary trips every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been meaning to write this review for some months. We went for lunch at the Manor House Hotel just before Christmas, there was a big group of us, 60 plus people. I was not expecting a good meal because some establishment struggle to serve large parties. However the food was excellent and the service was great. The ambience inside the hotel was very nice and external appearance of the Hotel is Picture Post Card. The thing that I liked was that the waiter placed the meals in front of the guests without having to remind him who had ordered what…..very professional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpindlesCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review and I was pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations by such a long way! Catering for larger parties seems to be somewhat disregarded within hotels however we firmly believe that you should received a similar experience to our guests dining in our Restaurants. This is achieved through attention to detail and the small touches like the waiting staff knowing guests meal choices goes a long way to making the whole event flow much smoother.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

A very needed break and The Manor House effortlessly delivered this in every way-from breakfast to the turn down service in the evening-check in quick-room eclectic,bed so comfortable and Moreton delightful-we will be back xxx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samjrenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Rude staff and alright food. Cheap but no good.The last comment was thanks for no tip. We will not recommend or return. Do not visit:((((((((((((( nice painting on the wall behind the bar though of the hounds

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meredith1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and of course I wish to investigate your negative comments. I would appreciate it if you would make contact with me personally in order for me to gather some more information about when you visited etc.

As you can see from previous reviews, the attitude and helpfullness of our staff is something that is frequently commented on and so I am shocked to hear that a member of the team has come across as rude and wish to deal with this immediately in whatever way necessary.

As someone working in customer service and committed to the experience of all of our guests, I only wish we were given the opportunity as a hotel to talk to you face to face about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,127 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,072 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing