We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The most lovely venue, offering first class service, delicious food, warm and luxurious bedrooms and stunning gardens. We chose the Manor House for our wedding and had exclusive use. We enjoyed the best day of our lives and our guests were all very complimentary, many have suggested they will be returning, as will we!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smarty932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review! The hotel suits Exclusive Use weddings so well and offers that real Country House Hotel 'House Party' feel!

I will ensure that the whole team who looked after you recently are aware of your kind comments as it acts as real inspiration for us to continue the hard work!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Popped in here for a drink and some food during a recent stay in the town. The bar was very comfortable but my food in the brasserie was very disappointing. I had the steak which arrived absolutely drenched in a horrible pepper sauce. I normally enjoy a pepper sauce with my steak but this sauce really took the pleasure away. Note to self: Always ask for the sauce to be served separately in future! The service was very good and taking the steak out of the mix, overall we had a nice time with a good bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank teenagemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your review and of course I was sorry to read that everything wasnt quite up to our usual standard on this occassion. I am unaware if you spoke to a member of the team regarding your meal but I would be happy to discuss this in person and offer my sincere apologies.

Pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the devilish drinks in the Beagle Bar and overall enjoyed your time with us. Please do get in touch as I would love to make amends!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We took advantage of the Spring offer and booked one night in a four poster room with dinner, bed and breakfast last weekend. An email arrived warning us that the music from the hotel's function room would be playing until after midnight and that we would hear it from our bedroom. We did hear it, but it did not keep us awake, and it was nice that we were basically unaffected by the wedding party other than not being able to use the library for a couple of hours in the afternoon. This didn't matter at all as the bar is also a large, comfortable area in which to sit with a drink and a newspaper. The hotel was fully booked, but no area was crowded during our stay and there was plenty of peace and privacy.
We had room 8, overlooking the courtyard with a lovely window seat. The bathroom for this room is small and nicely appointed, but the only heating in there is an electric towel rail which warms the towels but fails to even take the chill off the bathroom - this is due to the fact that the attractive old leaded window does not close properly so there is a constant and ample supply of fresh air. Great in the summer (maybe?), not good in March! We mentioned it to the staff on leaving, and were assured that it would be seen to. The plain white china on the tea tray was very nice, with tea cups and espresso cups. There was no fridge, but an ice bucket with ice was supplied without fuss.
We had cocktails in the bar which were well-mixed and tasty. Dinner was in the Mulberry restaurant - the ambience was calm and welcoming, and the food was excellent. We had informed the hotel of special dietary requirements in advance, and were impressed with the menu that was printed out and the choices offered. This meant there was no need to have a discussion about ingredients with the waiting staff/chef for every course, which made for a more relaxing dining experience. The wine list suited us well.
Breakfast the next morning was another pleasant meal, this time in the conservatory, with plenty of hot and cold food to choose from.
Checkout was efficient. All the staff were attentive and friendly without being too familiar. The only problem we had with service during our stay was the Nespresso machine in our room did not work properly and in spite of reporting it to housekeeping it was not repaired or replaced.
A warm bathroom and a fridge in the room would have pushed this hotel up to 'Excellent' for us, but we thoroughly enjoyed our mini holiday and will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a 2 day business course. The hotel is an absolute gem, food was of the highest standard. The rooms felt like a blast of luxury, helped by the Moulton Brown products & high quality bed linen (oh & I loved the personal touch of the rubber duck!). The staff were very pleasant and the service was of a very good standard. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the courtesy and service extended by your staff was exceptional. Check in was a breeze, the room was fantastic and attention to service and detail around the entire hotel was permanently on display. Pre-dinner drinks in the bar were delightful and made all the more pleasant with the exemplary service and treatment we received from all staff, especially Lisa Taylor, Ali and Katie on reception and James in the restaurant. They exuded professionalism and made us feel their only goal was to ensure we received excellent service and have an enjoyable stay which continued from all of the staff we encountered. Our meal in the restaurant was exceptional, wine was superb, staff courteous, engaged and knowledgable, topped off by a member of reception retrieving her own make-up wipes for me to use as I had forgotten my own. Breakfast the next day was a delight and again Lisa demonstrated the kind of attention to detail that is so rarely seen, greeting us by name, showing us to our table and making menu recommendations from a clear knowledge of your offerings. We had such an enjoyable and positive experience that we shall most definitely return.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Wyc0mbeWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are all pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was also delighted to hear that so many individual members of the team stood out to you and your praise will go a long way to ensure they continue with their hard work in ensuring we exceed the expectations of all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We arranged a 50th birthday celebration for 5 couples, including a meal and overnight stay. The hotel staff were helpful and efficient throughout. The restaurant put together a really nice menu for us and the food was great, with some quite novel ingredients and dishes. The bar was modern and well decorated, and there was plenty of room for the 10 of us to sit together with drinks before dinner. The library was a great place to sit and relax by the fire after dinner. Breakfast in the conservatory was also excellent. Try the kippers!

Room Tip: Its an older property so I think the rooms vary a fair bit. Some would have much better views than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at this delightful hotel. We had been obliged to delay our sojourn twice due to ill health and they could not have been more helpful. The hotel is all we imagined - full of charm and character combined with excellent service. Our room, 14, had the four poster bed which whilst not wide was very comfortable with soft mattress toppers and downy duvet. Bathroom was huge and the walk in shower unusual - you have to walk through a low ceilinged bit to get to the shower itself. Double basin very handy.

We were lucky with the weather the first two days and the Cotswolds showed itself off in all its pretty glory so we had plenty of opportunity for golf, wandering round independent shops and a country walk.

The cooked to order breakfast was excellent which made up for the somewhat limited choices of buffet items. We ate one dinner in the Mulberry restaurant. The service and ambience was perfect. The food was, I am sure, worthy of the many accolades it has received. We actually prefer a less sophisticated menu which doubtless says more about us than the offering here. But no matter because since the Manor House is in the High Street, there are several other restaurants which offer us the somewhat plainer fare we prefer. We enjoyed a cream tea one day and several drinks at the bar - again all perfectly and efficiently served.

All in all a most enjoyable few days. (NB tall people need to be on their guard - lots of low ceilings!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiefSkylarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,195 reviews
4.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,311 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,085 reviews
8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: $154 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing